We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Kennedy Nova. It's convenient for just about everything including a host of great bars and restaurants, numerous shops,all the excursions from Sliema promenade that you could wish for and also bus stops from which you can travel all over this fantastic island for the princely sum of six euros fifty for the week.Unbelievable value! The rooms are cleaned very well by a cheerful hardworking staff. The breakfast has a pleasing variety of cold meats and cheeses, cereals,cakes,pastries and the usual cooked foods. Definitely something for everyone. The room safe has a charge of 35 euros for the week but 28 of those are refunded so only a nominal cost. The air-con is always a bit noisy but as the mercury hit 38 degrees during the day and 29 at night, it was very necessary. On the top roof is a lovely pool area with a bar and food served until 10.30pm. The seating area at the far end boasts a stunning view of Sliema. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We always choose a back room because there is no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHILIP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Philip,

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your second stay with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance when planning your next visit.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    172
    162
    128
    107
See reviews for
74
290
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this Hotel during the month of June for a quick break. Upon arriving at the Hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff who were helpful and offered advice throughout our stay since it was our first time in Malta. The rooms are quite spacious and extremely clean. We found the location of the Hotel as the main plus point and buses and taxis made it extremely easy to get around the Island. We enjoyed quite a few meals on the roof top terrace ( one of the hotel's Restaurants called THE VIEW)- of the Hotel and the views were outstanding. I would definitely suggest sampling their cocktails as they are very good and value for money.

Will definitely be back to Malta and will surely come back to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are absolutely fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ismael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Ismael,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance when planning your next visit.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Let me start by saying I was not booked to stay here, I was ment to be at the Waterfront Hotel but due to a mix up with bookings it was full and was transfered here for Seven nights, I lasted one.

From the outside the hotel looks okay, and as i didn't know what to expect I was pleasently surprised by the reception area, this is where the good times stop.

I note that managment respond to most post on Tripadvisor so i'm going to lay down a challenge for them, as i am still in Malta, if they can take me back to room 219 and hand on heart say this is a 4 star room, i will book for next year. It was a disgrace, the only thing going for it it was clean (until the air filter fell out the air con) The room was ridiculously small, there was one drawer so god knows where your clothes were to go, no plugs unless you unplugged the tv,( the tv didn't work originally so they replaced it with a poratable from about 1970) the air con didn't work either but once they stuck a screwdriver in it that was fine, also there was bare electrical wires from the sensor that was smashed on the balacony door.

Before i lost the will to live, i went for dinner that night and it was bad, real bad, buffet style left heating in big trays all dried out with very little choice as well, brekfast wasn't much better.

The only thing going for it is, that it has great views over the harbour from the rooftop pool, and if you look really really closely you can see the hotel I'm staying in now, which I'm glad to say does match it's four star rating. Review to follow

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We have tried to contact you a number of times but to no avail. We would have loved to take your challenge and make things right, however, and to the contrary of what you are claiming here, you were not available.

Please understand that your booking was effected by a nearby hotel who, according to your claims, could not honour your initial booking. In an effort not to leave you stranded, they have placed a booking on your behalf at Hotel Kennedy Nova. As you may appreciate, the hotel has different room types, some of which with gorgeous harbour views overlooking Sliema Creek. Unfortunately, you were booked into an economy room, which apparently was not what you were expecting since you probably booked a superior room at the neighbouring hotel.

Allow me to invite you once again to contact me directly to discuss this matter and seek a way to make this right.

With kind regards,

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

Scotland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the Kennedy is ideally situated the ferry to Valletta is a five minute walk and the local bus stop is a two minute walk away where you can access other parts of the island with ease and at 1.50 Euro for a day ticket is excellent value..When my family and I arrived at the hotel the staff made us very welcome and the atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed, we had a studio apartment which was very comfortable and housekeeping serviced the apartment every day from top to bottom.
I will certainly stay at the Kennedy Nova again when we are in Valletta and all I can say to finish is a big thank you to the hotel staff because they certainly help to make our stay a happy one

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcome you in the future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Perfect central location opposite the harbour, close to the main bus routes into both Valetta and Mdina/Rabat plus all cruises. The staff were very helpful from the word go, from holding our luggage until our room was ready to when we left. The one downside I felt that the evening meal (we were on half board) could have had a few local dishes, I almost felt jealous of the menu available at the bar on the roof. My husband and I chose not to have a seaview but our room, while didn;t have a view, you could hear the noise from the roof top bar on the 7th floor (we were on the fourth floor). The room was adequate, although it would have been nice to have a small fridge in there to store some cold drinks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Tracy,

Many thanks for your feedback with regards to your recent stay. Should you return to Malta kindly email us prior to your booking on sales@kennedynova.com.

Thanks

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The KN is a long way from being a 4 star hotel but reasonable value for money (based on £50 per night double) and we liked the location Lets itself down with simple things like extra charges for tea and coffee facility in room and use of in room safe. The food is average and adequate but no teaspoons just plastic stirrers in restaurant, one cruet set for every 4 tables and unbelievably the serving staff sat down to eat during dinner service while we were waiting for our plates to be cleared between courses. Hotel very noisy till early hours of the morning so poor choice if you like to get to sleep before 2am.

Room Tip: Either Sea View or lower floors or Very back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We have forwarded your remarks to the Manager for investigation. Please drop us an emails at hello@kennedynova.com so that we can update you with the outcome.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Kennedy Nova with my sister in law and brother in law. We had a two bedroom apartment which was fully equipped and very comfortable. We stayed on B & B basis and the breakfast was fine. It was an ideal location from where to get local buses and ferries to see other parts of the island, which we did at very reasonable costs. The hotel was great and the staff helpful. The view from the rooftop bar was stunning. Looking to rebook for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancsCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcome you again at our Hotel next year.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing