We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food at nice Champex hotel”
Review of Hotel du Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Glacier
Ranked #4 of 10 Champex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst walking part of the Tour de Mont Blanc. The room was basic but fine and we had a terrace that we could sit out on. Shower had good power and there was free Wi-Fi. However the stand out feature of this hotel was the restaurant. The food was superb - absolutely top notch. It has a choice of different menus to suit different budgets. The Gourmand menu looked so good however that we decided to go for that and we weren't disappointed. If you consider yourself a Foodie and a place with good food is important to you then this is the place to stay or eat in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkJadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is the first season we have used Hotel Glacier in Champex for our trekking clients and we were very impressed. This personally run hotel offers great service, good facilities and fabulous food. Our guided & self guided clients were very satified. We will continue to use the hotel next season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montblanctreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

we went for a long weekend from Geneva, convenient location to gett to despite some hairpin bends, nice compact village with little lake and surrounded by high mountains. Pleasant wee-maaintained and wigned walsk and a firstclass map from the local tourist office (the first time we have seen walking times for going up and different times for descending) Problem with lift up to mountain....breakdown for over an hour)
Hotel nice, clean, good service.

Room Tip: some rooms have windows facing 2 ddirections
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brfluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We, a family of 5, stayed here for one night during our TMB. The hotel is centrally located, close to the lake, center and restaurants.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the service is very good. We had connecting rooms which was a change and a treat.
The place is well known for its excellent restaurant. The reputation is well justified as it is a great place to eat. Service it cautious and professional.
Rooms are a little outdated but the great view, hot water and comfy mattress make up for it.
There is small lounge with some family games; a nice place to spend an evening, the piano is urgent need of tuning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very pleasant one night stay in a spacious room with a wonderful view of the lake. Hotel lives up to its 3 star rating with friendly staff and everything clean and tidy. The attached restaurant which seems to specialise in pizzas is very popular and vibrant in the evenings, good food at fair prices. Breakfast was fine too.
A lovely little town...well worth stopping here for a night and the Hotel du Glacier should fit the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munro-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here for just 1 night whilst on the Tour du Mont Blanc. The hotel has a good situation in the middle of Champex, close to the lake. The rooms are small but benefit from a large balcony. The bathroom in our room was a little odd but adequate - the sink was a curtained off alcove opposite the bed, toilet and shower separate. Evening meal was good, breakfast excellent with bircher muesli.A comfortable stop on a long walk.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony if possible
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This a simple hotel with comfortable rooms and nice view. Breakfast buffet is rich and service very good. We can recommend the hotel restaurant as well. The SPA area is somewhat old and would require renovation. The location is excellent, close to the ski-lift and view on the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123v_i_n_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champex
1.4 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#1 of 2 in Orsieres
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de L'union
Hotel de L'union
#2 of 2 in Orsieres
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont.Lac
Hotel Mont.Lac
#2 of 10 in Champex
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendide
Hotel Splendide
#3 of 10 in Champex
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpina Champex
Alpina Champex
#1 of 10 in Champex
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#5 of 10 in Champex
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Glacier

Address: Route de Champex Lac, Champex 1938, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Champex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Champex
Price Range: £121 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing