We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Brickfields Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickfields Farm
Reviewed 3 August 2014

this was an overnight stay for my husbands birthday,it was a lovely place the rooms are very large and very nicely done,we had our own patio which was lovely to see out of sun morn.guinea fowl came to outside our room i didnt know they sat in trees,lots of rabbits running around,we will def go back.the bed was so comfy had a lovely nites sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for a weekend and wished we could have stayed a week !
Everything about Brickfields is impressive from the size and comfort of the rooms to the overall cleanliness and to the fantastic breakfasts and to the welcoming and caring hosts !
Thanks again we hope to be back soon

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful open aspect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank prestonpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a night here as a treat for my birthday and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was beautifully presented and very spacious, with a huge bathroom which had a lovely deep bath and walk in shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and there were substantial pillows/blankets provided. There was also plenty of good quality toiletries provided which was lovely. I also loved the added touches, such as a jug of fresh milk and bottles of water in the fridge. The terrace which the room opened out onto had stunning views that were lovely to wake up to! Breakfast was delicious and in the conservatory surrounded by farm animals, and being a vegetarian the hosts catered to my needs happily. The hosts were also more than happy to recommend local restaurants and taxi services for us and we went for a lovely meal at the Lion Inn up on the moors. The farm is also very easy to find and within walking distance of Kirkbymoorside. The only criticism I have is that the drive is full of potholes!

Room Tip: The yellow room was stunning - a 16th century french bed which is 6 feet wide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank crafty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent a couple of days here and had a lovely time. The room was large and airy and led out onto a substantial patio which in turn overlooked open fields where we watched the owners' guinea fowl and the local wild rabbits cavorting. The room was comfortably furnished and large enough to accommodate a fairly large sofa as well as two very comfortable beds. The bathroom had a wet room style walk in shower, which was very efficient and the towels were extremely thick and soft. The breakfast was more than substantial using local ingredients, and the home made muesli was very good. However the entrance to our room was covered in bird droppings and cobwebs and in the warm weather we were very disappointed to find there were no security locks on the windows (ground floor room) which meant we were seriously overheated and had very little sleep. The owners were very helpful, advising on good places to eat in the evening. It is a shame that these lacks of attention to detail spoiled what would otherwise be a really lovely place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank moonraker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My partner and i spent a week here and throroughly enjoyed it. I must mention the full English Breakfasts which were very substantial !! Our room was large and airy whith a nice big bathroom and walk-in shower. The farm was full of sheep and guinea fowl and a short walk to the village. Unfortunately the Drive is full of potholes ( not the owners fault ) so watch out if you drive a BMW !! The hosts were charming and very helpful, and leant me a good map of the nearby North York Moors. The only bad point vwas the bird droppings and cobwebs by our front door and the lack of a security catch on the windows. However it was one of the best farms we had stayed at !!

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Brickfields. Our room was very clean. It's a lovely touch to have the small kitchen area with a fridge and tea tray and two wine glasses. Also, very nice to have patio doors, small patio with table and chairs. Ideal on a warm summers evening. On the whole the room was great and suited our needs. The only thing I didnt like was the birds mess on the pathway outside the room and not just a little bit either, although lovely to see the birds nesting in the eves - I just didnt like the mess and felt it should have been cleaned daily. As far as the breakfast is concerned - it was great and so was the homemade jams. The location is great for touring the North Yorkshire Moors and surrounding areas. I would also highly recommend the Fox & Hounds at Sinnington for dinner. We also had lunch at the Fairfax Arms in Gilling East that was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluetabby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at brickfields farm for my birthday weekend and despite heavy rain, absolutely loved the tranquil settings and the views across the fields. When we arrived, the owners were very friendly and helpful and the room was extremely comfortable. We felt that we were well on the way to the five star experience that we had looked forward to with such anticipation.

Sadly, the boiler was malfunctioning throughout our stay which meant that we had no heating or hot water. To be honest, this rather took the edge off for us, and we were disappointed that we were not offered an apology or any gesture of goodwill-such as a late check out or similar. Of course, these situations are unavoidable, but cold showers and not being able to use the lovely bath was unfortunate. We left feeling rather flat. For the price, I also do feel that a 4pm check in and 10am check out is rather tight (although in fairness, we did request an earlier arrival and this was granted)... All in all, a shame really, because there are so many aspects to enjoy in this lovely B and B.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Heather1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
0.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
156 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,686 reviews
0.6 mi away
George & Dragon Hotel
George & Dragon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kirkbymoorside
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cornmill
The Cornmill
#3 of 8 in Kirkbymoorside
74 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brickfields Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickfields Farm

Address: Brickfields Farm Kirkby Mills, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range: £95 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brickfields Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, award-winning farmhouse B&B in rural North Yorkshire Four light & airy guest rooms in the recently renovated Barn, with quality beds, comfortable seating areas with large sofa, flat screen TV, DVD, Freeview, and well-stocked hospitality traysSpacious en-suite bathrooms feature walk-in “wet room” style showers, heated towel rails, and “soft close” loo seats. All rooms: ground floor, French doors opening to terrace, ample parking, easily accessible for the less able guest, wholesome Yorkshire breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brickfields Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickfields Farm Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing