We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fjellro Turisthotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fjellro Turisthotell
Ranked #2 of 2 Valldal B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
“Cozy place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for four nights; we are a family of four, with one 8 year old and a 9 month old. It’s a very nice friendly place, not to mention very clean. Rooms were cleaned every day. They were very helpful, and they knew lot about the surrounding as the owners are from the local area. Very good wi-fi connection ! I definitely would recommend it for a family stay.
Thushara

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thushara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great atmosphere with very friendly and helpful owners. We have been there in the preseason. At that time it was very quite. The food was simple but excellent. We had a great view on the fjord. We got help with our trip planning for the next day with some very helpful advice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKaAaST2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Ha kulfoldi vagy ne csodalkozz ha nem ihatsz a kertben nem ott vasarolt alkoholt mert ezzel megszeged a norveg torvenyeket:-)
A szoba megfelelo a norveg ar ertek aranyokhoz kepest, a furdoszoba lehetne kisse nagyobb.
A reggeli kiados , a szemelyzet udvarias es jo helyismerettel rendelkeznek.
Trollsigen es Gerianger fjordok latogatasahoz idealis a hotel lokacioja.
Az internetre nem tudtunk csatlakozni ket kulonbozo geppel probalva sem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

OK, you can see from the picture of the outside that this is a beautiful old building, however the inside decor looks like a 1070's motorway cafe. The rooms which were not even in this building, were very dated but not in a good way, dinner in the restaurant was equivalent to a poor burger joint. (Very poor if you're vegetarian as they refused to serve anything until I insisted!). Having said this I don't know where else you might stay AND it is the MOST amazing area to start a day on the boat trip from Valldal to Geiranger, DO NOT MISS THIS. Arrive very early to get a place on the ferry, haave a traditional 'Svele' pancake, get ready to see the best and most typical of fjords in Norway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank people_trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed one night on our way from Geiranger to Trollstigen. Room was clean and staff was very friendly. Nice and quiet place to sleep. Beautiful place and beautiful buildings. Nothing luxorious but filled our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Briherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

My Partner and I travelled to Valldal to visit family. We stayed at the Fjellro Hotel for 3 nights and we couldn't have asked for a better time. Upon arrival we were given hot waffles with cream and Jam and cups of tea. We were fussed over and ensured our room was warm enough. Breakfast was left outside our room as the requested time and was fresh and warm.

Dinner was home made with large portions and plently of pudding.

We were then asked to join in the locals quiz night which was a good laugh and snacks were also served after the quiz.

All in all a very good value for money break. We would go back again without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevin_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I and my family have been visiting friends in Valldal for many years. It is what it is: glorious, unspoiled, natural beauty. The air is perfectly clean and pure; the landscape is dramatic with the rising mountains and deep fjords. If you are looking for tranquility, and are the seeker and self-explorer type, this is the place for you - there is so much to do. I continue to stay at Fjellro Turisthotell run by Englishman, Mike, and his adorable wife, Eli, a local lady and professor in English. Together they have transformed Fjellro from a small Pensonjat to a vibrant Turisthotell with a wide-ranging menu at all meal times (including breakfast!). There is a peaceful garden at the foot of the mountain for a drink or a family meal. Over the years, the owners have continued to upgrade and modernise. For a knowledgable and authentic Norwegian experience, your worldly hosts will point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valldal
3.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.2 mi away
Valldal Fjordhotell
Valldal Fjordhotell
#1 of 2 in Valldal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjellro Turisthotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjellro Turisthotell

Property: Fjellro Turisthotell
Address: Syltegata, Valldal 6210, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Norddal Municipality > Valldal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Valldal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fjellro Turisthotell 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fjellro is one of the protected original buildings in the old street "Syltegata", which gives the street its charm and character. The hotel has been run by the same family for many years, giving it a homely atmosphere and best possible personal service. Proud Sylte mountain rises directly from the bottom of the garden creating a special atmosphere both of dramatics and calm. Our garden is the ideal place for you who want to relax a while from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Here you can let your children play freely, well protected from the busy main road. If you need a break and somewhere to relax while contemplating the impressions of the day - Fjellro is the place, centrally situated in the heart of The Golden Route beside the national tourist highway. Our hotel is a great starting point for those who want to explore the mountains and fjords of one of the most beautiful areas in Western Norway. From here you can visit unique mountain farms, try white water rafting, fish in the fjord and rivers, take a guided tour along the famous Geiranger fjord, follow mountain trails for a few hours or many days, sleeping over in special guest cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fjellro Turisthotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fjellro Turisthotell Norway/Valldal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing