We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fjellro Turisthotell
Ranked #2 of 2 Valldal B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 May 2010

An absolutely charming country hotel which we now visited for the second time. The rooms were comfortable colourful and clean. The food was excellent. Tip: Try out their local fish dishes! We found the staff friendly and helpful, giving us useful tips for trips and hikes in the area. They also gave us an insight into local history and customs. The hotel is an ideal starting point for a wide range of hikes and trips in an area of breathtaking scenery. We truly enjoyed our stay and recommend both the hotel and the area as a "must" if you want to experience more of the "real" Norway

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed at Fjellro for 2 nights and had planned to stay longer but were very glad that the owners let us leave early without any kind of charge. Hotels in Norway are not cheap but Fjellro Turisthotell is bad value given that the rooms are extremely basic (not much up from a hostel) and Valldal, the town/village where the hotel is located, completely lacks charm. (Valldal has a huge, ugly campsite and two supermarkets and that is about it, apart from the jetty for the cruise ship that runs down the fjords to Geiranger.) Breakfast is disgusting and our half-board meals seemed to be entirely constructed from pre-made supermarket food. Almost no cooking seemed to be involved. For anyone travelling to the fjords in this part of Norway, our advice would be to spend a night in Alesund and then take a one-night trip to the fjords staying somewhere decent. Otherwise it would probably be better to visit the less touristified south coast fjords.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjellroManager, Owner at Fjellro Turisthotell, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

We are sorry to hear you were so dissatisfied with your stay. As for where the hotel is situated: in world heritage area and directly on the The national Tourist road Valldal-Trollstigen, makes it hard for us to understand that the village Valldal should be of absolute no charm or interest. There are so many activities to engage in, eg. mountainclimbing, rafting, glacier and mountain treks, grotto exploring, absailing, fishing; deep sea and lake/river, boat and bicycle trips and many other activities. I will admit, this is not a place for "shoppers" and for people seeking nightlife and entertainment, nature and the experience of exploring it, is what we try to sell. As for the rooms, in 2010 all guestrooms were fully renovated, all furniture is new, all rooms with TV, shower/toilet, free internet access, tea/coffee facilities, hairdrier etc. Free roomservice, free parking. The food you refer to is basic Norwegian country style cousine, from mostly local produce.The breakfast is a buffet Norwegian style, and unfortunately, I remember you were irritated by the fact that we did not serve pancakes, but then they are not a traditional thing for breakfast in Norway. However, with over 30 things to choose from I find it hard to believe there was not one thing that you liked. You recommended other guests to stay in a town rather than with us. For those of you who are not interested in traditional Norway, maybe this is correct. We are a family run business and take pride in what we offer our guests. We have seen some of your other guest reviews on other hotels, much grander than ours, and wish you luck in your search for your world's most perfect hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This is not a hotel, it is a very small and simple guest house.
It was clean, staff was ok. Breakfast was really below hotel standards. The small willage of Valldal has nothing to offer, so this is a site for sleep over only. I would certainly recommend to stay in one of the larger cities around Valldal, or in the Geiranger area (world heritage area about 30 km from Valldal)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Coastalrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjellroManager, Manager at Fjellro Turisthotell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

A bit late but I would like to say that since 2008 the hotel has changed completely. Everything has been renewed or improved including the breakfast. We hope that you will try us again and enjoy the new Fjellro! Welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Stayed one night during a motorcycle trip. Most of the rooms are in two separate buildings from the reception/bar/dining area. We got a rather small room, but clean. Nice location, quiet sourrondings. Simple breakfast. Quite expensive dinnermenu with few options. Not much information to get, either from leaflets or from the staff who we hardly saw.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjellroManager, Manager at Fjellro Turisthotell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Its been 8 years since you were here and I think that if you should return you will get a pleasant surprise.Everything has been changed out and upgraded. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kjetil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bodde i lilla huset bredvid och där var bra rum. Hörde när folk pratade ute i korridoren, men inget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margareta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valldal
14.2 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
600 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valldal Fjordhotell
Valldal Fjordhotell
#1 of 2 in Valldal
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
26 reviews
1.6 mi away
Valldal Camping
Valldal Camping
#2 of 5 in Valldal
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjellro Turisthotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjellro Turisthotell

Address: Syltegata, Valldal 6210, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Norddal Municipality > Valldal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Valldal
Price Range: £116 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fjellro Turisthotell 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fjellro is one of the protected original buildings in the old street "Syltegata", which gives the street its charm and character. The hotel has been run by the same family for many years, giving it a homely atmosphere and best possible personal service. Proud Sylte mountain rises directly from the bottom of the garden creating a special atmosphere both of dramatics and calm. Our garden is the ideal place for you who want to relax a while from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Here you can let your children play freely, well protected from the busy main road. If you need a break and somewhere to relax while contemplating the impressions of the day - Fjellro is the place, centrally situated in the heart of The Golden Route beside the national tourist highway. Our hotel is a great starting point for those who want to explore the mountains and fjords of one of the most beautiful areas in Western Norway. From here you can visit unique mountain farms, try white water rafting, fish in the fjord and rivers, take a guided tour along the famous Geiranger fjord, follow mountain trails for a few hours or many days, sleeping over in special guest cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Fjellro Turisthotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fjellro Turisthotell Norway/Valldal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing