We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Worsley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second stay for a family (with dog) break to explore the Moores and coast. Hovingham was perfect to do this and the hotel right in the heart of the delightful village making it easy to explore.

The hotel was a grand building, full of character,and wonderful gardens. All the staff were super helpful, friendly and professional worthy of a 4star hotel (although I think it is a 3star). The breakfast was great with plenty of choice and Yorkshire tea. The bar area was cosy and welcoming, especially with an open fire. The food served in the evening was lovely although a little posh for the children.

The rooms are nice and bright with very comfortable beds, bathroom was perhaps slightly dated but adequate all the same.

We will certainly return again soon for a peaceful, get-away-from-it-all break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear KK2000

Thank you for your positive feedback, we offer alternative dishes for young children, I sorry if we did not make that clear whilst you were with us. We are only three star, but I would rather punch above our weight that below it!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    197
    52
    28
    13
See reviews for
70
410
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notting hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We called in for lunch, we sat in the garden which was badly in need of a gardener, the staff started off nice but when I complained about the small £7 bowl of chips we were brought she was very rude with a bad attitude we were also brough a tomato sauce in a bottle......... my pet hate it looks cheap not what you would expect from this kind of hotel. The toilets we shabby and dirty will definitely not return very disappointing

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Robert M

Thank you for your review, I am relieved to hear that you survived eating salad! It was great having you with us, we enjoyed your company so I am delighted that you enjoyed ours!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham soon.

Regards

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights although not in the main hotel but one of the cottage rooms just over the road. The room was very nice large comfy bed large bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast was served in the hotel dining room usual fare well cooked and well presented, we also ate in the dining room one night and the food was very good indeed with a great menu to choose from. All the staff are incredibly friendly and there is a lovely garden to sit in when the weather is nice. The hotel is well placed for a variety of local attractions and is set in the lovely village of Hovingham all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willchaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is located in a picturesque rural village in beautiful countryside.
A comprehensive lunch menu is available. The food is well cooked, flavoursome & represents good value.
We received a warm & friendly welcome & the quality of the service was excellent.
Strongly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Roger L

Thank you, it was good to count you all out and then having the opportunity of counting you all in again after you walk! The added bonus was being able to offer you the option of lunching in the garden on such a wonderful day.

Here's to the next time!

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at the Worsley Arms for one night and found it very relaxing and enjoyable and would have given it 5 but found one or two things slightly lacking. First the positives;
When we arrived we were shown to a lovely room across the road from the main hotel in one of the cottages. We had booked a superior double and were delighted with all the main aspects of the room. It was very spacious with a king-size bed (zip link), windows on both sides making it very light, massive bathroom with bath and separate shower + a little area with a two seater sofa and a unit with the TV on. The room then was very comfortable and also very quiet.
There were a few issues that let the room down just small touches that could be rectified easily.
One of those was the fact that in the bathroom the toilet roll literally had about 10 sheets of paper on it. In this day and age that is not what I would expect in a Premier Inn let alone a small country hotel. There was also a pair of socks left in one of the drawers from a previous occupant and at one of the windows one of the curtains was hanging down from its hooks. That might sound picky, but in a nation where apathy is a national disease, it is easy to let good standards slide quickly.
Breakfast the following morning was also one of positives with a couple of negatives. The room we were in was comfortable and full of charm and the breakfast cereal and juice well stocked. We also liked it because the main breakfast was ordered and not a free for all buffet which many hotels do today. There was a choice of 4 or 5 main items, (full breakfast, scrambled egg on toast croissants etc). We chose the full Yorkshire which arrived promptly in about 10 minutes and on the whole was very tasty. However it was let down slightly by the fact that the sausage, whilst very nice, had obviously been kept warm for quite a while because as compared to the black pudding and bacon, was rather on the tepid side of warm. The other thing was that we weren't actually asked if we wanted toast whilst other tables were, something we picked up on and hoped someone would notice but in the end we had to go and ask for it ourselves, no big deal but again it is that attention to detail that moves a hotel from very good to excellent.
On the whole then a very good stay and we would stay again in the hope that next time the little details have been picked up on.

Room Tip: Superior double is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrifterSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I booked for a two night stay while visiting family from abroad who were caravanning nearby. The village is invariably associated with the Worsley family and in particular the Duchess of Kent who was born and raised in the nearby palatial family dwelling.
Being a nostalgic sort of fellow, I was pleased to note that the Worsley had eschewed that tacky, ubiquitous modern hotel feature, the plastic card, in favour of a good old fashioned key attached to a hefty piece of wood.
The accommodation was on the small side but comfortable and, as with the key, all things modern had been shunned in favour of the vintage, a quaint display of the trappings of yesteryear. The sash windows actually opened fully and had no restraints and the bathroom taps were of the simple four-pronged turning type – no levers or fancy mixers here! I found it a delight as I myself am a relic of a bygone age.
There is limited parking in front of the hotel and the small car park at the rear is approached through a narrow lane which appears to be a shared access with a medical practice.
Hotel breakfast rooms invariably have, to some extent, that unique, pungeant bouquet born of a potpourri of well-done toast, coffee and fried food. Maintaining its affection for the traditional, the Worsley was richly aromatic. The breakfast of scrambled eggs on toast and coffee on my first morning was served within five minutes by an efficient, avuncular chap who appears to work all hours in every capacity. He must be the owner. The repast on the second morning was a different experience. A thirty something lady took my order of scrambled eggs and coffee fairly promptly but took more than ten minutes to serve it, even though there were only six people dining – less than on the previous day. I began my breakfast while waiting for coffee. I was still waiting by the time I had finished. When I caught her eye she admitted to having forgotten about it. I assume the same applied to the fresh orange pitcher which remained empty throughout despite her walking past it several times. Perhaps she is a rank beginner, as yet untrained and inexperinced in which case such shortcomiongs can be disregarded and things can only improve. Or perhaps she is in the wrong job, only the efficient, avuncular chap can give us the answer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillwalker555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The staff is super friendly and lovely. The hotel is close th the Howard's castle which is a plus.

We stayed in the bungalows for one night and all was well.

I highly recommend this hotel because of the staff and because they have a very good restaurant service.

The menu is varied, with specials of the day that are inviting. The food is honest, real and prepared with attention. I was very positively impressed as their menu beats the ones of many places that call themselves restaurants. Well done!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lucas_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear lucas_trip

Thank you for your concise review, it was a pleasure to welcome to Hovingham.
The Chef puts a lot of effort into planning his menus, and as our guests have such differing tastes, it is a real challenge as their requirements can vary from day to day depending on what they get up to on their travels!

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
9.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Property: The Worsley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel Hovingham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing