We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the end of a days trekking this hotel is 100% perfect”
Review of Hotel Splendide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Splendide
Ranked #2 of 10 Champex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At the end of a days trekking this hotel is 100% perfect”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here on MTB. Today was an easy day from la Fouly and such a pleasure to arrive at a beautiful hotel. From the valley below we admired this lovely building but had no idea it was our destination. The welcome is splendid(!) and all the staff so friendly. A beer on the terrace overlooking the valley is a must. Our room spacious and very comfortable - yes - bathrooms are a bit dated, but after refugios sheer luxury! and caped is a charming architype Swiss chocolate box village!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Splendid after hiking the Tour du Mount Blanc. Even though we were dirty and tired we were warmly welcomed. All of the staff have been friendly and helpful dispite our lack of French. We ate dinner at the hotels restaurant and they altered their set menu to accommodate our picky tastes, no questions asked. Our room was cozy with a view of the little villages below and the towering mountains above. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the village center and is quiet because it is not near the main road. It does seem to be the newest hotel in the area with some old and some modern amenities. They also have a beautiful lounge and children's area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDLArkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A hotel with soul is the hotel splendide. Yes, the facade and the rooms could be renovated but the facilities are clean, confortable and above all do not look like any other hotel. The room was very spacious with a large and spotless bed, while the bathroom was of moderate size and adequately equipped. The view from the balcony was beautifull. The diner is served by a well trained personnel, speaking good english and french, in a large dining room well furnished reminding of the past by its elegance. The fixed meny was excellent with a soup, salat, tasty main course and good dessert. A coffee and liquors can be taken later in one of the neigbouring rooms. There is a bus stop a few minutes at walking distance from the hotel near the lake which can take down the valley. An advice is to agree in advance on a time for payment as the owner is the only one to perform this task. This is a perfect stop on a hiking tour or for people apreciating charm above design and nice staff.

Room Tip: Book a room with balcony at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morningsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A real old fashioned family run hotel. Its decor is 1970s but has a really hospitable feeling. Good food and was great stop on our Tour de mont blanc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew-jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburger
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This little hotel enjoys a wonderful position high above the Val d'Entremont. A beautiful terrace, rooms with a view, a nostalgic dining hall -- everything kept like in good old times. Bathrooms would need little upgrading and the beds could be more compfy, but these are minor points compared to the warm hospitality of the family running the hotel, the delicious dinners, and the hotel's unique "ambiente".

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champex
24.1 mi away
La Chemenaz Hotel
La Chemenaz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
195 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
831 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
247 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#7 of 42 in Courmayeur
213 reviews
23.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
#1 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide

Property: Hotel Splendide
Address: 1938 Champex-Lac, Champex, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Champex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Champex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing