We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a splendid place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Splendide

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Champex
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Splendide
Ranked #3 of 10 Champex B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Indeed a splendid place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Was indeed a splendid place to stay! Built in the 1930's, this building would certainly have been the grand dame in her day. The hotel staff were friendly, and we loved the olde worlde charm. The rooms were spacious and had nice chairs for taking in the views.
The set menu for dinner was good value. They happily accommodated our vegetarian request. Traditional French fare. Recommend to eat in the hotel dining room, because the walk into town does not reward you with many dining options.

Room Tip: The corner room we had, had lots of natural light. Very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a beautiful step back in time with an historic building perched on the edge of a cliff with stupendous views. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony to that view. If you didn't, the grand ceilings might not make up for the basic (but comfortable) rooms as the price is based on the view.
We had a very comfortable night here, and enjoyed staying in Champex after yet another tough day on TMB. We had an ensuite, comfortable beds, it was quiet at night and the breakfast was good. Job done.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz_eco_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigny, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed for one night and found the images on the website of the position and the views didn't do it justice - it's possibly the best view from a hotel window I have ever seen.

The hotel is a nice, family run affair - in need of some love (very seventies bathroom tiles etc). But they were very helpful.

The only criticism would be the breakfast which seemed over-priced for what it was, but if you're looking for an old-school guest house with the most amazing views (get a room with a south facing balcony) then get in touch. I imagine it would be great fun in the winter with families too.

Room Tip: South facing room get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel, built in the 1930's and recently redone. Our room was big, comfortable and spacious with a balcony with a fantastic view of the mountains and the valley bellow.

It was a perfect place to take a day off during our tour mount blanc

The front desk was wonderful and helped us with all our needs from laundry, adapters and telephone calls.

Breakfast was generous, varied and very good.

good value for Switzerland.

would love to stay there again

Room Tip: room on upper floors with view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Perfect spot for a hiking refuge! Great service. Very traditional fin de siècle hotel. We were hiking the Haute Route from Chamonix to Zermatt and this was the best property we visited. Views were great with a balcony over looking a beautiful valley far below and snow capped mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here on the tour mont blanc. Really lovely. We did the Demi pension and had a great raclette dinner. Rooms clean, friendly staff. Overall good value for Switzerland. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed for a recoup day in Champex, which is touristy but pretty. Hotel Splendide is indeed a splendid old building, very friendly welcome, good room with mega-view. Didn't eat dinner here, but breakfast was one of the best we had on our three week trip. A welcome respite from dortoirs and campsites! Perfect location to continue the trek as, being at the highest point leaving Champex prior to Le Chable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hend0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champex
24.1 mi away
La Chemenaz Hotel
La Chemenaz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont.Lac
Hotel Mont.Lac
#2 of 10 in Champex
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide

Property: Hotel Splendide
Address: 1938 Champex-Lac, Champex, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Champex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Champex
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing