We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights specifically to experience the "Burnsall Feast Sports" once again, after not visiting for 30 years! It's a bit of a pain not getting to check in till 3p.m as we'd travelled fairly early to miss the worst of the Bank Holiday traffic, but fortunately the weather was good to walk about outside and there was plenty going on to amuse us. We also had a great mug of tea at Katies on the car park (50p). We were accomodated on the top floor of the Manor House which we found superb. A huge bed and comfortable furnishings were complemented by a very serviceable bathroom with excellent electric shower, whilst the toiletries were both exquisite and numerous (even with the opportunity of purchasing to avoid filching). The restarant can get very busy so it's worth booking ahead or at least asking ahead of your visit. The bar food was good and there some interesting options available. Breakfast was great with an excellent menu on offer but on our second morning we had to take this in the Manor Tea room due to wedding preparations in the hotel. A restaurant it aint! All in all, a very positive experience from this family run business. All staff were courteous and efficient. The only minor negative was that the drinks were a little pricey (£2.60 for a large dispensed/injected diet coke) Google the "Burnsall Feast Sports" which are an annual event. A great village tradition which includes children's events (sprints/egg&spoon) cocunut shy, skittles, etc. There is even a "classic" Fell Race whose history goes back over 100 yrs. You may wish to coincide any visit with this. You would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had Rm 40 on the top floor of the Manor, steep stairs but great views!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, the Burnsall Feast is a great day out and well worth a visit !
With regards to your comment on the tea rooms it is just that, a tea room, we only use this if we are exceptionally busy ( in this case due to bank holiday and feast) and for summer time afternoon teas and ice creams, we serve exactly the same breakfast over there as we do at the 'Lion'. hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here recently as part of a wedding party. It's not particularly cheap but the room was in dire need of modernisation. Noisy plumbing, tatty decor and a very hot room did not make it quite the quaint and relaxed experience it might have been. The fact that you can't check in until 3pm is also quite unusual and restrictive.

Staff were OK on the whole but the breakfast staff were terrible. The breakfast itself was also uninspiring and not almost inedible - tiny portions over over-salted food and a lack of fresh pastries or fruit. I also don't appreciate having plates cleared away from the table while other people are still eating!

The location was nice enough but I wouldn't stay here again. Not unless it was seriously spruced up and got some new staff anyway!

Room Tip: Try the Devonshire Fell up the road!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Really sorry to hear your stay was not to your liking, we do like to think of our decor being in keeping with the character of the buidings, I am not sure where you stayed Red Lion or Manor House but we frequently go round re decorating rooms and keeping them in an excellent condition.
We have had some very warm weather recently and have fans available at reception for anyone to use. Check in is from 3pm as with most hotels in the country - I haven't stayed in any hotel in the world where check in is earlier! If guests are attending a wedding we always allow them to change in the room before the event even if we haven't had chance to fully service it.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast which is all homemade and locally sourced. Our staff always try their best to give good service, pastries are on the menu as they are cooked fresh to order and we always have a selection of fresh fruit in a basket on the side, also homemade fruit compote, apricots and prunes, organice museli with dried fruit in, so plenty of fruit available.
If you had come to us with your concerns at the time we could have rectified most of your problems and your stay may have been more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The environment and landscapes are great. Rooms space is too small, no space for luggage, with simple decoration of the room. Service is correct but not the best. Food is correct without great spectatives. Is a good place to make nice walks. There is a nice river close of the hotel where you can relax. If you go with family you can make activities with children.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Rito_Yuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for your feedback, sorry you felt your room was a little small, the rooms at the Manor House do tend to be smaller but the rates are too! we do pride ourselves on our food and our french head chef comes up with some great menus, we have a great team of staff, but are always trying to improve our service. You are right we have some great countryside around with lots of outdoor activities.
Regards
The girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Manor House (rather than the pub itself) for a night recently as our friends were getting married in the Devonshire Fell just up the road.

The location is lovely, with the front of the pub facing the village green which runs down to the river. Our room was comfortable, if a little snug, although I would have expected the fairly sizeable hole in the bedroom wall to be fixed before we arrived!

Service was generally good - reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast service was a bit odd though (clearing plates away whilst we were still eating off them) and the breakfast itself was a bit stingy - one rasher of bacon and a single sausage!

Overall, the Red Lion did the job but if we were looking for a weekend away for just the two of us, I'd probably find the extra and book the Devonshire Fell instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for your review, was the Fell full or were our rates a little more competive ? with regards to the hole in the wall, this was made the night prior to your stay and as soon as we were able we repaired it. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts but if for any reason you were not happy you should have brought this to our attention and we would gladly have given you an extra rasher of bacon and another sausage. A chance to air your views is always given on checkout as we ask every guest if they have enjoyed their stay, Iam sorry you did not feel able to tell us at the time.
Regards
The girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed as a couple on Sunday 7th July via a Groupon Deal. The Hotel is situated amidst stunning scenery, in a beautiful valley. There is free parking at the back of the Hotel.
There is a traditional bar with real ales with lots of outside seating on the picturesque riverfront.
The room we had was in the main part and overlooked the front with a great view and had a huge, comfy bed - complete with teddy bear. It was clean and well appointed. The room was quirky and full of character with little touches which were just right - a cd player with a small selection of cd's, cafetiere, chocolates and Molton Brown smellies. The weather was hot and sunny and sticky at night but we weren't able to open any windows (apparently, due to Elf and Safety as there was a risk of jumpers!). The stairs were steep to the bedroom and there isn't a lift but staff will take up your bags.
We had a delicious evening meal, the basic ingredients being locally sourced. The service was efficient and helpful. There was a wide choice at breakfast. The wife going for the scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and freshly squeezed orange juice, which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had the full English but was disappointed with the French black pudding (obviously an acquired taste)
The Red Lion is a great place to explore the Dales from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for the review, pleased you enjoyed yourselves and with regards to the black pudding you are one of the very few who doesn't rave about it, but it is very much down to personal palate. Hope to see you again
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed her for one night using a Living Social Voucher. We were travelling with our 4 year old grandson so opted to pay extra for a cottage rather than an hotel room. What a fantastic decision. Our cottage overlooked the River Wharfe and was everything you could wish for. The bedrooms were on the ground floor and the sitting room and kitchen on the first floor which took great advantage of the river views. There was a well equipped kitchen with Denby china. The bathroom was supplied with Molton and Brown toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion.) This hotel was in an idyllic situation, the food superb, the choice of beer and wine excellent. We could not fault the place. Every detail was catered for and the staff so welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. I must add that we stayed on a very busy weekend and the place is so well organised that nothing suffered for being so popular. The Red Loin is a 5 star establishment and we will be back! Must add that if you aren't familiar with the location just go and see for yourself what a beautiful place Burnsall is.

Room Tip: If possible stay in a cottage overlooking the river!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, thankyou so much for your kind comments and we do hope to see you again.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Red Lion really is a great pub; in an incredible setting beside the river Wharfe, really pleasant easy professional management and staff, good food and beers. We stayed here with a voucher giving us B&B in the Manor House, an extremely good value deal as the breakfasts were really good. We had a lovely evening and were able to walk from the pub for an easy 9 mile walk along the river and through some beautiful and varied Yorkshire scenery at its very best. We also received a voucher to return with a discount which we might well do but I'd ask for a different room. Room 31 was absolutely fine for somewhere to sleep and at such a good price, but was very small with over-dark gloomy decor, furniture and a strangely huge dark headboard! The bathroom was tiny and not to be recommended for any large customers! But do visit the pub and stay if it's a good price and you can see a picture of the room first.

Room Tip: Room 31 was very small and gloomy!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Lovely to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. In all our rooms we try and mix old with modern, to be inkeeping with the building. We have antique furniture with new beds and modern soft furnishings. Due to this particular room being on the ground floor, we have had to put up voile curtains to protect guests privacy, this does make the room a little darker. We have taken on board your comment about the room being 'gloomy' and have put in brighter light bulbs !
You should have been given a gift voucher on check out which gives you more flexability in room choice should you wish to visit us again.
kind regards
Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
214 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing