We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B & B”
Review of Les Marmottes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Champex
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Marmottes
Ranked #6 of 10 Champex B&B and Inns
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb B & B”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My mother and I stayed here during our tour around Mont Blanc. We were greeted warmly by Jean-Pierre and Graziella and shown to our cozy room with comfortable beds and wonderful balcony. Since this was such a wonderful find, I decided to stay on four extra nights after our hiking tour ended. The B & B is situated to allow for many adventurous day trips in the area and is also a great stop-over for Tour de Mont Blanc hikers. The shower and sauna are delightful and the food is marvelous! The hosts were very helpful and friendly throughout my stay. I can't wait to return in the winter and try out the skiing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a beautiful place run by beautiful people. Very attentive, discreet and simply caring, Jean-Pierre and Graziella, welcomed us to their home and looked after us from beginning to the end of our too short stay. Never overbearing, they will point out all the great things to see, tell you about the local stories and recommend fabulous places to eat, look at or just enjoy.
With their long-standing experience in boutique hospitality, the guest is at the center of the hosts attention.
Clean rooms, so cozy and not a sound outside, you'll never sleep better. Breakfast is a feast and taken with your hosts and other patrons.
If you haven't been yet, why haven't you?

Room Tip: Room Edelweiss has a large bedroom and bed and big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJolie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We're just back from an 8-day walking trip to Switzerland, and our stay in Les Marmottes is the most memorable from all the other places we stayed at. After a long day of walking, the welcome we had when we arrived was amazing. We felt that we had arrived at an old friend's house. Jean-Pierre and his partner were the perfect hosts. The chalet itself was immaculate, with the best shower I have ever experienced. Our bedroom had a kettle and coffee machine, which is lacking in many b&bs and hotels in the region. Our breakfast was fit for a king with home made preserves, bread and yoghurt on offer. We felt quite sad on leaving, no doubt we'll return. Thank you for having us xx

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mwnci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selfoss, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were hiking TMB and decided to take a day of in Champex and stay two nights at Les Marmottes and did not regret it - what a guesthouse! The rooms were nice and comfortable with a beautiful view and the hosts Jean-Pierre and Gabriella are simply fantastic people who take care of every detail and make you feel as a very special, personal friend. The breakfast was unbelievable; fresh exotic fruits, homemade yogurt, selections of cheese, homemade bread and selections of jams of course homemade, fresh honey etc. The best breakfast I have ever had. I look very much forward to visit those fantastic people again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innlendur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BnB-Les-Marmottes, Propriétaire at Les Marmottes, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again one of these days

Kind regards

Jean-Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had the luck of staying with Jean-Pierre and Gabriella during a weekend in July 2013. Both of them were truly the best that someone can expect from a host. Helpful, kind, attentive to every single detail to make your stay a true pleasure. And what a pleasure! For a very reasonable price, myself and my partner got a truly lovely, Swiss-style room with amazing mountain views, immaculately clean, decorated with very good taste. One of the highlights was definitely the meals! Lovely breakfast in the house's beautiful porch overlooking the Champex lake, with home-made products, from fresh fruit and warm bread to excellent home-made jams. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. The central room has a balcony where you can enjoy even more those v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlassis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champex
1.6 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#1 of 2 in Orsieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
23.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
#1 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mont.Lac
Hotel Mont.Lac
#2 of 10 in Champex
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpina Champex
Alpina Champex
#1 of 10 in Champex
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#5 of 10 in Champex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Marmottes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Marmottes

Property: Les Marmottes
Address: chemin du Fratsay 6, Champex 1938, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Champex
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Champex
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are sinds 1st of october 2015 closed for hels reason. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing