We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricy but worth every Kroner.”
Review of Tyssedal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyssedal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Odda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Norway that we have seen in our travel here. Surrounded by mountains and fjords, an incredible spot to rest your head after a long day of hiking Trolltunga.

A little pricey if you have to eat at the hotel restaurant if you don't drive, but the food was incredible. Probably the best cod we have ever eaten. The entire price is still pretty good considering it's location, a little over 1200 NOK (260 Canadian) an evening but totally worth it.
The room was huge and we were lucky enough to get the Fjord facing room, which made for pretty epic mornings looking out the window.

The bus stop is very close to the hotel, to get you up to Trolltunga (in season) or Odda if you are traveling elsewhere. Very friendly and resourceful hotel staff, had no problems printing off directions to hiking and bus schedules for us to leave town.

The free breakfast is plentiful and wonderful, always making the overnight stay completely worth it.

Overall, we both think this hotel was fantastic and we would love to stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a small version of "The Shining" but have her charme still intact! This is the perfect basecamp for hiking to Trolltunga, a spectacular must when in Hardanger! We had a 3 cours dinner included and it was good both evenings! Great and friendly service in the reseption and at dinner! Lovely stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kjetil-Sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First the good: Our first experience with the staff was excellent. There was a man and lady who checked us in. They were awesome. The helped us with special diet issues, gave directions, checked bus schedules, arranged for taxi almost everything. Breakfast was good and they were willing to start 30 minutes early because several people wanted to hike early.

The Average: Rooms were basic, but clean. No toiletries. They did not have power adapters to borrow. Weather was a little warm. Bedding was made for cold nights. With no fan or air conditioning it was difficult to get a good tempature in bed. But I think this is unlikely most of the time.

Now the bad: When I checked out at 5:00 am the excellent day staff were not there. The woman at the desk (Monica, Monique?) insisted my reservation was not prepaid. I showed her the information from my travel agent, which she copied. However, she still insisted I pay again for the room. I had a taxi waiting and little time to catch a bus, so no time to argue about it. After I paid and signed the credit bill, she printed a second copy and ask me to sign again. She said she lost the first. I refused and left. She assured me she would investigate the billing issue and email me if she were incorrect. SHE DID NOT. My travel agent settled the issue with the hotel billing department. They say they will refund my credit card, but still no email from the desk clerk.

Overall: An expensive place where some of the staff is excellent, but not all. Good after your tired from the long hike to Trolltunga.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maikai_hoaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic and friendly Receptionist lady, attentive to detail (dietary requirements) and gave plenty of local advice without us having to ask. Idea hotel spot for passing but or heading towards Trolltunga. Spacious rooms, clean and comfortable - perfect at 3star plus rating! Food tasty. Nice walk and beautiful views of the Fjord(minus the industry area but you can soon look or walk around that) - overall we wanted to rate 3.5+ stars!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Double room: NOK 1245
Perfect location after a long day hiking up Trolltunga but besides that and the good breakfast it is waaay overpriced, but that’s norway for you. Twin beds are comfortable. Bathroom is clean and has shower and toilet. No shampoo /cond or toiletries provided. Lady at reception was lovely. Breakfast was great with fried eggs, cereals and yoghurts as well as the Norweigian style food. Was very hot the day we were there and no aircon so have to leave the windows wide open.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice hotel in an oldfashioned way. Excellent room, 30 square meters - spacious! Newly refurbished bathroom - tiles and floor heating. Great breakfast buffet Norwegian style. Polite and helpful crew. Must-see art paintings on all walls - a great view!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013 for two nights before and after hiking to Trolltunga. There was a big event going on the first night but the staff was pleasant and accommodated us for dinner and wine, even letting us eat on the upstairs porch because the people in the dining room were a little loud (not the hotel's fault - the people were just having a good time with their gathering). We left early the next morning and hiked Trolltunga (an AMAZING experience). Since we miscalculated a bit, we actually got back to the hotel in the middle of the night on the second night and had to ring the bell for the caretaker to let us in. After sleeping just a few hours, it was already time to check out. Luckily, the gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to let us check out late since we were very tired from the day before!

All in all a good, clean place and we would stay here again - especially if hiking Trolltunga.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odda
0.3 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
115 reviews
22.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Trolltunga Hotel
Trolltunga Hotel
#2 of 2 in Odda
122 reviews
4.4 mi away
Odda Camping
Odda Camping
#4 of 5 in Odda
166 reviews
3 mi away
Trolltunga Studios
Trolltunga Studios
#3 of 5 in Odda
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyssedal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyssedal Hotel

Address: Gamle Oddaveg 3 | Tyssedal, Odda 5770, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Odda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Odda
Price Range: £99 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyssedal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyssedal Hotel is located on the shore of Sorfjord, about 6km north of the town of Odda. The hotel is located in charming environment in a valley between the fjord to the west and the mountains leading up to the Hardangervidda mountains. Surrounded with nature"s beauty we are also the closest hotel to the most spectacular scenic cliffs in Norway called Trolltunga at 1,100 meters above sea level, hovering 700meters above Lake Ringedalsvatnet. During Your stay Tyssedal Hotel provides You with Wifi, private parking, free sauna access and breakfast. Tyssedal Hotel welcomes You with great hospitality, delicious meals and with extraordinary Art Work that will make Your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tyssedal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyssedal Hotel Odda, Norway - Hardanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing