We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place I have stayed when I have traveled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Bergen Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kokstad
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Place I have stayed when I have traveled”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

People that work for the hotel are very nice but the hotel is like a college dorm converted into a hotel.

The food for breakfast left a lot to be desired, but i guess that i because I am from the United States and I expect alot more.

I stayed 20 days prior to my trip March 5 2012 at the clarion its first class all the way, from rooms to everything.

I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    87
    105
    44
    18
See reviews for
42
58
24
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Nothing special as hotels go, rooms looking a bit tired.
If you get a room facing the car park then the lighting there might keep you awake as the curtains are very thin.
Breakfast fairly good.

Prefer the Clarion by the airport

Room Tip: Ask to be not overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkreality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Again, stayed on business for two nights.

Hotel is generally great. The wifi is free and fast. The gym is the best I've seen in a hotel, sauna and steam room look new and are excellent. The whole fitness area is nice, clean and modern.

The restaurant is great. Food is to a high standard, breakfast buffet excellent. Service within also very good.

Hotel reception and check in good, was a little slow to begin due to another customer and no other staff seemed to want to serve the queue.

The bad points far outweigh the good here.

The "airport" hotel is a 2 mile 120kr trip from the airport and a 350kr ish journey from the city centre. It's neither here nor there.

Local roadworks seem centred on digging up the road outside ( late August 2011 ) which means you will get no sleep ( drilling until after midnight )

The prices are ASTRONOMICAL. A beer in the bar will cost £10 UK ( 110kr? ) and the meals mean you will soon be buying packs of biscuits for tea from a local newsagent instead.

Price of the hotel itself lends you to think this is actually a castle. The most expensive hotel I have EVER stayed in and far far from the best.

Rooms are dated, scruffy looking and shabby around the edges and do not match the rest of the hotel.

No laundry service, just an old washer and dryer to use for free. No soap power provided.

For the price we paid, I thought I'd bought half of the hotel or would at least have a wing named after me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageJoeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I booked this hotel because all the other hotels of my budget were fully booked. The room is B & B standard. The towels are thin and not enough. The standard rooms have no bath. I found some receptionists very impatient and unhelpful when I was desperate for help. The breakfast was similar to the other norwigian hotel's but there is only one lady cleaning the massive area with a lot of tables.
We felt it was still too far away although there is bus 50E within walking distance that can get you to the town centre in half an hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kokstad hotels

Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The service was good; pleasant staff that spoke/understood English very well. The room had comfortable beds but the single beds could not be pushed together. A blow dryer was available in the bathroom but the TV had few and poor channels to watch unless you know Norwegian or are willing to pay for a movie. The room was very small, but my husband and I managed to take turns getting around the beds. The hotel is isolated; can not walk to find a bite to eat and the restaurant menu was not appealing to us; expensive too. We opted for a chicken wrap sandwich and Cokes that were available in the lobby cooler. The Norwegian breakfast buffet was excellent. We were able to eat before it opened officially since most items were set out. The only foods missing were the hot foods.

Most disappointing was that the flybussen airport express bus would not drop us off at the bus stop near the hotel despite hearing the prior day from a Flybussen driver that most drivers will stop on their return route from Bergen to the airport. We had to get off at the airport and take a taxi back to the Hotel for 120 Kron for a 5 min. drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitstmp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for our pre-flight night before returning to the US. The check-in staff were courteous, and our room was clean and basically outfitted. We were assigned a first floor room right near the hotel entrance, and it was a bit noisy from smokers standing around outside the entry area yakking.

Fortunately we were so tired that we were still able to fall asleep, but we could not comfortably open the room window for concerns about the cigarette smoke drifting in.

Our flight left quite early and we were able to forage a bit for coffee before we left the hotel at 5:45 am. There was a free shuttle to the airport which was one of the main reasons for choosing this property.

Amazingly expensive for what is provided, but that is the norm all across Scandinavia, at least by US standards and currency value.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet and away from the entry area !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We spend one night in this hotel. It was nice and clean. We had a room with a rooftop view, but I don't pay extra attention to that because the hotel is quite far from city centre and there was not too much to look at out of the window. The best part of this hotel is breakfast. It was really nice even in comparison with other Scandinavian hotels and its impossible to compare with coffee-and-bread in Italy. In any case it would be a nice transit hotel for tourists who's travel around Scandinavia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for the review that you have given us.

Unfortunately, you did not get a reponse from us before now.
Reasons being that we were not fully aware of the possibilities with had with this website before the recent years.
We can now promise you that we will have a strong focus on giving all our customers a feedback every time they use their valuable time to share their experiences with us.

Regards, GAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokstad
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Edvard Grieg
0.9 mi away
Scandic Flesland Airport
Scandic Flesland Airport
#21 of 46 in Bergen
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Bergen Airport
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bergen Airport
6.5 mi away
Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen Airport

Property: Scandic Bergen Airport
Address: Kokstadflaten 2 | Postboks 109 Kokstad, Kokstad 5257, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Kokstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kokstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Bergen Airport Hotel Bergen
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing