We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Swiss Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bahnhof
Ranked #1 of 2 Ausserberg B&B and Inns
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Swiss Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and i stopped here en route to Zurich from Milan. We found the hotel and staff super-accommodating, holding the kitchen open until our (delayed) arrival. We loved the area and wish we could have spent more time here, as there are great opportunities for day hikes and brief excursions. The owners are very pleasant, English-speaking, and very accommodating, and full of travel tips, train schedules, and hiking suggestions. We found both the room and the restaurant very pleasant--they are basic, but we aren't looking for anything beyond that, especially in the mountains.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 181Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,118 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel allows you to get into the mountains a bit and away from the town area. It was in a quiet area and, although it was right next to a train station (hence, the name), the noise of the train arrivals and departures was not at all bothersome. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room rates were about the best you will get in Switzerland. However, there were several inconvenient aspects of this hotel that mitigated the quality of the experience for me. There were no elevators so I had to lug a heavy bag up two flights of stairs. The rooms were pretty simple with old furnishings, including an old television, and NO PHONE. The latter was extremely inconvenient as that was how I keep touch with home while traveling (they call in to the hotel line). There was at least WiFi available which seemed to work OK (if you are a SKYPE user, that might solve the latter problem). There were no restaurants in the area except the hotel facility. Going to town would have been the next best option. We ate at the restaurant for dinner but were bothered by an incessant army of flies that took away from the enjoyment. The morning breakfast was pretty decent with juices, coffee, breads, fruit, cold meats and cheese. In all, this is not a bad little hotel but be prepared for the drawbacks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott and Alexa... D, Owner at Hotel Bahnhof, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Depending on your arrival time, there is often someone available to help bring bags up to the upper floors of the hotel, but you may have to ask if we are in meal service. Often if we can't do it immediately, we will bring the bags (up or down) within 10-15 minutes.

We did consider putting in hotel room phones, but the high cost of the system, and the fact that almost all our guests come with mobile telephones these days, made us reconsider. For those guests who do not have their own phone, we strive to make other arrangements, either to let them use our hotel or private mobile if the call is within Switzerland, or we are happy to receive long distance calls for our guests. We also offer free WiFi in the restaurant, terrace and breakfast room, so those equipped to Skype or Facetime are welcome to use our connection.

We apologize for the inconveniences, and hope you choose to visit us again for an even better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

If you like views of trains coming and going, not to mention the sounds of trains, this place is for you. Although the staff was friendly and knowledgable, the room was Spartan, small and up 64 steps. The breakfast was just OK, but at this price I would have expected more, even in Switzerland.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GkfromWisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott and Alexa... D, Owner at Hotel Bahnhof, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I wonder if you have mistaken our hotel for another one. We are located in the canton of Wallis, in the south of Switzerland. A number of reviewers have posted reviews on our hotel that referred to another Hotel Bahnhof, and I think perhaps you have as well.

Looking out from our hotel there is indeed a small train station, but trains are not always coming and going, the regional train is once each way per hour and we have a low volume of freight going by, but you would only see them if you looked straight down because our hotel rooms begin on the 3rd floor of the hotel. The view straight out of your room is by some considered spectacular as you can see down the Rhone valley and the mountains in the distance as well as the ridge line directly across the valley. Please see some of the photos on our profile which include a couple of the views.

Kind Regards,

Scott Donaldson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahnhof

Property: Hotel Bahnhof
Address: 37 Bahnhofstrass, Ausserberg 3938, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Ausserberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ausserberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing