We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in Wharfedale.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Wharfedale.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We last visited the Red Lion in the 1960 's and were delighted that Burnsall remained unchanged
& as beautiful as ever ; we were blessed with a lovely summer's day so it was absolutely perfect.
We loved our overnight stay on 22/08/13 & were very impressed by how cleverly the Hotel had been modernised whilst retaining it's rural charm . Our bedroom / bathroom were immaculate &
very stylish ( lively!!! ) ; we had a lovely view of the river, village green and the fells beyond .
The food / service excellent with an interesting & varied menu ; breakfast was very good with a very happy service. The Red Lion is an excellent base for visiting the Yorkshire Dales ; also there are some very interesting walks along the banks of the Wharfe. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: At the front facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonh363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
You sound like you really enjoyed your stay, that's great! we do have some great scenery and walks in the area, unfortunately we can't order the weather as the views are beautiful on a clear day.
We have a great team of staff who always do their best.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    199
    94
    55
    46
See reviews for
104
458
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Clayton-le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Went to Burnsall at the weekend which is a lovely place. The bar meals were v average and I think the wedding took precedence in terms of quality for these meals. V busy and understand the pressures but ham cut with a laser i.e. I could read my paper through it and small portions do not make a great experience at the price. £5.10...My wife had a prawn and Marie Rose sauce had no butter on the bread... Training and a little value for money would be good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
you are right Burnsall is a great place, which is why we do so many weddings, however the weddings are in a seperate function room and should never detract from the service you receive, sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your meal, we pride ourselves on our home roasted ham which you are correct is cut wafer thinly, but we do pack it into the sandwiches, we feel it makes it so much easier to eat and along with salad, coleslaw and crisps we feel is good value for money. Again with respect to the prawn and marie rose sandwich you are correct we do not butter the bread as we feel the filling is moist enough, hoiwever if you had brought this to the attention of the staff they would happily have buttered it for you,as for training we pride ourselves on our friendly and always helpfull staff.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights specifically to experience the "Burnsall Feast Sports" once again, after not visiting for 30 years! It's a bit of a pain not getting to check in till 3p.m as we'd travelled fairly early to miss the worst of the Bank Holiday traffic, but fortunately the weather was good to walk about outside and there was plenty going on to amuse us. We also had a great mug of tea at Katies on the car park (50p). We were accomodated on the top floor of the Manor House which we found superb. A huge bed and comfortable furnishings were complemented by a very serviceable bathroom with excellent electric shower, whilst the toiletries were both exquisite and numerous (even with the opportunity of purchasing to avoid filching). The restarant can get very busy so it's worth booking ahead or at least asking ahead of your visit. The bar food was good and there some interesting options available. Breakfast was great with an excellent menu on offer but on our second morning we had to take this in the Manor Tea room due to wedding preparations in the hotel. A restaurant it aint! All in all, a very positive experience from this family run business. All staff were courteous and efficient. The only minor negative was that the drinks were a little pricey (£2.60 for a large dispensed/injected diet coke) Google the "Burnsall Feast Sports" which are an annual event. A great village tradition which includes children's events (sprints/egg&spoon) cocunut shy, skittles, etc. There is even a "classic" Fell Race whose history goes back over 100 yrs. You may wish to coincide any visit with this. You would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had Rm 40 on the top floor of the Manor, steep stairs but great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, the Burnsall Feast is a great day out and well worth a visit !
With regards to your comment on the tea rooms it is just that, a tea room, we only use this if we are exceptionally busy ( in this case due to bank holiday and feast) and for summer time afternoon teas and ice creams, we serve exactly the same breakfast over there as we do at the 'Lion'. hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here recently as part of a wedding party. It's not particularly cheap but the room was in dire need of modernisation. Noisy plumbing, tatty decor and a very hot room did not make it quite the quaint and relaxed experience it might have been. The fact that you can't check in until 3pm is also quite unusual and restrictive.

Staff were OK on the whole but the breakfast staff were terrible. The breakfast itself was also uninspiring and not almost inedible - tiny portions over over-salted food and a lack of fresh pastries or fruit. I also don't appreciate having plates cleared away from the table while other people are still eating!

The location was nice enough but I wouldn't stay here again. Not unless it was seriously spruced up and got some new staff anyway!

Room Tip: Try the Devonshire Fell up the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Really sorry to hear your stay was not to your liking, we do like to think of our decor being in keeping with the character of the buidings, I am not sure where you stayed Red Lion or Manor House but we frequently go round re decorating rooms and keeping them in an excellent condition.
We have had some very warm weather recently and have fans available at reception for anyone to use. Check in is from 3pm as with most hotels in the country - I haven't stayed in any hotel in the world where check in is earlier! If guests are attending a wedding we always allow them to change in the room before the event even if we haven't had chance to fully service it.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast which is all homemade and locally sourced. Our staff always try their best to give good service, pastries are on the menu as they are cooked fresh to order and we always have a selection of fresh fruit in a basket on the side, also homemade fruit compote, apricots and prunes, organice museli with dried fruit in, so plenty of fruit available.
If you had come to us with your concerns at the time we could have rectified most of your problems and your stay may have been more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The environment and landscapes are great. Rooms space is too small, no space for luggage, with simple decoration of the room. Service is correct but not the best. Food is correct without great spectatives. Is a good place to make nice walks. There is a nice river close of the hotel where you can relax. If you go with family you can make activities with children.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Rito_Yuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, sorry you felt your room was a little small, the rooms at the Manor House do tend to be smaller but the rates are too! we do pride ourselves on our food and our french head chef comes up with some great menus, we have a great team of staff, but are always trying to improve our service. You are right we have some great countryside around with lots of outdoor activities.
Regards
The girls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Manor House (rather than the pub itself) for a night recently as our friends were getting married in the Devonshire Fell just up the road.

The location is lovely, with the front of the pub facing the village green which runs down to the river. Our room was comfortable, if a little snug, although I would have expected the fairly sizeable hole in the bedroom wall to be fixed before we arrived!

Service was generally good - reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast service was a bit odd though (clearing plates away whilst we were still eating off them) and the breakfast itself was a bit stingy - one rasher of bacon and a single sausage!

Overall, the Red Lion did the job but if we were looking for a weekend away for just the two of us, I'd probably find the extra and book the Devonshire Fell instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, was the Fell full or were our rates a little more competive ? with regards to the hole in the wall, this was made the night prior to your stay and as soon as we were able we repaired it. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts but if for any reason you were not happy you should have brought this to our attention and we would gladly have given you an extra rasher of bacon and another sausage. A chance to air your views is always given on checkout as we ask every guest if they have enjoyed their stay, Iam sorry you did not feel able to tell us at the time.
Regards
The girls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed as a couple on Sunday 7th July via a Groupon Deal. The Hotel is situated amidst stunning scenery, in a beautiful valley. There is free parking at the back of the Hotel.
There is a traditional bar with real ales with lots of outside seating on the picturesque riverfront.
The room we had was in the main part and overlooked the front with a great view and had a huge, comfy bed - complete with teddy bear. It was clean and well appointed. The room was quirky and full of character with little touches which were just right - a cd player with a small selection of cd's, cafetiere, chocolates and Molton Brown smellies. The weather was hot and sunny and sticky at night but we weren't able to open any windows (apparently, due to Elf and Safety as there was a risk of jumpers!). The stairs were steep to the bedroom and there isn't a lift but staff will take up your bags.
We had a delicious evening meal, the basic ingredients being locally sourced. The service was efficient and helpful. There was a wide choice at breakfast. The wife going for the scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and freshly squeezed orange juice, which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had the full English but was disappointed with the French black pudding (obviously an acquired taste)
The Red Lion is a great place to explore the Dales from.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Many thanks for the review, pleased you enjoyed yourselves and with regards to the black pudding you are one of the very few who doesn't rave about it, but it is very much down to personal palate. Hope to see you again
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing