We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Bother Staying Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Bother Staying Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

For the ridiculously over-priced rate of £160+ for a family room (one king size bed and one very uncomfortable fold out chair - only one pillow could be offered 'because they don't have enough'), this hotel does not live up to it's previous reputation. The room was dirty (doors, floors, windows and cobwebs on the ceiling). The bedroom was tiny, the staff were unhelpful and positively surly once the above was pointed out and we would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Breakfast was good but that was their only saving grace I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sall AT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    199
    94
    55
    46
See reviews for
104
458
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Jumped at the chance to stay here on a groupon deal having had a fantastic stay for a friends wedding a couple of years earlier. Previously we had stayed in the separate guesthouse, but this time we were in the main hotel.

The room was comfortable and clean, and the Molton Brown Toiletries a nice touch. Breakfast is delicious, and plenty of choice. Certainly fills you up for a days walking in the dales.
For dinner, we ate outside overlooking the river, and paid around 60 pounds for a three course meal for 2, including coffees, not bad at all. Especially given the quality of the food, the attentive waiter and the beautiful surroundings.

However the hotel was let down by some of it's staff. I went to the reception to see if they had any combs/hairbrushes for sale as I had forgotten to pack mine. One lady was on the phone, and another on the computer, neither looked up or acknowledged me for a good 5 minutes until I finally said 'excuse me can I get some assistance' , the one on the computer said I need to finish this and carried on with what she was doing. The other lady got off the phone and pushed past me to leave the reception room. I stood there a further 5 minutes without acknowledgement until I gave it up as a bad job, said 'forget it!' and walked out in a huff with bad hair for the rest of the weekend!

I also was given the third degree when I queried the bill on settling, as 2 glasses of house wine were included in the deal, these had been added on, despite me informing the bar man at the time that we had booked the groupon deal. The lady taking payment pretty much haggled over it, and said I musn't have made it clear to the barman. Very poor customer service indeed. A shame because it has the potential to be a really charming place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs in the main hotel are up quite steep and windy stone stairs, if you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We have just returned from an over nighter at the Red Lion and would just like everyone to know how impressed we were - after reading some of the reviews wonder if they had been to the same place as us. We purchased a Groupon deal and were impressed right from the point of phoning up to book our room - the staff were very friendly . We arrived at 11.30 as we wanted to make the most of our stay, we checked in straight away and had 2 drinks in the 'snug' which is a beautiful olde worldy lounge for residents and diners. The fire was roaring and the whole atmosphere was that of relaxation, we could easily have fallen asleep and not bothered with the walk to Linton Falls !!!.
When we read the reviews we were in two minds whether or not to eat there, so we decided to test it out by having some lunch before our walk. I had a hot brisket of beef sandwich and my partner had ham - they arrived well presented with loads of salad and extras- they both tasted great and the price was reasonable. We managed to drag ourselves out for our walk -and what a glorious walk it was the weather was perfect and the scenery was breath taking. Lots of wild life in the woods, we saw a weaslel, king fisher and lots of different types of birds.
When we returned to the Red Lion we were give our key to room 3 - and one of the very helpful reception staff showed us to our room which was outside in the annex. The room was fantastic and had loads of old world charm , bathroom was massive with a walk in shower. The room was also quite large with Super King bed and small lounge area, nice touches were the real coffee, molton brown products and the bear! No complaints what so ever.
As we had been so impressed with lunch we decided to have our evening meal there also - as we had to come to walk we'd only bought jeans - and I did not know if there was a dress code for the dining hall so just booked a table in the bar. We ordered our food then relaxed in the snugh for a while with a large glass of merlot and a pint of Timothy Taylors, when our food was ready one of the charming waiters called us to our table. We were even more impressed by the evening meal - even though we had a 'bar meal' the staff were very attentive and the food was great. We had pate to share as a starter - (which would have probably fed 4 as there was plenty of toast and bread) followed by Coq au vin and scampi, plus 2 glasses of Merlot. We were bought water with our wine without having to ask. Too full for a pudding we retired once more to the snug where we finished our wine and chilled out.
Bed was really comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was of excellent quality and once again we were served by attentive staff.
We checked out and paid for our food and wine, (lunch and dinner) which was very reasonable,
Everything about the Red Lion was 10 out of 10 - however I think all the staff deserve a special mention, we have stayed in many hotels in the past and have never had such excellent service.
Our overnight stay was courtesey of a Groupon deal for £49 for B & B - the full rate in room 3 would have been £158, but it was so good we would have willingly paid the full price. We are hoping to go back soon but next time for 2 nights.
Thanks again Dave and Sue

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceoshurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at The Red Lion recently , and would just like to share this review .We arrived to a very warm welcome from whome we found to be Sarah one of the daughters of the family . Got in to our very quaint room relaxed before going downstairs to have a drink or two and what could only be explained as a beautiful meal. 1st class all the way . The following morning we drove 4 miles to the beautiful village of Grassington with its lovely aray of shops including one of the nicest Mens and Ladies shops we have ever been in too .(Robert Bunney's) . Back to The Red Lion for afternoon tea , and once again a lovely dinner. We shall be back soon to sample some more of the same in a beautiful part of the Yorkshire Dales . A&S from Oxfordshire .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel twice this year as part of a Nordic Walking group. We have stayed in the annex and the main pub building and both rooms have been lovely (though in come cases very small).

Breakfast is excellent with a good selection of hot and old fare (the Granola is particularly good) and evening meals are superb. Despite being a largeish group (25+) we always receive superb and attentive service from the team.

The hotel is ideally located on the River Wharfe with a great selection of walking routes nearby leading to Grassington, Bolton Abbey, Stump Cross Coverns, Grimwith Reservoir and more.

If you are a keen walker, or just looking for a quiet base to explore the yorkshire dales, i would thoroughly recommend The Red Lion as an ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the Annex have very small bathrooms. Floors in the main building can be uneven and cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandTina_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel on 17/9/2011. There was a wedding booked that evening, but despite this we were found a room.
The food and all the ground floor facilities and service were excellent, but the room we were provided with was too small, with only one chair and had had an en suite facility carved out of it. No problem with the en suite, just that the whole thing was too small for the considerable all-in price of £183, which included dinner. We felt that for that price the room should have been larger or we should have payed less.
N & E Ellis, Heighington, Darlington.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICHOLAS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This review is about the food only as we ate on a Sunday evening on our way back to our guest house. The place looks lovely and it is in a glorious setting. The bar was humming and there were plenty people eating but because they were full from 7;30 onwards and this was around 6pm they put us in one the of the function rooms at the back.

You could commend them on their flexibility for taking us when they could have turned us away but the room was pretty soulless with only us in it. It also made us realise how big the Red Lion is. This is not the cosy country pub it looks like from the outside,

The food was reasonable however and the service good - at least they didn't forget about us tucked away in the back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grapefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing