We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“compact means miniature” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“compact means miniature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in room 38 which was described as compact and all I can say is it is a good job we didn't bring the cat with us. This is a definate case of trying to extract as much money as possible by calling what should essentially be a single room a double. To access the 'wardrobe' (a hole in the wall with a clothes rail' you had to move the chair out of the way, but by doing this the other person was unable to get round the end of the bed and had to climb over it to get to the bathroom. There were no drawers to put clothes in and the lack of space was even more highlighted by the fact that the information brochure was left on the chair along with magazines, meaning that if you wanted to sit down, you would have had to put them on the floor, making a lovely hazard for someone to trip over. There was no dressing table, so I had to sit on the floor in front of the only mirror to dry hair and put make up on. The windowsill was filled with tea/coffee making things but the only place to safely plug in the kettle was on the small bedside table, where you were in danger of cracking your head on the beam as you stood up.
Then there's the question of the bathroom. Thank goodness we were both thin. To be able to lean over to brush your teeth in the miniature sink you had to stick your forehead against the wall or you would end up with toothpaste over your feet when you spat it out. Although this did cause us a certain amount of hilarity as we tried to work out ways of washing our faces in the 'sink' without getting soaking wet feet. I've honestly seen bigger bathrooms in a caravan.
Housekeeping is also somewhat lacking. The window frame had obviously not seen a good clean for a long time judging by the accumulation of black dirt and grime around the panes of glass. There had also been a pretty inept decorator at work judging by the white brush marks on the black beam in the bathroom.
Having run a 4 star B&B I know full well what the criteria is for a double room, and this definitely does not meet it. Had the management chosen to be less greedy and made it into a single, they could have had more space for things such as a dressing table/chest of drawers and had more open plan ensuite facilites which would have meant they could have fit in a full size sink.
All these things were mentioned to the management, whose attitude was one of 'well we haven't had many complaints and you could always have booked a bigger room and what we do, we do well' . Unfortunately they don't realise that the customer is the judge of what they do well and I get the feeling that they are taking advantage of being in a tourist area to think that they can rip people off with substandard facilities. If they had agreed and said that, yes, they understood the facilities were lacking and were looking at changing them, then I probably wouldn't have felt as annoyed with them. I think they may benefit from a bit of training in customer care and to remember that the customer is never wrong.
On the positive side, our sons twin room was excellent and spacious and we had a lovely family wedding.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, so sorry that your stay with us was not upto your expectations, we note that you were in one of the four very small rooms at the Manor House, we do have this recurring problem, when people book these rooms we always give an option of room size and price. A larger more expensive room was availabe to you upon booking, which you decided not to take. It is explained at the time that these rooms are compact and reiterated in the confirmation, how else can we describe these rooms? they ARE very small hence the word 'compact' and we feel that this is reflected in the price.
The housekeepers have been made aware of the window situation and this has been rectified.
We take great offence to your comment about 'ripping people off', we are a family run hotel and have been here for 22 years, we have a thriving business and this would not be so if we were in any way dishonest.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    199
    94
    55
    46
See reviews for
104
458
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We've thought long and hard about this review, and could have gone 3 or 4 overall but gave them the benefit of the doubt.

First the positives -

1/ Fantastic location. Just stunning.
2/ Some of the staff were particularly helpful.
3/ The Manor House is set back and in the morning you have birdsong, sheep, riverbank etc. The perfect start to the day.
4/ A decent nights sleep. Part good bed, part fresh air maybe.
5/ The furniture was nice and although the bathroom was compact (they were upfront about this though) the room was a decent size.

The negatives -

1/ The reception was hard to locate and a little chaotic - although it was a busy Bank Holiday weekend to be fair.
2/ The room wasn't especially clean, cobwebs in the corners and beyond the nice furniture and Molton Brown it could do with a bit of TLC (am surprised to read they were refurbished only last year).
3/ Some of the staff. They seemed to be either a credit to the hotel or the rude. All but one we encountered at Breakfast was abrupt.
4/ After the good nights sleep above we were rudely awaken by two very loud men, clearly having a laugh whilst cleaning the room next door at 8am. They were polite enough as we passed them but they were totally inappropriate in going about their job.
5/ We were really looking forward to the Breakfast after reading the reviews but it was a let down. Maybe I was wrong to order the Smoked Haddock but it took an age, in a not very busy time, and perhaps because of this the accompanying eggs and my Wife's Full Breakfast was stone cold. No-one enquired as to how it was until we'd finished and we said it was cold and we were brusquely offered more toast or tea/coffee.

Having read a fair few reviews and responses I can imagine the reply we'll get from management, but given there wasn't anyone to immediately paint a wall in the bathroom or fix the sink securely enough to the wall so your facewash doesn't fall in, I'm not sure what the point of complaint would have been. And the one time we did it was brushed off. I get the impression that the perceived 'luxuries' of the place, the Molton Brown toiletries and offering of more drink and toast at breakfast are an attempt to blind guests to the less than luxurious aspects of the rooms and service.

Overall, we were ready for the break away and maybe looking through rose tinted spectacles of the magical setting etc rather the fur coat and no knickers of the rooms and service and if we could we would have given it a 3.5 but we gave them the benefit of the doubt and clicked 4 and not 3.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Firstly many thanks for reviewing us, I will address you points one at a time:
with regards to reception being hard to locate we do agree and have just ordered some signs to be put up at the back and front of the hotel to adress this problem.
As for the cleanliness of the rooms, our housekeepers are usually very vidulant and keep everything ship shape, we apologise if a cobweb has snuck through the checks, we have spoken to the staff and asked for extra care.
Our staff are all very friendly we are sorry if you felt at any time that they were abrupt and again this has been mentioned.
The housekeepers know to be quiet when doing early rounds, I again can only apologies for this.
The breakfast should have been spot on as we always pride ourselves on this and if you were not asked half way through your meal if everythig was alright again we apologise, the staff do know to do this.
Lastly with regards to not mentioning any of the above on check out, how are we to improve our services if nobody gives us feedback on these experiences and if you deemed that complaining at the time was to no avail why do it now on a public website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Met our friends who were over from Saudi Arabia here. Lovely spot, hotel great, rooms lovely and clean, food was lovely. However when we checked out the bills had been elevated and drinks put on that we had paid for and charged on both rooms for the meal we had. Beware and check your bill. And to the owners, you may want to question the honesty of your staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
many thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and as for the error with your bill we apologise, after looking into this it was just our staff error, but I can assure you that all our staff most of which have been with us for some time are honest.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky , Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a one night stay in a compact Manor House room over the Easter break.

Firstly the location is fantastic, by the river with wonderful views and walks.

As expected on a glorious Bank Holiday the Red Lion was a hive of activity on arrival. When we eventually tracked someone down to check us in, it was a friendly reception but not exactly informative. We were sent to the Manor House but were not told what floor our room was on and there was no-one there to greet us although it was evident that housekeepers were in the building. It would have been a nice touch if a quick call had been made from reception so that we were shown where to go.
Our room was on the back overlooking the beautiful river and countryside beyond. Complete with birdsong and the sound of spring lambs this was lovely.
Although quite clean I do think to describe the rooms as 'luxury' is stretching it a bit although the word 'compact' is accurate. Yes, we had thick, fluffy towels, Molton Brown toiletries and coordinated soft furnishings but the room was dark, very small and didnt have the luxury touches of other places we have stayed. The wardrobe is an open hanging space in the small corner left where the ensuite has been squeezed in.
The compact bathroom is in fact tiny and as a size 12, just manageable. In all honesty larger guests may have to reverse into the room to use the loo as it is so narrow and you need to squeeze past the small washbasin and towel heater to get to it. Turning would not be easy. There was also no loo roll holder which I think is a fairly basic facility.
I had a very poor night's sleep, partly down to inconsiderate noise from the courtyard outside until quite late into the night. We had to close the window to dull this and I am not sure if it was guests or staff as they were gathered around the laundry room door, smoking, laughing and speaking very loudly in a foreign language. The other factor was the uncomfortable bed. After a very disturbed night I got up at 6am with terrible back ache. The plus side to this was that it was a beautiful morning so I was able to have an early morning walk along the river.
The bar was very busy in the evening and we were seated in the garden room for dinner. This was large and echoey, lacking the cosiness of the main area and the tables were very high compared to the chairs....think Dennis Waterman in the Little Britain sketches and you get the idea. The staff were busy but very polite and attentive. Our food arrived nicely presented and well cooked. Overall an acceptable evening meal if somewhat lacking in atmosphere.
Breakfast was delightful with a wonderful buffet selection and a lovely grease-free full Yorkshire. Again we were seated in the garden room and it was much better suited to breakfast than evening dinner.

My overall view of the Red Lion is that is has been well used since we last stayed a few years ago and is looking a little tired. It is a great base for walking, the staff friendly and the food is good quality. Would I stay again? The jury is out on that one based mainly on the standard of the accommodation.
That said we only paid £70 for b&b so was still good value for money. Perhaps I just prefer a little more luxury.

Room Tip: Consider the room type you book (compact means compact) and remember that rooms to the rear of the M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieWilliamson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. You are correct in saying that compact does mean compact, and that is how we describe the room upon booking. Non of the rooms at The Manor House were originally en-suite, so at the expense of space we put shower rooms in as we feel that no guest would want a room that is not en-suite. At the time of booking we always offer our guests room choices that we have available, obviously the cheaper the rooms the smaller the rooms ! If you book on-line every room size / type is displayed (along with a photo) so again you have the choice. All the rooms in The Manor House were redecorated last year and we feel they are far from tired ! Some of the rooms are small but we have tried to squeeze in everything a guest would require for a comfortable stay. We have floor standing toilet roll holders not the ones attached to the wall. We have never described The Manor House or Red Lion as 'luxury', we advertise the Manor House as a B&B and the Lion as an inn with rooms.
You should have been told which floor you were on and we have drawn this to our staffs attention, apologies for this. We dont physically man The Manor House and so the meet and greet is done at The Lion.
We experienced an exceedingly busy bank holdiay but what we always do for our guests is ask at the time of booking or via the booking confirmation if they would like a table for dinner, Obviously its first come first served re table choice and due to it being so busy we could not offer you anything in the main bar area and so used our river and garden rooms. Sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy the atmosphere, if you wish to dine with us again then please give us plenty of notice and we will try to get you a table of your preference.
Our breakfast is great, glad to hear you enjoyed it.
Sorry to hear about the noise at the rear of the building, it was a particularly busy weekend in Burnsall with lots of people milling around and 'enjoying themselves' and so it is difficult to police our residents and guests. Im not sure which room you were in so we can not check which mattress was uncomfortable, we do ask on check out if everything has been ok but if we are'nt told then its very difficult for us to rectify any problems you may have encountered.
We feel £70.00 is exceedingly good value for money and had you wanted a little more of a 'luxurious' stay then you could have opted for a more expensive / bigger room (if available). That aside we always pride ourselves on a warm welcome, good food and a friendly service.
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We ate here last night. Lovely meal - we had the venison from the specials board which was really good. Not the best value - £90.00 for 2; we both had 3 courses, 2 soft drinks and 2 glasses of wine. Still, you get what you pay for and we were happy to tip. We ate in the bar area but that was fine as we had been out walking for the day and weren't really dressed for the restaurant. You need to book if you want formal dining in the restaurant.

Room Tip: You need to book in the restaurant if that's where you want to eat in the evening. It's qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really great to hear you enjoyed your meal, our venison is from the Bolton Abbey estate and is delicious ! We try and offer on all our menus a range of prices to suit peoples wallets but always delivering high quality food.
You can make a reservation in the restaurant or bar to suit your requirements.
Hope to be able to welcome you back
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate our son's wedding at the hotel. Although we were only holding the ceremony and a toast after the wedding and not the reception itself at the hotel, (our son and his fiancee hired the village hall for the whole weekend for the reception) the staff could not have been more friendly, welcoming or helpful. They even advised us as to the correct way to fix the men's buttonholes!
We stayed in one of the cottages belonging to the hotel which are located right on the river, with wonderful views of the bridge and the surrounding hills. The cottages have two bedrooms and upstairs sitting rooms to take advantage of the views. The toast after the wedding took place on a riverside terrace, reserved for our private use, which was a great start to the celebrations. The night before, we had hosted a dinner for relatives and friends in the hotel dining room - the food was delicious and the service impeccable. All in all, it was a memorable weekend and a fantastic wedding venue.

Room Tip: Choose a room or cottage with a river view, which is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. You are absolutely right we are in the most
wonderful part of the country, the views and location are fabulous ! how lucky are we !
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your son and daughter in-law had a fab time, it was a pleasure to look after you all !
Hope to be able to welcome you all back in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here as a well earned treat. We were not disappointed. Stopped in room 9 in the main part. Room on the small side but very comfortable. Had a lovely view of the river and village. We had a meal in the pub. The food and service couldn't be faulted. Some reviews have said that food on the pricey side. I didn't think this was the case as it is much better than your average pub food. A big thank you to the red lion and we will be back in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, we always endeavour to please !
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing