We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful cottage”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have just returned from a short break at the Red Lion Burnsall, we have been staying in Yorkshire this time of year for the last ten years to visit the xmas market in York, this year we fancied a change of accomodation, as we had previously stayed B & B in a pub.
The cottage we stayed in next to the Red Lion was amazing, super views over the river, exceptionally clean, very warm with all amenities to hand, the cottage was upside down to make the most of the stunning viewsl, there was a little wood burner, which we did not need to use as the heating was ample in the roomsWe ate the first nite in the pub, food was good, the second two nites we ate out at the Fountain in Linton, which was excellent.
People were very friendly, cant wait to return next winter,
Kim n Ian

Room Tip: Cottage 5 was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooter2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    202
    97
    55
    47
See reviews for
108
467
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our room number 16 in an (apparently) recent extension was superb, with excellent toiletries. Our stay was courtesy of relatives who gave us a Groupon voucher and we couldn`t have spent it better!

Room Tip: Ask for one recently added on or refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffersonBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

stayed at part of a Groupon deal - what a wonderful place - it dates back to the 16th century and they've done a great job of retaining as much of the charm and character as possible. Room was totally acceptable - ok the floor creaked and the room could have been larger but it wasn't and we'd come for a night away not to pick fault!
From check-in to check-out we found the staff incredibly friendly and it was so lovely that you felt they really did want to stop and have a chat.
Evening meal was faultless as was breakfast the next morning. Excellent service at both encounters.
The walk along the riverbank from Burnsall to Grassington is a must and every fellow walker we met gave a cheery hello - what a refreshing break - just wish it could have been longer.
Will certainly return and be more than happy to recomment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuzjacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed one night at the Manor House in the cheapest room so didn't expect anything palatial. But this was the tiniest hotel room I have ever seen made smaller by the poor arrangements. Surely, four lady owners could have done something better. Why put a 6' bed with a 4" padded bedhead in there. A 4'6" traditional double bed and a thin bedhead would mean there would be enough room for a bedside table at both sides. Take out the chair and replace it with a small chest of drawers and the tea making equipment wouldn't have to be crammed onto the only bedside table. I didn't make a drink while we stayed there because I thought it too dangerous as I would have had to put the kettle on the floor to plug it into a socket at the other side of the room. The curtains were too long and trailed on the floor, tripping me up when I went to get into bed. The tiny en-suite with the tiny wash basin was difficult to cope with. I would get rid of the teddy and two cushions, the vase on the window sill and add some pictures on the walls.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Booked one night using a groupon voucher. What a lovely place it turned out to be. Staff were very welcoming on arrival. We had a standard room which was fine, nice decor, comfy beds, good bathroom with nice toiletries and large fluffy towels and a dressing gown. The room was clean and tidy with a nice view. The room was also provided with a cafetiere and ground coffee as well the usual tea and coffee making facilities which was a nice touch. After a quick walk around the village as it was starting to get dark we returned to the bar where there is an excellent choice of real ales. We ate in the restaurant where the food athough not cheap is excellent and good value for money. Service was excellent and staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was also very good with real fresh orange and good range of choice for the hot breakfast which was well presented and of excellent quality. After checking out (once again staff were very friendly) we walked along the river bank to Grassington and back and then decided to stay and have lunch in the Red Lion. We were not disappointed food and service as we had come to expect were excellent and it was another chance to sample the beer! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here a couple of times and have never been disappointed, the rooms are very clean and well decorated, comfy bed, hot water, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen tv, central heating if needed, staff very good, meals excellent, good views from everywhere, did some nice walking along the river to Grassington which was nice, overall an excellent place to stay,bar prices a little higher than at home but well worth the stay, I would recomend this hotel to anybody wanting to get away from it all. I will certainly be back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed on Thursday using the Groupon deal and it was well worth the money. Not sure we'd pay the full price for the room we stayed in but for the deal we got it was excellent value for money. The rooms are nice, with a decent bathroom and everything you could want in a room.

The hotel is very olde worldy, which although not to our personal taste I can see the charm. The bar area is great with at least 6 real ales to choose from and a good wine list. The food in the hotel is very very good. We ate there in the evening and the food was excellent and all local produce and very very tasty and not too expensive. Breakfast is just as good, all local produce and very well cooked.

The location of the hotel is fantastic and if you like walking then this is a perfect base. We walked from Burnsall along the river to Linton and back which is about 3 mile each way. The walk is pretty easy and a really nice walk.

I'd like to give a mention for the staff who throughout our stay were excellent, the waitress that served us our evening meal was brilliant, very friendly and very pleasant.

All in all a great stay at a nice hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing