We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and much more in North Yorkshire Moors”
Review of The Penny Bank

The Penny Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best coffee and much more in North Yorkshire Moors”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Coffee lovers dream. Wonderful cakes and inspiring food menu which fails to disappoint .
As a family we have been visiting Lowna at Easter for many moons and Penny Cafe has remained our favourite.The welcome and service given by the staff is exceptional.A cosy environment for just a quick coffee or a wonderful meal with free WFI if needs be to study or catch up on your emails.
A place not to be missed if coming to North Yorkshire.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    26
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
326 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A memorable visit”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Both my friend and I had visited this building when it was the Yorkshire Bank - many many moons ago so it was quite a nostalgic visit. We had completed the Farndale daffodil walk and got soaked in the rain so were seeking a nice cuppa. I was amazed that we were served fresh leaf tea rather than tea bags so a big plus in my book. We opted for the cheese scones which were delicious. It was nice to see a lot of the original Bank's furniture was still in situ especially the counter, even though it had been turned around. A lovely place and would recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great liitle cafe with good coffee and excellent service. Parking in KMS is a bit tricky but this cafe is worth the effort.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must go place”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Both my wife and I love going to Peny bank cafe - The menu is varied with a wide variety of fresh local produce an excellent choice. The staff are very welcoming and Alan the chef is extremely creative. Well worth a visit five stars

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirebitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Been here a couple of times for breakfast and it was great. Food is freshly cooked and plenty of it. Cannot fault it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxglovetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Bank also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Penny Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing