We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food and hospitality”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Super food and hospitality”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A few years ago my wife and I have a very average meal at this hotel and vowed never to return but as we rented a cottage at Hebden only 45 minutes walk away I decided to revisit this hostelry as part of my evening constitutional with our dog. After my first visit, I only missed one further evening. The real ale was exceptional and the staff were extremely pleasant, attentive and professional.
On our last evening on the 20th we decided to put the past behind us and book a table in the restaurant for our evening meal - which as it transpired was a good decision. The food was excellent, well presented and served by cheerful and friendly staff. My wife and I both chose the grouse for the main course which I can recommend.
Overall a very pleasant evening and experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased that you took the decision to revisit us, we pride ourselves on providing a professional but friendly service with excellent food and drink. All your lovely comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back again when you are visiting the area.
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    209
    97
    56
    47
See reviews for
110
480
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful location in a picturesque village with lovely walks and good access to local beauty spots. The service was informal and generally very good. However we did find the standard of our room to be below our expectations and not particularly good value. We have to agree with a previous reviewer who described the furnishings as old, but in a tatty way, not an antique way. Although the general standard of cleanliness was very good the huge padded headboard, saggy bed, poor quality bedding and the sticky bathroom floor meant that we didn't feel inclined to spend a lot of time in the room. Also understand another reviewers comment about picking up the ancient teddy bear by one ear to take it off the bed ! The residents lounge would also benefit from some redecoration.
The breakfast was excellent, and the evening meal was ok if a bit overpriced, although I think we were unlucky with our main course choices of steak and pigeon, both rather tough and chewy.
A shame because the location and staff are excellent, but an average rating for our room is giving it the benefit of the doubt

Room Tip: Room 17 not very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brodders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room, we try and get a good mix of antique and modern furniture, obviously this is not always to everyones taste. The bed in room 17 is a reconditioned antique bed, the mattress is brand new, all our linen is cotton and we put the teddies on the bed to dress it up and just for a little bit of quirkiness. We dont quite know why the bathroom floor was sticky, apologies. We always ask on check out if you have enjoyed your stay, like we have pointed out to other reviewers if you bring up any complaints or problems on check out then we are more than happy to deal with your issues. A shame you didnt enjoy your evening dinner, if you had have brought up the matter of your meat being tough with your waiter then we would have happily replaced your meal. Unfortunatley if people dont complain at the time how can we rectify the problem ?
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We loved every minute of our five days' stay at the Red Lion. Staff were phenomenal -- Rachel, Julie, Alice, Matt and Max all made a real impression on us. The owners as well, welcomed us warmly. We felt immediately at home, relaxed and happy. The room was lovely and comfortable -- the bathroom was terrific -- especially the long bathtub for soaking after a day's walk or bike trip. We would -- hope to -- return! All best to all our new friends from Warren and Vicki

Room Tip: We stayed five nights and were given a large room, but for us, the room was just where we slept and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
It was great to meet both of you too ! your wonderful comments have been passed on to all our staff.
Really pleased that you had such a good stay, its good to know we are getting it right and its always a pleasure to look after such lovely people.
We are blessed to live in such a fantastic part of the world and its good when our guests get to enjoy it too, you certainly made the most of the great outdoors !
Hope to be able to welcome you back to Yorkshire another time in the not too distant future
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor and all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here in wet weather, on a Living Social deal which was really good value.
The staff were all very nice and helpful, and the breakfast was very good.
There was a great friendly family atmosphere.
The evening meal was good, but maybe a little expensive for what it was.
It's in a lovely position with lovely walks from the hotel, and we would love to stay again. Our only slight problem was a draught through the gap in the bedroom door of a ground floor room in the Manor House, which also brought the slight smell of someone's cigarette with it, so would aim for a different room next time. Also the shower was very small. The room itself was fine.

Room Tip: Not ground floor by the door of the manor house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. The Living social deal represents excellent value for money. On check out you should have been given a gift voucher so that if you wish to return to us you can request the room of your choice either in The Lion, Manor House or cottages. Our hotel is non smoking throughout and we do reiterate this in all our reservation confirmation letters, we also have signs in all the bedrooms asking guests not to smoke but unfortunately some guests still smoke in their rooms, so apologies if you had a waft of smoke in your room. Re value for money with the food, we try and offer a range of prices across the board to suit all tastes and budgets, we have a bar menu which has a range of cheaper meals on it and a restaurant menu which is slightly more expensive but offers a more formal dining experience, we use only the best produce, all locally sourced where possible and everything is made in house.
We hope we can welcome you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

An absolutely lovely hotel which is set in breathtaking surroundings. The staff were very pleasant and the food was delicious. Booked in under a living social deal twice in this hotel and we were not disappointed. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad you have enjoyed your stay, as owners its always great to know we are doing a good job ! We take real pride in looking after our customers.
Looking forward to seeing you in Burnsall in the not too distant future,
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in this beautiful location. Despite the terrible weather (gale force winds and rain) there is no doubt this old characterful pub has a perfect setting in this pretty village. We found the Red Lion cosy and friendly. The restaurant was very good with a great menu of local produce and a good wine list and we enjoyed a lovely dinner. Breakfast was also very good! Our room was in the Manor House, close to the pub along the riverside path and in pleasant garden with lots of outdoor seating, which would have been lovely if the weather had been ok!!
We visited the Red Lion with a Living Social deal which, at only £40 bed and breakfast, was excellent value for money, but we would return again even without the offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Typical British weather, you can never rely on it !
Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location.We are very lucky to be able to live and work in such a beautiful place and share it with so many people.
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight on a living social deal. Bed and breakfast for £40. From the moment we purchased the deal to our arrival we had no problems. The check in was quick and easy and we were told of all of the guests facilities available to us. We had a gorgeous evening meal in the restaurant and i have to recommend the sticky toffee pudding it is delicious. The breakfast service was faultless with an adequate choice. Overall we were very impressed with our stay and look forward to returning in the future. Next time we will take our dogs as the area is ideal for long walks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfarley4157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. The sticky toffee pudding has been on our menu for 22 years ! its a great pud and very popular, we use our auntie Jennys recepie !
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion and Manor House in the not too distant future.
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing