We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GREAT, DISAPPOINTING”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed 25 August 2011

If you are booked into the Manor House as opposed to the main Red Lion building itself then I would say avoid. The rooms in the Manor House are too cramped and the bathrooms were tiny and a bit tired - the only luxury to be had was the Moulton Brown products. Although water is complimentary in the bedrooms there are no proper glasses provided. The only ones where in the bathroom and they were tiny and far from clean. I am sure the owners could stretch to a biscuit with the tea/coffee. The floors creaked and other residents in the Manor House complained of the pokey rooms, two residents moved out when we were there. The menus are too pricey and the food rich. A couple who were on a dinner, bed & breakfast package for two nights complained after the first night because the food wasn't up to much and over priced. The breakfast experience wasn't much better, not a lot on the plate and too much disorganisation of staff who were confused as to where we would be seated. We were given brown and white toast even though you could state your preference and no one bothered to ask - I would say the portions were mean! You cannot open the windows for ventilation because notices state that midges from the river can be a problem. Although it's in a great location and the owners seem to own quite a bit of the property nearby, I would venture elsewhere in future. I would probably pop in for a pint in future but never to stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main Red Lion Hotel, not the Manor House which is around the corner and us...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Eedwd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Arrived and was shown to room by staff. Room was clean and tidy but nothing special bathroom had grout missing and taps fell to bits in my hand when using shower. there was a half drunk bottle of water with a label saying we were free to try but had to pay 5 pounds if we wanted to take it with us. With little else around we ate in the pub food ordered it took an hour for starter to arrive 5 pound for a bowl if soup not a very good menu and very over priced food was just ok nothing else. Very nosiey wedding in pub as well overall not worth the Money £150 for 1 room try else where

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1977A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were looking forward to our one night away in this great location and after a super walk in the area the venue proved somewhat disappointing. If we had been paying their full price for B&B (£99) I am sure we would have complained about the poky bathroom but thankfully we were on a Groupon deal for £49 and felt the accommodation was just about acceptable at that price - but we have definitiely stayed in much better for £25pp.
We booked for dinner and the food was ok but not stunning - the service was a little ill informed (asked what type of yorkshire cheese was on the cheese board - answer one yellow, one white and one blue!). Breakfast was better though I am not sure why we need genuine french blood sausage instead of real yorkshire black pudding for a yorkshire breakfast?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMG685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our stay was lovely, really relaxing, scenic area with nice walks and views on your doorstop.
The food was fabulous - we ate in the pub garden at lunch - good portions and flavours. In the evening we ate in the restaurant and it was excellent. Very good service, different menu - we had guinea fowl and pigeon for our mains both were excellent and the sticky toffee pus was melt in the mouth!
We stayed in the Manor House as the hotel was full. The room was lovely with a great king size bed which was immensely comfy, really didn't want to get up!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We Booked 2x double rooms B&B at the Manor House which is part of the Red Lion Hotel at Burnsall . We checked in and went to our rooms which were really only single in size.The ensuite shower and toilet were tiny and the rooms were tired and needed updating.We returned to the reception and asked to change our rooms, none were available.We were told there was no room in the hotel dining room for Breakfast and we had to eat in an old tea room in the garden (shed).We decided to leave and asked for our deposit back of £80 which was refused point blank.Their whole attitude was appalling and we would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont go there
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We went on a Groupon offer, and were very pleased. This is truly a lovely old inn, in a superb riverside location, by a picture postcard bridge, and in a very popular Dales village. We were in the main building, and were given a pleasant enough room with just about all that you might want.
The staff were all very pleasant, and were very well organised as far as we were concerned.
We had a very good meal in a cosy restaurant, and felt the value was good. The bar and bar lounge also had lovely old world charm. Breakfast was also good, with very good choices. Some other reviewer referred to food smells - well, what food smells there were, were nice food smells!
The charms of these places do include uneven floors, and, yes, the carpet in some areas was well-worn (eg close to external doors where people, including hikers, pass in and out) - but no more than expected, and certainly not spoiling the overall charm of the place.
If I see this on Groupon again, I will snap it up!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityh0pper7_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed here in the Manor House B&B extension after a day walk in the Dales and a visit to the "must see" Coldstone Cut" near Pateley Bridge. The Manor House rooms are adequate, in need of modernizing and somewhat ambitiously priced. My room was definitely not in the £99.50 class. It pays to have a root round the late booking sites in advance. Dinner was excellent as was the freshly cooked breakfast. Beer choice was just fine and we were blessed with good weather and could sit beside the river till the sun went down. Staff were friendly and efficient. I enjoyed my stay there and would do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
215 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: £67 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing