We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked Sunday lunch for 2. Fantastic. Great service, brilliant location and one of the best Sunday lunches I've ever had. Would definitely recommend; sizeable portions and all freshly cooked a real jem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, so pleased you had a great meal, we hope to see you again soon!
Sarah, Vicky, Eleanor and Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

First stopover on the dalesway .Arrived wet and found out we had been upgraded to a cottage due to a cancellation.
Couldnt fault it 2 large bedrooms with comfortable beds and pillows. with lovely full bath and large living room.
Had a lovely meal and full english breakfast in the pub next door.
Packed lunches can be provided.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we do have alot of dales way walkers as we are right on the route, hope to see you again.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Walking the Dales Way and after reading some reviews I was almost put off from staying here......how pleased I wasn't.

Really nice place with very friendly staff, good food and great selection of local beers.
I had room 7 which overlooked the green and the river. Nice clean room with lovely outlook.
Would recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for your review, we always try to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and ask on checkout if everything has been ok, unfortunately some of our guests insist on saying nothing and then complaining through tripadvisor, Just goes to show don't always believe everything you read!
Hope to see you in the ffuture
Kind regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here one night in March, voucher deal through living social, our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely return, we stayed in the manor house, the room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed, we went to the bar in the evening and sat in the residents lounge, this had a very nice log burning fire, it had lovely old furniture very comfortable and relaxing. We ordered some food and sat in the front room area, at first we thought the food was a bit pricey but when it arrived it was value for money, the service was very good and the food was outstanding, breakfast could not be faulted, plenty of everything, Highly recommended, well done Red Lion, we will be back....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosh0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for the time you took to review us, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we do try to make all our guests stays as enjoyable as possible.
Hope to see you soon
regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Red Lion was our choice for the second night of the Way of the Roses and it was pretty near perfect. The bedrooms are quite small but the hotel is full of character and the food was superb. The staff were incredibly helpful. They were busy preparing for a wedding next day but they still took the time to make sure we were well cared for and our bikes were safely stored. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Red Lion for all cyclists. It is in such a beautiful location, I really need to go back to sample its delights at a more leisurely pace.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khiva2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. It was great to meet you all and a pleasure to look after you ! Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and everything the Lion has to offer !
Looking forward to being able to welcome you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at the nearby Devonshire Fell.

Excellent location, 3mins walk to The Devonshire Fell and right in the heart of the lovely Burnsall village.

We stayed in the annexe in Room 2. Superb room, full of character and traditional features. Very large double bed and plenty of space including a brilliant large window with fantastic views.
Tea/Coffee making facilities, bottled water and even hot chocolate!
The bathroom was surprisingly big with a sunken bath, sky light and nice shower. Molton Browns products for us to use and clean towels a plenty.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and a good selection. All members of staff were helpful and friendly.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have spent longer there! Although expensive for one night (£138) I think it was worth it and would definitely consider returning.

Thank you for a lovely stay!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your night away with us. We always try to make all our rooms as comfortable and cosy as possible along with providing all the necessaries.
If you would like a slightly cheaper deal then we do some great mid-week deals !
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion in the not too distant future.
Kind regards and many thanks
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here overnight and thankfully there was a good breakfast which combined with the lovely scenic views to make up for how disappointed we both were.
We were in room 38 which is in the Manor House on the top floor. This has to be the smallest bedroom I have ever stayed in an a hotel. The bed was a double which isn't great as majority of hotels have king size beds usually. The radiator was on at full blast which combined with the small window being closed meant the room was like a sauna.
I opened the bedroom window which opened about 8inches, but this made no difference at all as to how stuffy the room was. This resulted in me sleeping on top of the bed as it was far too hot in the room. Actually I say sleeping, I meant ' trying to sleep' as I think I eventually managed to go to sleep about 5.30am.
We got up at 7.30 and once again the radiator was pumping out heat. Luckily I had managed not to crack my head on the low ceiling beams.
There's not room to swing a cat in the room we had ( you'd struggle to fit 2 adults and a cat in there ), you're constantly ducking your head or one of you has to sit on the bed to allow the other person to pass.

There's no phone in the room, so to find out how to operate the radiators etc you have to go down the 2 flights of stairs, down the short pathway, then across the 130 yards car park back to the pub to find the reception.


Bathroom;
As tempting as it is to call this an ensuite bathroom, it's a converted cupboard space. I'm well over 6ft tall and had to duck to use the toilet. The sink is so small your toothbrush would be able to sit across the sink. This must be the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, I've stayed in hotels where the walk in shower has been bigger than this ' bathroom'. It would be nice to have a bathroom where you can easily turn around and where you have a shelf to place your wash bag and not have to rest it on the toilet seat lid.


Breakfast;
This was the best part of our stay. A good selection of cereals, generous servings of tea & coffee. Toast made using ' proper' bread none of the cheap, pre sliced mass produced rubbish. The cooked breakfast was really good, with possibly the best black pudding I have ever had on a breakfast.

We were seated with the coal fire to one side of us ( this was lit and burning away ) and a scalding hot radiator to the other side, making this a very warm room. We overheard another couple who were saying they liked the place but not enough to return, which I think sums up our opinion.

It was a relief to get home to a decent sized walk in shower and our kingsize bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oggy-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, however we would have appreciated your feedback on check out as you would have been asked if you enjoyed your stay.
The Manor House is NOT A HOTEL it is a bed and breakfast, guests have a choice at the time of booking where they wish to stay and we book them in where they have chosen ! We then send out a confirmation email which describes your room type and en-suite facilities. The email you received stated that your had booked a small double room with compact shower room, if you wished to upgrade or have a larger room type all you needed to do was ASK. Non of our rooms have double beds THEY ARE ALL KING SIZE OR SUPER KING ! you had a king bed in M38.
We ourselves are not aware of any bed and breakfasts that provide telephones in rooms.
Our heating is on 24/7, all our radiators are fully adjustable with a thermostatic control allowing guests to choose their preferred temperature.
When we purchased the Manor House 7 years ago non of the rooms were en-suite, at the expense of space in some of the rooms we had to create a shower room as that is what most guests expect. We feel we have decorated the rooms beautifully and provide all facilities a guest would require for a comfortable overnight stay.
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast, we really pride ourselves on our food. Your waitress would have asked several times if everything was ok, if you wished to have the radiator turned down. the window opened or be moved to a different table then all you had to do was ASK !
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
13.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
140 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: £70 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing