We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer holiday in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Les Marecottes
South East Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Summer holiday in the mountains”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I am writing this review, albeit 6 months after the event, as I believe the hotel is deserving of a better rating from British travellers. Okay, not a winter break but a summer one, yet a wonderful experience in the mountains. We were lucky that the weather was really nice in early August but there is so much to do. When we were there there was work to the rail track on the French side, so Chamonix became a long trip. I believe this work is now finished. Lots of mountain walks and chairlifts, etc.

The hotel was great. We stayed half board. Breakfasts and evening meal included, all at a high standard. Even though the currency makes it quite an expensive holiday the owners price up quite keenly to recognise this and overall it is good value. A husband and wife team they run a good hotel and are very helpful. If you arrive by train, as we did, they are pleased to collect you from the station with your cases and drop you off on your return. Travelling around on the train, superbly punctual as always, is a joy. Use the shuttle mini bus to take you back up to the hotel. All in all, a great place to stop. Very few British visitors but lots of Swiss - does that tell you something?

Room Tip: Call the hotel after you have booked and they will probably give you a room choice over the phone. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midfifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fremilex, Propriétaire at Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir, thank you for the nice comment you posted on the website TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay at our hotel in this beautiful area. The works on the railway line in France will be finished in March 2014 and next summer tourists can travel again by train from Les Marécottes and enjoy this beautiful trip to Chamonix. Thank you for having stayed with us last summer and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
24
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Great location in village on the mountain, reached by a somewhat scary road. Opposite is the ski lift, not working in the summer. The hotel is mainly wood, and the rooms spartan, and not quite soundproof.Nice pool and leisure facilities. The hotel is a member of the 'silent ' chain, so somewhat hushed.
Food was very good, if traditional mountain , but hey that is what you come for, with raclette , hams etc. Staff a little reserved, but helpful. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fremilex, Propriétaire at Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Aux Mille Etoiles. A small correction, the cable car did not work exceptionally this summer due to construction at the top of La Creusaz, the ski area in winter. This summer we replaced the old by a new chairlift, the ski lift has been replaced by a new and also the restaurant and terrace have been enlarged and completely renovated. Normally the cable car runs every summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was the worst ever experience in a hotel. The woman at the reception is extremely rude and obnoxious. I don't know why she works in the hospitality business. The rooms are small and need upgrading. The dinner menu is limited. I would never go back.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel at all costs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Les Marecottes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Troisième séjour aux Mille Etoiles et c'est toujours aussi génial.
It is still as wonderful
Es ist immer noch so schön dort oben.

The pool is specially big and warm, and the food lovely.
It is very quiet and extremely clean.
The people are so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hangooroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We were treated extremely rude by one of the staff members when we wanted to use the spa and sauna. We wanted to pay to get in to the spa and were waiting for a while and talking in Dutch before we were helped by the lady behind the desk who spoke French. While she was helping us she kept answering the phone, even though she was in the middle of a transaction with us. We were not so happy with that, and I made a remark in Dutch that the service was a bit slow to my friend. The lady turned out to be Dutch and threw our money back at us, shouting at us to get out, and that she had a very busy day and was too stressed to be dealing with more people! she even treathened to get security! We were shocked, in the first place because she spoke Dutch but only spoke French to us, while she knew we were Dutch and in the second place for such an overreaction! We were only commenting on the fact that she was answering the phone while we were in the middle of paying, which I think is very rude, especially after we were already waiting for a while.

Would recommend that they hire staff that is more capable of handling busy days, customers and a bit of criticism.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank claui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Marecottes
10.0 mi away
The Baths of Saillon
The Baths of Saillon
#1 of 1 in Saillon
254 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
239 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Stand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel de Fully
Hotel de Fully
#1 of 1 in Fully
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vatel
Hotel Vatel
#2 of 9 in Martigny
154 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#1 of 2 in Orsieres
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles

Property: Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles
Address: place de la Telecabine 9 | Valais, Les Marecottes 1923, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Les Marecottes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Les Marecottes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 1100 m. Altitude in the Valais region at Les Marecottes summer and winter resort between Martigny and Chamonix in the Vallee du Trient, the "Hotel Aux Milles Etoiles" charming hotel offers all the comfort and atmosphere of a genuine, traditional chalet. Besides the ski lifts. Excellent food. Managed by the family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aux Mille Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing