We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointing”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Garstang
1 review
“Most disappointing”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

After seeing their website, we were expecting something a lot better than we found.
Some of the rooms we saw were dark, small and looked out onto brick walls. Our room looked out onto the street at the rear (in all fairness we didn't book a sea view room as reviews said they were noisy from traffic). We were woken regularly in the early morning by the sound of hotel empties being moved around, new bottled gas being delivered to various homes and street repair works! Our view was the rooftop cisterns of the opposite row of houses. The room was not ready on our arrival (an experience shared by others) and when we did eventually enter the room my partner was most distressed as it bore no resemblance whatsoever to the web and brochure pictures shown of a 'normal' room. The room had not been cleaned properly and had an accumulation of dust, the bathroom was extremely dated, the grouting was in parts mouldy, the bath was yellow with age & toilet outlet had disgusting brown staining. However the ceiling fan worked well & we did have patio doors to open.
The breakfasts were fine both cooked and continental, the dinning room staff were all friendly & efficient, the coffee excellent! No faults there.
The evening menu however was something else. Bland, repetitive, self-service, lamb chops were as tough as old boots - an awful long time since that lamb bounced round a field!! So don't bother with half board but eat out at one of the many local restaurants.
Main lift was out of order for over a week (this was the only lift that serviced all 7 floors), the secondary lift (which only went to floor 4 anyway) broke down 2 days before we left which left some of the less able guests unable to access the rooftop bar/restaurant/pool area which was a dreadful shame as the view from the 7th floor bar was magnificent & the best feature of this hotel.
The daytime receptionists were very good and professional (they had to deal with a lot of complaints!)
Certainly not a 4 star hotel. We still love Malta though.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KismetGarstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Thanks for your reviews. We take all comments seriously as they assist us with maintaining and also improving our standards of accommodation. The Hotel enjoys various types of rooms which are available for guests, few of which are situated on the rear part of the Hotel. Some guests enjoy those rooms due to the natural daylight which they enjoy, needless to say anyone wishing to change rooms may do so by contacting our Front Office.

Our Seaview rooms can be noisy during the night period if the door/windows are left open however if closed then they are rather peaceful. The images that we have made available on our main website show the different types of rooms that we have.

We thank you for your comments regarding our Breakfast, our Restaurant Staff and our Front Office. We take pride in ensuring that our guests are satisfied and feel welcome when here. We regret to here that the dinner did not meet your requirements although we have a lot of our guests and also Club Members who opt for our meals as they find them value for money and also do like the restaurant cuisine and certainly do not describe the food in the way that it has been described above.

We did have one of our lifts out of order however the rear lift was available for guests. We also have a service lift which does go up to the 7th floor for those who wished to go up to the terrace 'The View'.

Again we thank you for your constructive comments and we trust that in the near future we may welcome you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    171
    160
    122
    102
See reviews for
71
283
75
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

As someone who travels quite extensively I am used to seeing various types of accommodation so am loathe to criticise unless really necessary. This is one of those occasions.
The Kennedy Nova was sold to us as a four star hotel and some reviews seemed to disagree with that but we wanted to stay in Sliema so chose it above others in the area.
We arrived there at about 1130 AM and as we had to wait until our room was ready we went for a walk. While we were out we were approached by several people saying they were promoting the Kennedy Nova and as we learned later the hotel is part of holiday club so they are always on the lookout for people to buy into this scheme. Late on in the week we eventually decided to kill a few hours by going along to one of their presentations, it is a one to one show, and at the end we discovered the fee is TEN THOUSAND POUNDS to cover Twenty Five Years. Unlike Timeshare you get one free week a year, from a choice of 25 countries, then for a fee of between £99 and £199 a week you can holiday in many resorts around the world. The contract is for 25 years with an up front cost of £10k and £219 a year as a sort of upkeep fee. We gave that one a miss.
We got our keys to room 321 at 1400. This room was at the back of the hotel and looked onto some flats where local people lived. Not the best view.
I had to pay 35 Euros deposit for a safe key, which was refundable at the end of our stay. There was also a one Euro per day charge for the safe. We brought our own kettle but to make a drink the television had to be unplugged as there were no spare sockets. The other one had a television decoder in it.
We had to put the heating on as it was a bit chilly and that worked fine.
There was a working fridge in the room, which was handy for the water we bought from a shop along the street.
The bathroom was totally enclosed with no ventilation. The toilet needing changing as it was stained on the outside from leaks and the hairdryer was of the type that turned on as soon as lifted from the cradle and was of very little use, or so my wife told me. The beds had seen better days as had the covers, which showed signs of being repaired.
The booklet in the room still had the prices in Maltese Lira even though it was several years since they went into the Euro.
We asked about a sea view room but none were available and if there was one it would cost 15 Euros a day extra. Some of these sea view rooms are for the Holiday Club.
We went to look at the Roof terrace and it wasn’t much bigger than a bedroom as the swimming pool area is closed for the winter, until May. There were only 8 sun beds so chances of getting one are slim.
Up to about midnight the locals at the back can be quite active with music and very loud talking. Perhaps they are a bit hard of hearing.
Overall the hotel is in need of a total refurbishment.
Breakfast is from 0630 to 0930 and our first experience wasn’t the best. The fruit juice was horrible, mostly chemical I think. There is the usual Cereals, always Streaky Bacon as in keeping with mainland Europe they don’t usually have Back Bacon, Scrambled Eggs which have no taste, Baked Beans and Sausages. They sometime had fried or poached Eggs. The coffee was quite good. There were assorted pastries on offer but after two weeks the same thing becomes boring.
Dinner was from 1800 to 2130 and was usually a Meat course, Fish course and a Vegetarian course. Starters were quite good and desserts were the usual range of Gateaux and some Fresh Fruit.
We had a really wonderful time in Malta and spent almost every day going somewhere different. We wanted to see as man church interiors as possible but discovered that most of them are closed all day so we only saw the main tourist ones.
It would take several more weeks to see what else this island has to offer, as well as Gozo of course.
The bus system is quite extensive, and frequent, and fares range from 47 Cents to 1.16 Euros per trip. This will probably change from January 2011 when the bus system, buses are presently owned by drivers and associates, will be taken over by a large corporation from overseas, which is as yet unknown. There is a lot of bad feeling on the island about this proposed change.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
We thank you for taking the time in detailing your comments to us. First of all we would like to advise that the star rating in Malta is established by local authorities, although we do realize that from country to country the service and accommodation does vary, the Hotel does conform with that of a 4 star. Check in time at the Hotel for Hotel Rooms is at 2pm. If the room is available beforehand we do allow our guests to check in prior to the arrival time. Although there are agents who do promote the Hotel, the Club that does these promotions is independant however offers packages and accommodation within the Apartments of the Hotel.

As stated there is a refundanble deposit for the safe key. With regards to the issue of the plug, this could have easily been organized by Front Office as we do have triple plugs available for use by our guests which would have avoided this inconvenience.

Regarding the comments pertaining to the bathrooms we thank you for brining this matter to our attention as we will personally inspect them to ensure that our standards are maintained, on the other hand we do have a more efficient blow drier available for free at Reception which is available for our guests to use, hence why we also encourge our guests to let us know of anything they require so that we can assist them when onsite.

The Seaview rooms are highly requested and normally charged at a higher rather than €15 per night. They overlook Manoel Island, Valletta and the Harbour and are available for all guests and not just for Holiday Club guests.

The roof top terrace 'The View' is the highlight of the area and the Hotel. The majority of our guests tend to spend plenty of time enjoying the views and sampling our food from the menu available from morning through to late night.

Your comments regarding our Breakfast and Dinner were quite surprising as guests are very pleased with what is on offer and in fact we have a lot of locals who return for meals at our Hotel. We also always try and satisfy our guest's requests therefore anything that you ask for we will try and provide however 'if you don't ask you don't get' as it is impossible for us to know unless we are advised.

There are indeed more than 8 sunbeds available however they are put away during the night and brought out after the cleaning has taken place of the whole area.

On the whole we feel as though we could have assisted further with your requirements had we been given the possibility. We appreciate of your comments and will definately look into it. We trust that we may welcome back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We decided to try this hotel as a change from the one on the other side of Sliema that we used on previous visits. On balance, we wouldn't repeat the experience. The good points were the convenient location, superb view from our room looking out over Sliema Creek and Manoel Island, and the friendliness of SOME staff. The downside:

The tiny room, barely big enough for two single beds pushed together, a small dressing table and wardrobe. Only one chair and no table. The bathroom, or rather, shower room, was shabby. On the balcony, the panelling was cracked and the edging strip was coming away from the concrete.

Guests were supposed to fit in with the hotel routine. As others have said, there was only one tiny lift - breakfast is not the best time for staff to comandeer it for the linen trolley, or to mop the lobby floor. Also, it isn't helpful to come back to your room from breakfast and find you can't get in for 10 - 15 minutes because the maid is cleaning it. One night, the rooftop bar and pool area was closed because it was being used for (I think) a first communion. No problem with that as such but guests have paid to have the use of it. By closing it to them and hiring it out to someone else, the hotel is effectively double-booking it.

Breakfast was poor. Can't comment on the cooked food but there was rarely fresh fruit (just tinned fruit salad) and the fruit juice was diluted. Some of the bowls were chipped. Also, there's no need to demand a guest's room number when the key, with numbered tag attached, is lying in full view on the table. One of the staff understood that, one didn't.

The timeshare touts. OK, as the management have said in response to someone else's comment, this isn't illegal. However, one individual in particular was an annoying nuisance. It was bad enough to be accosted by him outside the hotel, without finding that he was actually working in partnership with it and bringing his gullible victims inside to do his business in the lobby. This isn't the standard of behaviour I expect from an hotel that claims to be 4*.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caecilius57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah (formerly Fairbanks, AK)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Kennedy Nova for five nights. The hotel is located on the Strand in Gzira, just outside of Sliema, in a touristy but nice area. We stayed in a sixth-floor non-view room which (by American standards) was very small, but adequate (I get the impression that most indoor spaces in Malta are small). The room had a window to a small courtyard; we had to close the window on weekend evenings or deal with loud and not exceptionally good live jazz music coming from somewhere nearby. The room had an air conditioner which helped the situation, although not as much as we had hoped.

The room had two twin beds which were pushed together; this wouldn't have been our first choice for bedding but it was no big deal. The beds were comfortable.

Given the size of the main room, the bathroom was surprisingly spacious. Nothing fancy, but nice.

The English-style buffet breakfast was adequate. We enjoyed the convenience of breakfast at the hotel, but I suspect you could get a cheaper meal from nearby vendors. One thing that never ceased to amaze us on our trip was how inexpensive food in Malta can be.

The hotel offered free WiFi internet, which worked well for us. I'm not much of a hotel swimming pool person, but the hotel does have a small pool and some other facilities available for guests.

Everything was clean and in order, and the staff were very courteous and helpful. We appreciated that ours was a non-smoking room. One thing that took some getting used to was that the electricity in the room could only be turned on by inserting the key into a special panel next to the light switches. This wasn't a big deal, but it was a bit unusual. People like me, who are used to keeping keys in their pockets at all times, would have to take some extra care not to lock themselves out.

The hotel is close to a couple of bus stops; it's very easy (and cheap) to take the bus to Valletta, from which point you can take buses to anywhere on the island.

If this hotel were in the US, I would probably view it differently, but it is in Malta, a popular tourist destination where space is at a premium. Given that context, I think it's quite a good deal. If I ever visit Malta again, I'll consider staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanjaures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deepest essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

If i had listened to the doom and gloom brigade i would never have booked this hotel,i am soooo glad i did NOT listen ,the maids do a brilliant job,also the waiting staff ,and the reception staff go the extra mile for you,and if you meet edward one funny guy,give him our best regards in short not english 4 star but not to far short if i have to criticize anything it would be the entertainment or lack of it but then to be fair they don`nt advertise any, but what there was nearly lost me the will to live one guy playing supermarket music on a hammond organ but overall highly rated

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepestEssexCompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Most rooms are situated around a courtyard (shared with the rather run-down 115 Strand next door) which means that every (and I mean every) sound bounces around, making it a very noisy we were up till 2am next night we had another room still in bad condition the bed very uncomfortable the bed head hook on 2 nails not safe hotel unless windows are kept closed. Worse still is that smells from bathrooms The bath panel was broken and the toilet surround was rust occasionally pollutted the courtyard. Yeuch!! The room was dark,
This was built in the 60s and never been refurbished even the fridge don’t keep anything cool
Nothing could be done they wanted us to pay for an upgrade its all about making money rather then providing a good service. had to pay for a kettle 10.50 the creamer was off the tea bags old. we got woken up at 6am with building works which no one told us about the pool etc was out of use nothing on web site or no one said a checkin
Breakfast was so bad not even a dog would eat it, the only thing worth having was coffee

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_London1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This lovely hotel restored our faith in Maltese hotels and hospitality. We upgraded to a sea view room and were bowled over by the amazing view. The service was completely brilliant in every aspect and the staff couldn't have tried harder to help us - from the chambermaid and waiting staff to the utterly fantastic reception staff. The restaurant food had a good variety of both hot and cold dishes to cater for all tastes.
Our room was basic, but very clean and was cleaned daily with pillowcases and towels changed daily.
The noise from the road was evident but what else can you expect from a hotel situated on a busy water-front road?? The view from the front of the hotel more than made up for the night-time noise.
Our stay was lovely and I would highly recommend this hotel and a good place to base yourself for a holiday in Malta

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saj257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,039 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing