We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hearty comfort food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkbymoorside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“Great hearty comfort food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visited here on the 2nd November 2013 just before 12.00pm after a trip to Pickering.
The open fire was welcoming and after ordering our drinks we placed our order at the bar. My father had the special fish dish with vegetables and my mother and I ordered the homemade mince and vegetable pie.
All cooked perfectly, very hot, portions sizes amble and staff pleasant.
Excellent choice of menu, something for everyone - didn't order pudding as we were all too full!
Will visit again - however I think we went at the right time as the carpark and pub was full when we left.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warhol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    84
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
76
134
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Brilliant. This is a large remote busy pub. It had several surprises for us:
1. Our room and bathroom were very smart, clean, comfortable and modern.
2. The pub and individual dining areas seemed to go on for ever.
3. The food was well above average.
4. It was warm and cosy.
5. Staff were great.
6. It never felt busy or crowded.

This was one of our favourites on the Coast to Coast that Packhorse had booked for us. We'd had our doubts as there is a captive market for C to C'ers and sometimes a large pub/hotel does not always have the charm of a good B&B. The food was really good and to a high standard - I had a really good steak cooked with the fat on for flavour as it should be and cooked pink to bloody exactly as ordered.

Staff were really helpful and friendly despite attending to so many customers. We would not hesitate to come back here again if in the area for food and/or accommodation and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Look out for the photo near the hotel reception of The Lion when it is really snowy!

Thank you to all at The Lion, Blakey Ridge for all your hard work in making our stay so very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-and-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had previously visited the lion inn during walks and had only had drinks there. But we were impressed with the atmosphere and location and very much wanted to stay overnight and get the full experience. Whilst the room was lovely, room 11 and the selection of real ales was very good, the food was shocking! My partner had breaded garlic mushrooms for starters which were so over fried she couldn't get her fork into them. For mains we both had chefs own beef curry which was unlike any curry we had seen or tasted before and had the consistency of dog food! Yet even this was surpassed by the dreadful excuse for a breakfast which we were asked for our order at 8.45 am and didn't receive it til 09.20 and on its arrival we found two full English breakfasts so dried out they were like cardboard! In addition the sausages must have come from farmfoods as they were so cheap they were total junk. This was by far and away the worst breakfast experience we have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marshyparshy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We walked to the Lion Inn from Clay Bank, and for the last half hour could see the building standing lone on Blakey Ridge. There was a group of Jensen's in the parking lot, testifying to the Inn's appeal to a far ranging clientele. The pub area is cozy, but one needs to watch one's head due to the low lintels. The food was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed on a very windy, rainy night. The interior of the pub was very interesting with a number of very welcoming open fires. The bedrooms a very modern with very effective double glazing. The night we stayed the wind was howling. One of our party expected to see Heathcliff enter any minute. Breakfast in the morning set you up for the rest of the day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Visited a few weeks ago and have been meaning to review ever since,

Out in the middle of nowhere and popular with walkers for obvious reasons. it has rooms although we didn't stay in them. We were told the food was good by someone at work so after a little wander around the moors we ventured inside.

The place is massive separate dining area, plenty of seating for bar meals or just a drink The actually bar itself is big and well stocked with a good variety of beers and ciders etc
on a nice day I imagine the view is very good and there are benches outside to take advantage of the scenery.
When we arrived we were told to go to table one in the restaurant slight problem that the tables aren't labelled up so we were stood around like lemons for a minute until one of the waitresses came over to direct us where to go.
The massive everyone will find something its the usual pub classics but the menu is double the size of most places.

After seeing a huge starter come out for one person on another table we decided on just having a main. We both ordered steak and they were huge! but cooked to just how we had asked them add to that they came with chips (more like chippy chips) peas, salad, onion rings and mushrooms. The mushrooms were my only problem with my meal as they weren't to my liking I think they may have been put in the friar so they were a bit greasy. Everything else was very good.

We finished with a couple of desserts another large portion of chocolate fudge cake and a white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake which was fine.

The steak came in around £18-£22 if memory servers which might seem expensive to some but with the location and massive portion sizes hard to fault.

Staff were friendly and accommodating I would defiantly return in the dictionary where it says good pub there should be a picture of the lion

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A very remote stunning B&B with very friendly staff and excellent food. The place is excellent overall and all the plus points have been mentioned in other reviews. Only downsides for me were the wines. Expensive and lacking in any quality. The food although great, again a little on the dear side and the fact that the bar closes at midnight, which is perhaps a little early for any parties that are staying the night. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriparoundUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
15.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
15.3 mi away
George & Dragon Hotel
George & Dragon Hotel
#3 of 7 in Kirkbymoorside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Property: The Lion Inn
Address: High Blakey, Kirkbymoorside YO62 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Kirkbymoorside
The Lion Inn Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing