We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a pleasant village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a pleasant village”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived at around 6.30pm, and was greeted by the manageress. She was very attentive and polite,and showed us to our room ,which was in a cottage across the road,which we were not aware of at the time of booking,as we booked with hotel.com.The cottage looked clean , but could do with a few things being repaired.The bathroom looked a bit worse for wear, and the double bed was made up of two single beds,which gave us both a very uncomfortable sleep.The staff were great at the worsley arms and the food was excellent.The breakfast was very good too.If we were in the hotel itself and we had a double bed ,then I would have no complaints. A very nice village too.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel ,and ask where you will be staying,also if you want something to eat book a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    202
    55
    31
    14
See reviews for
72
427
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Friday Evening - the hotel is in a lovely location in Hovingham village.
The reception was unmanned when we arrived and we rang the bell and waited and waited.
Eventually a lovely guy came rushing in- very apologetic and checked us in. It was a nice touch that he took us up to our room and pointed out what was what.
The hotel is quite deceptive and a lot bigger than it looks. Our room wasn't massive and I was disappointed we didn't have a bath- did have a huge shower but the bed was extremely comfortable.
We ate in the hotels restaurant and everything we ate was delicious - nothing was too expensive and good quality ingredients.
I had chicken ceaser salad followed by home made Burger - delicious. Can definitely recommend the wild garlic!
Service was professional and friendly.no complaints.
Slept really well though there was a little bit of traffic noise.
Breakfast was yummy and service was good again.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was really nice, bit oldy worldy but we stayed in a cottage room and the shower was hot and the room pleasant. Not sure if the radiator valves worked as the radiators were blooming hot but makes a change from being freezing. The dinner was very good and I really enjoyed the fishcake starter. Good value stay except for the fact that they charge for the internet at £2/gadget/12 hours. WHAT I said and they refunded the charge. Come on the Worsley Arms , how do you justify that. Internet access is free now at most places and if you have to pay at least its unlimited for all gadgets.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grumpypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Grumpypete

Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry that the internet charge seems to have upset you, I know that some places offer freeinternet and it is not to say that at some point we might join them but for now we make a small charge of £2.00 for unlimited usage during your stay. Unfortunately because it is free to the user does not mean it is free to the provider. As you say we do offer good value and the way to do that is to charge for the services that we offer as and when they are used, a good example would be the telephones which are provided in all rooms for guests to use if they choose to if they don't use them there is no charge. Across the board if you were to compare our prices with local hotels we would come out very well.

It was good to hear that you enjoyed your meals the kitchen team work hard to to prepare a varied menu using lots of local produce.

Thank you again, we appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful location.
Cannot fault the friendliness of the hosts.
However there was no hot water in the room for a bath, it was luke warm at best. The shower wasn't much hotter and didn't have enough water pressure so was just a trickle of water. There was quite a bit of mould in the bathroom. Disappointing as I had paid £20 in addition to upgrade to a superior room - I expected hot water as a bare minimum.
Evening meal I ordered fish cakes which was served with chips and a micro salad. The fish cakes were severely lacking in fish so the whole meal was potato - very disappointing.
Breakfast was good though as we weren't expecting it to be from evening meal experience.
We received a complimentary bottle of wine sent on an email if you book an evening meal at the time of booking your accommodation so that was a welcome surprise.
There was confusion upon checking out and I was charged for breakfast that was part of the groupon deal and for drinks that I had paid cash for the evening before.
There is a selection of games to play on an evening which is nice and open log fires though these weren't burning in the evening.
Don't think we will return as would expect hot water and better food for the prices charged.
It could be a great hotel with some tweaks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Worsley Arms and have had a fantastic time again. We had a lovely superior cottage room with lots of room for our two large dogs. The hospitaltiy is faultless and the food was fab. We will defintely be returning for another weekend soon.
Thanks mostly to Amanda and to Tony who really took care of us.

see you all soon
Gaynor and Ian

Room Tip: Cottage room 21 is very large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from staying one night at this Hotel, we been 4 couples.
I have no doubt when the Hotel first opened it would have been superb, however now it's glory days are somewhat Faded.
The public rooms are acceptable in both decor and furnishings but need replacing in the near future. The room where we had dinner, which is just off the bar area, was nice and cosy, our dinner was Very Good with fresh produce been used at all times.
You take breakfast, which again was good, in the main dinning room, the service was good and staff pleasant.
Now the bedrooms, the furnishings and overall decor were an eclectic mix. My room no7 was small but had a full bathroom with bath and shower over it. I lifted the toilet seat and it came off in my hand. The cover over the duvet was stained in places although the bed sheet, pillow cases and duvet were spotless. The window in this room overlooks the rear car park and is not double glazed.
One couple booked a room with twin beds, one had a point 4 tog duvet the other a point 13 tog
duvet on,. Another couple noticed that the mattress cover was stained and other items of furniture dusty, this was mentioned at reception, they said it had just been refurbished !!.
If you have not been to Hovingham before there is not a lot to it, one small shop a cafe and a pub that never seemed to be opened.
For a short stay, one or two nights, the Hotel I offers a good base to do walks and sight see the local countryside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveHLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited here for a couple of days as a wedding anniversary celebration and really enjoyed it. Even though the hotel is not that big, the staff managed to cope with a group of 38 alongside us and their other guests without us feeling neglected. (Something that other hotels seem to have a lot of problems with.) Food was - as others here have remarked - really good. On a couple of dishes the chef-y tendencies were overcome by a desire to get plenty on the plate so the presentation suffered a bit but, on the other hand, it meant bigger portions! The bar (good selection of whiskies) and lounge are cosy with open fires - a definite plus for an English spring in Yorkshire. We had a spacious, comfortable room in the main building with a comfortable bed, DAB Radio, TV/DVD player (& iPod dock). The bathroom was spacious with a good shower. Quibbles? Well, a few places could do with a lick of paint and the cobwebs in the atrium need going at with a (very) long handled duster. These are very small points though and more than made up for by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
502 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
545 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
708 reviews
6.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Property: The Worsley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel Hovingham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing