We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring bakery products - Inconsistent Pizza”

Smak av Sundbytunet
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Jessheim
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Oslo
Level Contributor
309 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Boring bakery products - Inconsistent Pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Been a champion of the Sundbytunet concept since its inception and have only been disappointed time and time again. They just cannot get the concept to work. Bakery changed management and only offers cookie cutter deserts that are less than good. Bread selection and sandwich selection stinks. Salads were good even though they did not have any dressing. New pizza concept there which at times is good (for Norway) and then is less than good. Smaller portion, fewer toppings etc... take out was half the size of dine in. Something just not on the spot right here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Baksthuset pizzeria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We went in to Jessheim for some sloppy hangover pizza. Didn't expect too much as it was completely empty but got a pleasant surprise when the pizzas arrived. Absolutely gorgeous! Thin crust and perfectly seasoned.

No problems with switching out ingredients and the waitress was very service minded. Coffee afterwards was also very good.

Sat outside in the sun. Clean and crisp in all corners and also noted the craft beers although that'll be saved for another visit.

Norway is expensive so the prices might seem high for tourists, ca 150 Nok for a pizza, but it's medium priced compared to other not so good places nearby.


Helpful?
1 Thank Sara Angelica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Baksthuset very nice pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the pizza place for a dinner with my wife. they are now serving italian style pizzas and their home made beers. We were very happy with both. a nice place in Jessheim.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snublemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
1 review
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having had been to the restaurant before and was very happy with it, I was looking forward to the experience again. We booked a table well in advance, 5 days in advance, so should have been expected. But when it came to ordering our food they had only 1 choice on the menu!!!!! When I didnt want this choice I was offered a salad.. hello.. this from a supposedly gourmet restaurant!! So we left. I was very disappointed. I even wrote an email expressing this but it was not even acknowledged. Not very professional I thought :( Will be a long time again before I risk my precious free time in going here. Beer is nice though!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiDi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
309 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Restaurant is "pretty good" , bakery "HORRIBLE"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Have dined more than 10 times at the restaurant and it is getting slowly but surely better. Kinks such as slow service etc... are being worked out. Interior is attractive, food quality is "pretty good" - perhaps the best in Jessheim.

The bakery has changed management and the quality and specialness has suffered tremendously. Pre-packed sandwiches, salads, the end of the stone oven pizzas to frozen half cooked dough and too much cheese... pastries can be found anywhere. Lost its charm BIG TIME! Salad - no dressing available if they had they said it was sold out... however they offer oil and vinegar for sale... why not make your own?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smak av Sundbytunet also viewed

Jessheim, Ullensaker Municipality
Jessheim, Ullensaker Municipality
 
Jessheim, Ullensaker Municipality
Jessheim, Ullensaker Municipality
 

Been to Smak av Sundbytunet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing