We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discount mid-week break”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Red Lion in mid-March 2014 on a discounted two night break. We had a room in the Manor House which is an annex to the hotel. The room (on the attic floor) was small but a king-size bed was thoughtfully provided. i would always substitute a bit of floor space for more elbow room in bed - well-done for this. The bathroom however was the smallest I've ever seen being only about 70cm wide. The shower was at one end, the loo at the other and the smallest basin I've ever seen in the middle. I understand the difficulty with converting a Victorian property into en-suite accommodation, but it has been done successfully elsewhere and I think this conversion has been squeezed just that little bit too much.
We had dinner in the hotel on the first night of our stay and what a disappointment; an long wait, marginal quality, badly prepared and expensive. The starter should really have been sent back to the kitchen but we'd waited for so long we were hungry enough to make do. Thankfully we had booked elsewhere for the second night. Bizarrely, the breakfast on both days was exceptionally good - maybe the evening chef was having a bad day!!!
If you can get a discount deal (we paid £85 for two night) then I could recommend the accommodation, but I'd consider booking somewhere else for dinner. At the fully price of £80 per night, I think there are much better options within a ten mile radius.

Room Tip: Check the size of the bathroom as I believe some are acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Our mid-week deal from our E-flyer at the Manor House is great value for money, starting at only £42.50 per night BB for 2. As you state re the en-suite shower rooms in the Manor House bedrooms, 4 are very small but we do state this at the time of booking. We try and provide though all the facilities you would need for an overnight stay.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your evening meal ! We can do very little if you don't say anything on the night or on check out, not sure what you ate so difficult for us to comment. We pride ourselves on our food and have an excellent reputation for providing high quality, locally sourced, homemade food, apologies if we did not achieve this.
If you're back in the area we'd love you to pop in and try us again !
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We held our wedding day at the Red Lion on 3rd May and it was everything we had wished for! We wanted a relaxed, informal day with friends, family, great food and wine in a beautiful setting and this is what we got! I think its worth mentioning that if you want a swanky large hotel type wedding where you are treated like royalty for the day then this is probably not the right place for you but if you want a high quality, relaxed day without the pretence then The Red Lion in ideal. Sarah and Joel were present throughout the wedding planning and day and worked hard to make our day special. They are just lovely people and made us feel so relaxed on the morning of the wedding. All staff were lovely to us and took a genuine interest in our day. So many guests commented on the quality of the food - it was delicious! Our 70 guests had the choice of leek and potato soup or smoked salmon, chicken stuffed with Yorkshire blue cheese wrapped in Parma ham or braised shoulder of lamb and then sticky toffee pudding or ice cream. We really liked that guests were able to choose what they would like. In the evening we requested mini fish and chips in cones and despite not being on the "wedding menu" it wasn't a problem and these were huge hit with the guests - just gutted I didn't get to try any as I was so full! We stayed for a couple of days after the wedding and again, we couldn't fault the room (honeymoon suite, room 12, is lovely - especially the bathroom), breakfasts and evening meals. We were very fortunate with the weather and has a lovely sunny day which showed off Burnsall in all its beauty. We will be sure to return to Burnsall for many years to come and wouldn't hesitate about recommending holding a wedding at the Red Lion. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Andrew and Rachel,
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We always endeavour to make all our wedding couples day as happy and as perfect as possible, it is important to us to make your day special and I'm glad we achieved this !
You were all a pleasure to look after and we look forward to being able to welcome you to The Lion for many years to come.
Kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have been going to the Red Lion on and off for 40 years. The food, as always, is excellent and the staff always helpful. The rooms are in keeping with the hotel and are pleasantly done out. However, I would rather have had a bathroom with no mould round the bath and on the grouting, than a bear to "adopt" on the bed. Similarly, the downstairs wasn't very clean. Dirty glasses left in the lounge for hours, tables unwashed. Had it been very busy one could have forgiven this, but it was a quiet Friday night. It has a tired seedy air about it now. I think someone needs to look round with a fresh eye and pay attention to the little things.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased you enjoyed our food and our service and staff, with regards to your bathroom, we do re seal the baths as often as possible and will pay particular attention to this room.
The staff are always instructed to check on the residents lounge for any glasses/cups etc and we apologise if this was not the case during your stay.
We are constantly updating the hotel and always try to see it from the customers perspective, we are sure that there is not a hotel in the country that does not have something that always needs doing!
finally having never been anywhere 'seedy' we are not sure what you mean!
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Possibly the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My wife and I shared a double room and to be frank it would have been a tight fit if there had just been a single bed in the room. With a double bed the room felt very cramped.
The bathroom was just a joke. Virtually impossible to use the toilet in what was a confined space.
For the price paid we both feel this was a poor room at a premium price.
The rest of the hotel was fine however. The bar, restaurant and beer garden are all wonderful. Just let down by our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
3  Thank gavlarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. We always give guests at the time of booking room availability and prices, the smallest rooms being the cheapest. We have just 4 of this room type, you can look at any of our bedrooms on our website before booking. You are advised at the time of booking and in your confirmation email that this room is compact. We issue all our guests on check out a discount voucher to be used in any of our 25 bedrooms and 5 cottages, should you wish to return you can use this in the room of your choice. Glad you enjoyed everything else !
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in room 38 which was described as compact and all I can say is it is a good job we didn't bring the cat with us. This is a definate case of trying to extract as much money as possible by calling what should essentially be a single room a double. To access the 'wardrobe' (a hole in the wall with a clothes rail' you had to move the chair out of the way, but by doing this the other person was unable to get round the end of the bed and had to climb over it to get to the bathroom. There were no drawers to put clothes in and the lack of space was even more highlighted by the fact that the information brochure was left on the chair along with magazines, meaning that if you wanted to sit down, you would have had to put them on the floor, making a lovely hazard for someone to trip over. There was no dressing table, so I had to sit on the floor in front of the only mirror to dry hair and put make up on. The windowsill was filled with tea/coffee making things but the only place to safely plug in the kettle was on the small bedside table, where you were in danger of cracking your head on the beam as you stood up.
Then there's the question of the bathroom. Thank goodness we were both thin. To be able to lean over to brush your teeth in the miniature sink you had to stick your forehead against the wall or you would end up with toothpaste over your feet when you spat it out. Although this did cause us a certain amount of hilarity as we tried to work out ways of washing our faces in the 'sink' without getting soaking wet feet. I've honestly seen bigger bathrooms in a caravan.
Housekeeping is also somewhat lacking. The window frame had obviously not seen a good clean for a long time judging by the accumulation of black dirt and grime around the panes of glass. There had also been a pretty inept decorator at work judging by the white brush marks on the black beam in the bathroom.
Having run a 4 star B&B I know full well what the criteria is for a double room, and this definitely does not meet it. Had the management chosen to be less greedy and made it into a single, they could have had more space for things such as a dressing table/chest of drawers and had more open plan ensuite facilites which would have meant they could have fit in a full size sink.
All these things were mentioned to the management, whose attitude was one of 'well we haven't had many complaints and you could always have booked a bigger room and what we do, we do well' . Unfortunately they don't realise that the customer is the judge of what they do well and I get the feeling that they are taking advantage of being in a tourist area to think that they can rip people off with substandard facilities. If they had agreed and said that, yes, they understood the facilities were lacking and were looking at changing them, then I probably wouldn't have felt as annoyed with them. I think they may benefit from a bit of training in customer care and to remember that the customer is never wrong.
On the positive side, our sons twin room was excellent and spacious and we had a lovely family wedding.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your review, so sorry that your stay with us was not upto your expectations, we note that you were in one of the four very small rooms at the Manor House, we do have this recurring problem, when people book these rooms we always give an option of room size and price. A larger more expensive room was availabe to you upon booking, which you decided not to take. It is explained at the time that these rooms are compact and reiterated in the confirmation, how else can we describe these rooms? they ARE very small hence the word 'compact' and we feel that this is reflected in the price.
The housekeepers have been made aware of the window situation and this has been rectified.
We take great offence to your comment about 'ripping people off', we are a family run hotel and have been here for 22 years, we have a thriving business and this would not be so if we were in any way dishonest.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We've thought long and hard about this review, and could have gone 3 or 4 overall but gave them the benefit of the doubt.

First the positives -

1/ Fantastic location. Just stunning.
2/ Some of the staff were particularly helpful.
3/ The Manor House is set back and in the morning you have birdsong, sheep, riverbank etc. The perfect start to the day.
4/ A decent nights sleep. Part good bed, part fresh air maybe.
5/ The furniture was nice and although the bathroom was compact (they were upfront about this though) the room was a decent size.

The negatives -

1/ The reception was hard to locate and a little chaotic - although it was a busy Bank Holiday weekend to be fair.
2/ The room wasn't especially clean, cobwebs in the corners and beyond the nice furniture and Molton Brown it could do with a bit of TLC (am surprised to read they were refurbished only last year).
3/ Some of the staff. They seemed to be either a credit to the hotel or the rude. All but one we encountered at Breakfast was abrupt.
4/ After the good nights sleep above we were rudely awaken by two very loud men, clearly having a laugh whilst cleaning the room next door at 8am. They were polite enough as we passed them but they were totally inappropriate in going about their job.
5/ We were really looking forward to the Breakfast after reading the reviews but it was a let down. Maybe I was wrong to order the Smoked Haddock but it took an age, in a not very busy time, and perhaps because of this the accompanying eggs and my Wife's Full Breakfast was stone cold. No-one enquired as to how it was until we'd finished and we said it was cold and we were brusquely offered more toast or tea/coffee.

Having read a fair few reviews and responses I can imagine the reply we'll get from management, but given there wasn't anyone to immediately paint a wall in the bathroom or fix the sink securely enough to the wall so your facewash doesn't fall in, I'm not sure what the point of complaint would have been. And the one time we did it was brushed off. I get the impression that the perceived 'luxuries' of the place, the Molton Brown toiletries and offering of more drink and toast at breakfast are an attempt to blind guests to the less than luxurious aspects of the rooms and service.

Overall, we were ready for the break away and maybe looking through rose tinted spectacles of the magical setting etc rather the fur coat and no knickers of the rooms and service and if we could we would have given it a 3.5 but we gave them the benefit of the doubt and clicked 4 and not 3.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Firstly many thanks for reviewing us, I will address you points one at a time:
with regards to reception being hard to locate we do agree and have just ordered some signs to be put up at the back and front of the hotel to adress this problem.
As for the cleanliness of the rooms, our housekeepers are usually very vidulant and keep everything ship shape, we apologise if a cobweb has snuck through the checks, we have spoken to the staff and asked for extra care.
Our staff are all very friendly we are sorry if you felt at any time that they were abrupt and again this has been mentioned.
The housekeepers know to be quiet when doing early rounds, I again can only apologies for this.
The breakfast should have been spot on as we always pride ourselves on this and if you were not asked half way through your meal if everythig was alright again we apologise, the staff do know to do this.
Lastly with regards to not mentioning any of the above on check out, how are we to improve our services if nobody gives us feedback on these experiences and if you deemed that complaining at the time was to no avail why do it now on a public website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Met our friends who were over from Saudi Arabia here. Lovely spot, hotel great, rooms lovely and clean, food was lovely. However when we checked out the bills had been elevated and drinks put on that we had paid for and charged on both rooms for the meal we had. Beware and check your bill. And to the owners, you may want to question the honesty of your staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

many thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and as for the error with your bill we apologise, after looking into this it was just our staff error, but I can assure you that all our staff most of which have been with us for some time are honest.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky , Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
381 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: £69 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing