We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
US$287
US$273
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$426
US$405
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot House(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
410
232
105
57
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
232
105
57
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housered lionthe pubthe riverresidents loungemolton brown toiletriesthe cottagesthe main hotelteddy bearevening mealbar areacar parkkippersblack puddingexcellent foodvillage greenspecials board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 855 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

clean, friendly,busy but not overwhelming or hurriedly so. The weather was lovely which helps, but enough nearby to see if not-we'd planned- An especil praise for the effort in producing spectacularly good Vegetarian menu options. And an utterly beautiful position

Room Tip: we could hear the kitchen extractor which irritates my husband- but not me- it wasn't that intrusive, and the view I could wake to every day for the rest of my life
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcs214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food, especially our vegetarian options, your comments have been passed on to the kitchen. Hope we can welcome you back to The Lion to enjoy our hotel and the surrondings.
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely boutique style hotel - high spec, very clean, "Molton Brown" toiletries.

Ate by a wood burner (recommend table 3 in the snug for couples) with a fantastic range of ales and good food. Small error on our tab was corrected very quickly without hesitation, and all the staff made us feel very welcome. Great place to stay - right on the Dales Way footpath - would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Loved the character, comfort and view from room 8. :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Love_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you so well. The Bar lounge is a favourite for many guests to dine in, its very homely especially when the fire is lit. We are in the perfect location for walking and cycling, its all on our doorstep !
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

went to the red lion for sunday lunch and ordered 2 x beef dinners at a cost of £13.95 each upon arrival of the meals i was dissapointed to say the least 1 x yorkshire pudding with a cpl of small slices of beef and 4 small sections of potatoe then a side dish of vegables that wasnt enough for one person never mind two.
the only thing edible was the beef the rest was hours old warmed up to a luke warm tempreture the gravy was like brown tasteless water.
i sent my meal back as it was cold and i got it back having been microwaved and a bit more gravy poured on making the yorkshire pudding all soggy and the potatoes even worse than they were to start.
both of us left the meals and when i went to pay the manager or owner was very obnoxious with me and said he would only charge for one meal when i said we left both meals he just threw his arms up in the air and said forget it the bill then and goodbye in a unfriendly manner.

sorry to say i would not reccomend this place to anyone and would rather go to burger king to get better food and better service

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garyridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal or service. At the time we gave you a full refund for your meals and drinks and we also wish to apologise for your unsatisfactory experience.
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nice country pub / hotel with a nice selection of beers, a half decent restaurant menu and pretty rooms. It's got free wifi, but don't expect a 3G or regular phone signal.

Service was hit and miss, their heart is in the right place but service was inconsistent. I'd expect more for £120 a night, to be honest.

Great locality, good for walkers and cyclists.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MartinDower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. One of the great things about our location is its quiet and peacful location and along with that comes a very limited phone signal, but thats not such a bad thing if you want to get away from it all. We don't just have a restaurant menu we also have a very varied bar menu and special board so that guests have options. Sorry that you found the service inconsistent, we would have been more than happy to have discussed any issues re the service you had during your stay on check out, when we would have asked if everything was ok with your stay. When customers provide any positive criticism then we are more than happy to act on it. We always try and provide value for money if this was not achieved during your stay then apologies.
We are on the doorstep of lots of cycle routes (such as the Way of the Roses) and some amazing scenic walks (Dalesway).
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A few years ago my wife and I have a very average meal at this hotel and vowed never to return but as we rented a cottage at Hebden only 45 minutes walk away I decided to revisit this hostelry as part of my evening constitutional with our dog. After my first visit, I only missed one further evening. The real ale was exceptional and the staff were extremely pleasant, attentive and professional.
On our last evening on the 20th we decided to put the past behind us and book a table in the restaurant for our evening meal - which as it transpired was a good decision. The food was excellent, well presented and served by cheerful and friendly staff. My wife and I both chose the grouse for the main course which I can recommend.
Overall a very pleasant evening and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EDRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased that you took the decision to revisit us, we pride ourselves on providing a professional but friendly service with excellent food and drink. All your lovely comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back again when you are visiting the area.
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews