We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so”
Review of Tyssedal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tyssedal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Odda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Although the building is attractive and the interior at the ground level very nice, the rooms are not special at all. Upon our late arrival (after a 640 km drive), no reservation was found. When trying to make the reservation by phone, I was told to send an email instead. They never found the mail. Nevertheless, they arranged for two nights at Hardanger Hotel before returning to reservations here. The room was nothing special: it was very warm on the 3rd floor during night and the comforter was really heavy. Internet was not working on the 3rd floor, and worked bad in the reception/breakfast area. We came down for breakfast at 6 and was served even though were were an hour early (odd timing, as TIZIR have a lot of guests here). Price is high, and service could have been better.

Room Tip: No internet on third floor. Also hot. Some noise from the Tizir smelter on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taarhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had tried 3 other hotels along the way which were full and didn't have a choice for this one. Is comfortable and pretty clean and great view but a few things put it more at 3 star end, eg. Heater not fully operational and water running through it sounded like rain down pipe, shower has only 2 doors instead of 3 so floor will get wet, breakfast only ok.
At 1400 NKr it is way overpriced for value.

Room Tip: Would be beautiful in sunny weather with fjord view room, just ignore the smelter in the foreground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brushie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Arriving a bit late we went straigt for dinner. We both had the local raindeer with plums which was simply fantastic! Tender, juicy and full of flavours. The dessert was also good, a local made pie with berries. The girl working at the reception, restaurant and bar (yes it is a small hotel) was very friendly and knew a lot about the place, the building and the food.

The breakfast the next morning was also very good.

The rooms however wasn't that good. Pretty basic and the view (from some of the rooms at least) are a burning chimney from the local aliminium factory.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikal_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. We actually were the only ones there our first night, so it was empty. They still brought out everything for breakfast, and we actually had to tell them to stop bringing more food. Clean rooms, awesome shower. Little noisy with the surroundings, but nothing some earplugs can't remedy. We stayed here to hike to Trolltunga, and it is the closest hotel to the trail. However, we went to Odda a few times for the grocery store. I might recommend staying in Odda just because there are more eating options plus the grocery stores and shopping, but there is nothing wrong with the Tyssedal Hotel. Friendly and bilingual staff as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel in 2011, and the art in this hotel is grate. So if you are passing thrue and want to see som of norways best national romantic art painter they are her. Nils Bergenslien and so well know norewgian painter has a lot of paiting in this hotel. So a stay at this hotel is just wourte it based on the art.

Big rooms clean rooms i rember i slept very well. A very limited resurant and brekfest. But withe youre hart so full of beutifull art you should be happy after a stay her.

Room Tip: Grate art for people who love national romatic art.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here during early July. Tyssedal is an industrial area, with smoke and noice. But situated in beautiful surroundings, this is probably one of the best options. But the hotel is quite simple, yes it has some nice architecture but as many other Norwegian hotels everything is quite basic.

Breakfast not up to good Norwegian standard. Limited selection. Rooms are basic. Prices are high in Norway, good hotels are hard to find.

Room Tip: 109 is large and away from the factory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here after finding all the rooms in Odda booked. The hotel is full of paintings from a couple of Norwegian artist dating back to the late 1800's on up to the 1920's. The paintings are worth more than the Hotel. The food was fabulous and the rooms are American sized as well as very clean. Not much to the town but we were just passing through. We felt this was one of the better places we have stumbled across in our travels. Everthing in Norway is expensive so when your paying $15 for a tap beer we don't need to discuss price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odda
0.3 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
115 reviews
18.8 mi away
First Hotel Kinsarvik
First Hotel Kinsarvik
#1 of 2 in Kinsarvik
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
246 reviews
4.3 mi away
Trolltunga Hotel
Trolltunga Hotel
#2 of 2 in Odda
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Trolltunga Studios
Trolltunga Studios
#3 of 5 in Odda
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyssedal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyssedal Hotel

Address: Gamle Oddaveg 3 | Tyssedal, Odda 5770, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Odda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Odda
Price Range: £100 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyssedal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyssedal Hotel is located on the shore of Sorfjord, about 6km north of the town of Odda. The hotel is located in charming environment in a valley between the fjord to the west and the mountains leading up to the Hardangervidda mountains. Surrounded with nature"s beauty we are also the closest hotel to the most spectacular scenic cliffs in Norway called Trolltunga at 1,100 meters above sea level, hovering 700meters above Lake Ringedalsvatnet. During Your stay Tyssedal Hotel provides You with Wifi, private parking, free sauna access and breakfast. Tyssedal Hotel welcomes You with great hospitality, delicious meals and with extraordinary Art Work that will make Your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tyssedal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyssedal Hotel Odda, Norway - Hardanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing