We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great combination of charm and tradition with divine cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Head Hotel

Kings Head Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great combination of charm and tradition with divine cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have visited the King's Head regularly since it was extensively refurbished and look forward to returning and very soon.

For us, there is a great combination of charm and tradition. The food is divine and combines quality with generous portions at very reasonable prices.

We receive a warm welcome every time from bubbly proprietors, Maria and Steve, also Karen who does a fantastic job ensuring that everything is gleaming. We also enjoy saying hello to locals who we meet regularly.

The location of the King's Head is great for us, being bang in the centre of the historic market town of Kirkbymoorside. There are some shops and a Post Office in the immediate location. In addition, the bus service is excellent for those who want to take a break from driving the car!

There is a good selection of wines and ales. The deep fried brie starter is a favourite for us, and there are bar snacks and light bites, in addition to an A La Carte menu.

The beer garden is huge, which is great to sit out in on a nice day. We are also looking forward to sitting by the open fire on chilly days.

In addition to the hotel rooms, the King's Head now boasts a self catering cottage.

We will be back and very soon, many thanks!

Rob and Julieann

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    30
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
25
66
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a one-night stopover at this very relaxing and friendly hotel. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Host and staff were friendly and positive. Breakfast - full English - was very tasty. A quick sandwich for lunch was a very generously filled double decker with trimmings in a light and airy conservatory.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Went with family following there recomendation for food and have to say one of the best steaks i have ever have had! Service was amazing and the place was spottless! A little gem!! Everyone more than enjoyed there meals and cant wait until our next visit later in the year! Thank you!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stephvblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
191 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Having just attended my sons wedding in Newcastle my partner and I thought we would take a leisurely drive back thru Yorkshire to Norfolk, we came across this lovely hotel on laterooms, and decided to give it a shot, the rooms were lovely, but HOT, no air conditioning, but nonetheless the room was lovely, the shower and bathroom great and clean!! We paid £75 for a double.
We also ate in the restaurant which was busy!! The food was great and the ales well kept. I would say though that the breakfast although ok was not great, the bacon was dry, the poached eggs were over cooked, it just was not up to the same standard as the night before.
Having said that it was a lovely stay and would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chefbynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had one meal here during our stay in North Yorkshire. The waitress was very helpful and smiling and the food was reasonable, but nothing special. It was clean and so were the toilets We sat in the conservatory which was very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moonraker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at The Kings Head for a night on 13th July, Maria made us feel very welcome and could not have been more helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean and more importantly so was the en-suite bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp and clean. We booked a table for an evening meal and enjoyed very tasty and well presented food, my wife is coeliac and was very well catered for. There was a good choice for breakfast and Steve was very obliging. The price for our stay and the meal was very reasonable. The Kings Head offers good value for money and Maria and Steve are great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razz-Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at the Kings Head at the end of June. The room was clean, although a little dark, but this was a part of the character of the building. An excellent breakfast was served each morning of our stay. The food served in the evening was very good, but unfortunately we never got to sample the dessert menu as the generous portions of main course were very filling. We ate at the hotel on night one, tried another hotel night two, but returned for night three as the food at the Kings Head was so much better. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint would be on the size of the shower room which had a small shower cubicle and very little shelf space. We will happily stay there again as it is central for both coast and country.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
5.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing