We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent celebration dinner and overnight stay”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am a bit late in writing this review but better late than never

Thank you so much for the excellent care and service as shown to our friends, they all said the meal was superb, they could not have been looked after better or asked for any thing else, superb

I must also say the scrambled eggs for breakfast was the best I have tasted in years
looking forward to returning soon

Room Tip: We stayed in the Manor House, the hotel and the cottages all of which are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Many thanks for your review, glad to hear your guests enjoyed your function and you are right Freddie makes the best eggs.
Sarah, Vicky , Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

A beautiful picturesque location...just had a one night stay here in the Manor House...spotlessly clean and a with a massive bed which was really comfy...choice of Molton Brown toiletries to use ...so felt nice n pampered...only thing which spoilt it for us was a faulty radiator in our room (32) so was very cold we were glad to go over to the Red Lion @ breakfast for a warm by the lovely log fire...breakfast was very good and we were well looked after.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Many thanks for reviewing us, we have looked at the radiator and solved the air lock problem, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you again
Sarah, Vicky , Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Red Lion is a lovely boutique pub, hotel and restaurant at which we had the pleasure to stay on the first and final nights of our walk in the Dales.

We stayed in the main building itself, having been upgraded at no extra cost from the original plan of the staying in the 'Manor House'.

Our room, the same room for both sejours, was comfortable, very clean and thoughtfully decorated with modern conveniences respecting the space of the traditional, quirky style of the old building. The bathroom was modern and included luxuries such as Molton Brown products.

We ate in the restaurant for Breakfast and main meals, which was always buzzing with so many people and didn't appear to phase the attentive waiting staff who judged the leisurely speed at which we preferred to eat our meal.

In the evenings we chose to dine in the Snug, reserving our table in advance, where we experienced the delights of the main and specials menu. The food is hearty, well thought out and a touch experimental, with much to satisfy a vegetarian as well as delightful fish and quality meat dishes.

The proprietors and their team are welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. I give them full marks for their help and advice towards our three day walk and for solving a minor problem with our bill at checkout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in the future.
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our second visit within the space of a week, with this occasion including an overnight stay as well as a meal.
We stayed in the Manor house for £75 and found this to be good value for money. I agree that the rooms aren't huge but when we go away the room is simply somewhere to sleep, so in this case the room provided ample space and was tidily presented.
The residents bar is befitting of the location, and is a cosy retreat with a wood burning stove adding warmth and effect. An ideal place to relax with a pint of Timothy Taylors!
Now to the best part - the food. We had three courses in the restaurant which was simply outstanding, and excellent value for money at £60 for both of us. I had the pheasant and my partner had the lamb and it was just amazing. This was complimented by attentive and courteous staff.
We'd earmarked the Red Lion as a potential wedding venue but chose not to tell them on either occasion so we could get a unbiased view of the venue, food and staff. I'm pleased to say that all three scored top marks, so much so we've chosen this as the placed to get married!!

See you soon Red Lion!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

We are really excited to be the chosen venue for your wedding and realyy pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you soon
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Set by a wonderful stretch of the River Wharfe, this ancient hotel offered us some lovely seasonal food, cooked very precisely,- hearty, filling and classy- at lunchtime yesterday. Three of us chose game...and we weren't disappointed. It was busy but we'd reserved a table in advance. Good range of beers and wine; friendly service. A very enjoyable trip.
This is probably a regular haunt for walkers; you can eat outside, weather permitting so if you know you're going to stop for more than a drink you'd be best to reserve your table. There's a more formal dining room, with a country hotel feel to it if you'd prefer that to the pub/snug dining.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. This time of the year is great for game ! All the game on our special board is locally sourced from the surrounding estates and is extremely popular with our customers. You are indeed correct re our eating areas, we are happy to take bookings in both the bar and restaurant, both offering a different dining experience.
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion in the not to distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

stayed for 1 night on a living social deal for £40 which would have been excellent value had the room been a bit larger and a bit more cosy and welcoming, however, I am sorry to say that I really disliked it, it felt oppressive and the en suite was the tiniest I have ever encountered, the TV was very small and too high up on the wall to watch in comfort, do not think this room is worth the full price of £80.00, had we been staying for more than one night I would have wanted to upgrade to something better, this was a real shame as the food was excellent, both the evening meal and the breakfast were top notch. Staff were helpful and attentive but would mention that we were not asked if everything was to our satisfaction on departure as I would have mentioned the room was not quite what I expected, however didn't see the point of bringing it up with the receptionist on departure as there wasn't anything she could do about it, the room is what it is. The residents lounge was definitely in need of an upgrade as the chairs and sofas are all rather tatty and worn and the lighting had a gloomy feel, lamps would be an improvement for the ambience of the room. The area is lovely and the location of the pub by the riverside is gorgeous. We have used the living social deals a few times now in various places and have so far been very impressed, however, I am sorry to say in this instance the accommodation we were given in the Manor House was the worst we have stayed in.

Room Tip: room 41 in the manor house is quite small with a tiny shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michele265719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. When we bought the Manor House 6 years ago non of the rooms were en-suite, we felt that we needed to be able to offer en-suite accommodation and so at the expense of space we altered them. Some of the rooms at The Manor House are small but we feel we have decorated them to a high standard and offer lovely facilities in each room. Apologies if you feel this was not the case. The sitting room has been decorated in keeping with the building, there are lots of lights in the sitting room and also one table lamp, probably a personal preference re the sitting room.
You should have been asked on check out if you enjoyed your stay, we have spoken to everyone involved on check out to reiterate this.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meals.
Should you wish to return to us then we do have a wide array of different room types which may be more to your liking.
Kind regards
Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

recently back from our third night away in the last 12 months to the fantastic red lion . First went last November and fell in love with the location and hotel immediately. from the moment you see the bridge and beautiful river wharfe , I defy anyone not to be impressed . the staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and after checking in always a nice pint in the bar . after all the bad weather lately how lucky that it was gorgeous sunshine on our visit , so again Stephanie and I set off on a walk to the new inn and the craven arms , two fantastic pubs in the local village of appletreewick , both great places before walking slowly back for a lovely meal at the red lion . I would recommend the red lion to anyone , especially if you like walking and good food and beer . we will definitely be going back hopefully for years to come

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Many thanks for taking time out to review us, pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future
Regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
421 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,013 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing