We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can’t wait for the next time!”

The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields
Description: Bistro style restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Bistro style restaurant
Reviewed 12 May 2023

Really excellent food. A very interesting menu. Very good experience from beginning to end. A country setting tucked away just outside Kirkbymoorside.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AHGme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen at-Brickfields, Owner at The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2023

Thank you for this positive feedback, we try to keep it interesting but down to earth and as value for money as possible whilst using good quality ingredients. Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2023

I’ve eaten here three times now and, without exception, the food has been truly excellent each time. On the last two occasions, my friend and I were staying at Brickfields and we decided to eat at the Feather and Beak on the first night when we both had the Cheddar soufflé starter, followed by the swordfish loin for me, which was divine, and the sea bass fillet for my friend which she raved about. I rarely eat three courses but, unfortunately, I couldn’t resist the crème brûlée and it was a real winner for the taste buds (less so for the waistline!). Because we had enjoyed the food so much, we ate here the following evening when I had the same again, minus the crème brûlée this time, whilst my friend opted for the soufflé starter followed by the cashew nut curry which she enjoyed, although less so than the sea bass. However, she was quick to point out that there was nothing wrong with the cashew nut curry (too many nuts, she said!!??) and that the sea bass was just her personal preference.

Whilst the restaurant prices are not especially cheap, the standard is really high here and prices are comparable with other similar places that offer quality food. The Feather and Beak doesn’t have many tables and it gets busy so it’s advisable to book. It also has limited opening hours which may be one reason why it gets busy. This place is a definite winner for me!!

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen at-Brickfields, Owner at The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2023

Wow thank you for this detailed review, we are so pleased you enjoyed dining with us and that you managed to get a table :) ). Hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

We ate here for our fourth wedding anniversary on the recommendation of out Airbnb hosts and were not disappointed, it was warm and welcoming on arrival, we had drinks in the bar and then were taken to our table for our meal, everywhere was clean and the service was extremely good. The menu was interesting and the specials board was so appealing. I had roasted halibut with Parma ham and Himself had pork loin in a mustard sauce, both came with dauphinois potatoes and roasted carrots and beets, everything was freshly cooked, nicely presented on hot plates and was incredibly delicious. Well worth a trip.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen at-Brickfields, Owner at The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2023

Thank you so much for this lovely review, all if the team really appreciate feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023

The most amazing place. Restaurant overlooks green fields. Outside sitting area with outdoor ovens in Summer. Small restaurant so book well in advance.
The food is amazing. Menu changes frequently, but Im sure there will always be something to delight. TONIGHT. starters blue cheese and chive souffle for madame and mushroom risotto yours truly. Mains pork fillet with delicious and different veg And my better half , chicken in mushroom cream sauce. Being a glutton. I forced down (!?) A wonderful lemon posset with raspberry coulis home made shortbread. The ambiance, location, front of house and great cooking make this a truly wonderful experience
Do go if in area. Thanks everyone. Ps they do b and b in adjacent lodges. Andrew M leeds

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M3232TEandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen at-Brickfields, Owner at The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Thank you for a lovely review Andrew, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Feather & Beak, hope to see you again sometime. Many Thanks Ian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2023 via mobile

We went on reccommendation- and can not praise this establishment enough.
We had the best Sunday dinner- in all aspects - that we have had for years. Truly amazing. A hidden gem.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank clnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen at-Brickfields, Owner at The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Thank you so much and we are so glad you enjoyed your Sunday experience with us, hope to see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields also viewed

Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
 
Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Feather & Beak @ Brickfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.