We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place! ”
Review of The Hovingham Inn

The Hovingham Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

What a place! Superb hospitality and welcome. Try their wide range of gins. Lyndsey has great knowledge. The food is absolutely delicious. We had the cauliflower cheese soup which is stunning. Well worth a visit but you’ll need to book at weekends as unsurprisingly they’re very busy.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank lisaboard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Just superb ... hospitality, quality of food, decor... what more can I say . A perfect venue for a long overdue family get together .. and dog-friendly too !
Thankyou for a lovely dinner on the Friday evening and a cosy glass of wine in front of the fire on the Saturday . Definitely on my “ favourite “ list .

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank karenlU3832VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2020

What a lovely place, credit due for the transformation. We had a gift voucher so went all out with 3 great courses. Very friendly and welcoming staff, lovely atmosphere and amazing food - the Sunday roast was delicious! Highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank JillS2162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

We walked into a cosy bar area which had a log fire roaring out a welcome. Our dog spotted a few friendly canine grins peering from their owners side. In the back, families were enjoying some quality looking plates of food but we just stayed in the bar for a couple of drinks and snacks (a tasty bowl of soup with brioche and Parmesan and truffle fries). If you’re driving don’t feel that you have to stick to the bore of cola or orange juice as this place offers an extensive list of ‘for the driver’ cocktails which were so nice even the non-driver partook. Enjoy!

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank tommyb079
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2019

We’ve been a few times now & food has been consistently good. The menu & number of diners is kept small to ensure food standards remain high. Richard is a highly competent cook, his dishes accomplished but not over fussed. Wife Lindsey is a perfect front of house, very warm & sincere. The ambience is relaxed & we particularly like the bar tables near the fire.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Hovingham Inn also viewed

Hovingham, North Yorkshire
Hovingham, North Yorkshire

Been to The Hovingham Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.