We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the airport, so good choice if you need to spend the night before a flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Bergen Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kokstad
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At the airport, so good choice if you need to spend the night before a flight”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is close to the airport, in a quite industrialized area. If you plan to do anything except staying in the hotel, then I would recommend a hotel closer to the city. The rooms are small but ok, bed was on the soft side for my taste. Breakfast was very good, and service as well. Overall an ok hotel if you just plan to spend a night before a flight, or need to do business in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid rooms towards the airport road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review Scandic Bergen Airport.

We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with both breakfast as well as service provided.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen Airport also in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    87
    105
    44
    18
See reviews for
42
58
24
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The good things first:
The hotel is conveniently near the airport, and yet surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was lovely with perfect fried eggs, crispy bacon, tasty sausages and real cream for the coffee. Someone has put a lot of care into that breakfast!

The people who worked at the hotel were friendly and efficient. The hotel room was clean. There was a good choice of tempting, healthy snacks in the conference facilities, like fruits, vegetables, nuts.

The not so good:
The bathroom was truly annoying. One of the doors for the shower was missing, one of the towel hooks loose - of course the first one I chose - and when showering, most of the floor was flooded. The hotel is supposed to have been renovated as late as 2006, if so, the bathrooms must only have gotten a very light facelift. My room had twin beds with thin mattress pads. I found the bed too firm and did not sleep well.

The smell of cigarette smoke from outside found its way inside, surprisingly intense at times. Several people in my group commented on this. Probably people smoking by the air intake, not the hotel's fault really, but they might want to do something to prevent it.

My group used the conference facilities in the basement. It is time for an upgrade there as well, particularly the floors looked worn. The ladies' room in the basement was also rather dated. Still mostly in working order, but with doors that needed a hard push to open and close, toilet seats askew etc.

With such a wonderful bunch of people working there, I think this hotel could be really nice if Scandic would put some money into upgrading it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for valueable feedback. Very happy to hear that you were happy about the service our team provided. We do our outmost to make guest feel like home, and we are happy that we succeed.

When it comes to the bathroom, it is of course unacceptable that one shower door is missing and hooke are loose. I have spoken to the housekeeping department and the door is ordered from the manufacturer, but has not arrived yet. The hooks will be fixed asap.

The fascilities in the basement like the toilets ect will be refurbished in not long. It is on the agenda. A new smoking area is also on the agenda, but we need to find a suited place that is under the roof, but still away from non smoking guests.

Welcome back!

Best regards

Geir A. Olsen
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Weird rooms. Beds were OK, but only the top matrass was being made. Bathroom had handicap remedies. Sloppy refurbishment. Will not be returning any time soon. Breakfast was actually the only positive thing from my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guest,

Sorry to hear that your stay was below average. From your description, it seems like you have stayed in one of our oldest rooms. They are, unfortunately, not as modern as our newly refurbished ones. About the "handicap remedies", we are very happy to be available for all our guests. Also for guests with special needs. That is way some of our first floor rooms are made available for guest with wheelchairs. If the hotel is fully booked, we use all our rooms, incl these rooms.

Hope to see you back some day, so we can try to change your view of the hotel.

Best regards,

Geir A. Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kokstad hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

First, it must be said that the location of the hotel is good in the sense that it's close to the airport. But it's pretty far from the city center. The hotel gives good value with spacious rooms, great breakfast and free wellness center with at steambath and sauna.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaalHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the kind words and the nice review. Very happy to hear that your stay with us was good. As you say, we are an airport hotel and close to the airport. For guests who want to stay in the centre, we have 3 other Scandic hotels down town that are more suitable.

Welcome back another time

Best regards

Geir A. Olsen
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Comfortable stay, friendly service well located, good gym and very good rooms for business visits. They have good conference facilities as well, making it ideal for business that need to fly in the delegates for a conference. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for a generous review. Very happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us.
Welcome back next time!

Best regards

Geir A. Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would not choose this hotel for my trip to Bergen for a vacation. However, if spending 30 minutes at the bus between the city centre and the hotel is OK for a tourist, it is a decent place to stay. But there is not much atmosphere at this hotel, so I would rather pay a little more to get into the city.

I use the hotel for many business trips, and it is also just a short taxi ride from the airport if Quality Bergen Airport hotel is full. The ride cost 100-200 NOK depending on time of day and direction.

The service at the hotel is very good. The food is a little above average (good breakfast!). But I think that the cleanliness of the rooms could be better. And I must also mention that the beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Because of no aircon at Norwegian hotels, I would choose a low floor room during summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovelaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the service our staff provide you with when you stay at Scandic Bergen Airport. We strive everyday to give our guest the feeling of being at home and it is nice to hear that we succeed. Also; thank you for mentioning our breakfast being good and tasty.

When it comes to the cleanliness of the room I will take this further with housekeeping.

Hope to see you back in the future.

Best regards

Geir A.Olsen
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My stay this time was a bit better than last time. Managed to get one of the newer style rooms which are a lot better than the older rooms.
Hotel still quite rough about the edges, disappointing to see so much scratched graffiti in the lifts.
Staff very friendly, good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkreality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. Nice to hear that we could offer you a better experience this time, than the last.
To your information, all lifts will be upgraded in the nearest future.

Welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Geir A. Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokstad
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Edvard Grieg
0.9 mi away
Scandic Flesland Airport
Scandic Flesland Airport
#21 of 46 in Bergen
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Bergen Airport
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bergen Airport
6.5 mi away
Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen Airport

Property: Scandic Bergen Airport
Address: Kokstadflaten 2 | Postboks 109 Kokstad, Kokstad 5257, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Kokstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kokstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Bergen Airport Hotel Bergen
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing