We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We held our wedding here on 17th April and could not have been happier with how it went. Huge thanks to Sarah & Joel who were amazing throughout the whole booking/organising process.
We stayed two nights at the Lion, the room (12) was large and had an amazing bathroom, breakfast on both mornings was lovely, plenty of choice and delicious! The food on our wedding day was perfect, fish & chip canapés were a firm favourite with everyone and the main 3 course meal was delicious (especially the sticky toffee pudding!).
Every staff member we came into contact with on the day was friendly, approachable & helpful.
We could not have wished for a more perfect location for our perfect day. We will certainly be back very soon as will lots of our family members who fell in love with Burnsall.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 12 is large with great views of the village & river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, so pleased we were able to give you such a memorable day, We look forward to seeing you again
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    199
    94
    55
    46
See reviews for
104
458
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
180 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May for a wedding.

Check in for the cottage was simple and straight forward, the chap behind the desk quickly showed us to the cottage.

The cottage was moments away from the main hotel, and in an ideal location directly next to the river.

The cottage is in an upside down style, bedrooms on the ground floor and living space/kitchen up stairs. This works out really well, with lovely views out of the windows as you have breakfast!

It's all spotless, and the rooms well maintained with everything you could need for a short break.

We were self catering, however took a bar meal one evening, and the catering at the wedding the following day. The food was excellent on each occasion, with good quality ingredients and ample portions.

All the staff at the hotel that we spoke with were all friendly, even when it got really busy and the pressure was on!

The wedding was very well organised, and was really enjoyable.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time there, and would go back when we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, the cottages are great as you have that bit more space and they are in an enviable position, really pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon hull
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

a warm welcome by staff shown to room which was spotless and clean ,and very nice., a lot of good walks from the hotel the meal we had in the restaurant was first class with a good menu the hotel is set in a quiet dales village

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The real positive about our one night visit was the restaurant. The meal was top class in every way, wonderful venison and well cooked fish with suitable accompaniments. Puddings delightful. Service faultless in every way. The dining room has been tastefully redecorated since our last visit and is a very pleasant room to dine in. We were not impressed by the bowl of tinned/frozen strawberries at breakfast! Surely fresh strawberries can be found?

This is a very old hotel and the rooms therefore reflect this. Our room was very nice with a beautiful view and a well modernised bathroom. We did however, feel that the bedding was a little down at heel, and particularly the pillows. I feel that this aspect is one of the most important, along with cleanliness and quiet, and feel that the hotel let itself down a bit there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosenau65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Lovely to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and meal, the venison is a very popular dish ! sourced from Bolton Abbey.
Re frozen / tinned strawberries, we presume you mean our breakfast compote ? as we don't have just strawberries on our buffet table ! Our compote is a mix of strawberries, blackberries and apples. Yes they are frozen and then cooked in a little sugar, this has to be as these fruits aren't seasonal all year round.
We will take a look at our bedding again and do so several times a year, not sure from your comments if you were disappointed with the cleanliness and quiet also? If you were disappointed with this too then we would have been more than happy to have discussed this on check out with you.
Hope to be able to welcome you to the Lion again
kind regards
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from a nights stay at the Red Lion. What a disappointment. We paid £115. for a very small twin bedded room. It was badly in need of refurbishment, old fashioned curtains,chair,pictures and CDs. The beds didnt look very clean, offwhite duvet covers and one of them had not been ironed. It was the worst room we have stayed in for a long time. The cost should have been £50 to £60 not £115.
The reception area was horrible too narrow and very untidy. We had difficulty juggling bags and checking in.
However, evening meal was good - shame about the black napkins.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your room. All our soft furnishings are of the highest quality, all our curtains / cushions are all designer fabrics and we feel look beautiful ! The majority of our furniture and pictures are antique and have been collected over our 22 years of ownership, we have though incorporated all modern amenities required. How we have decorated our rooms is a personal taste and obviously not to your liking, Glad you enjoyed your evening meal but not our black napkins ! The complaint re the colour of our napkins is a first, we like them and don't plan on changing them ! We do also have red napkins and could have given you one of those had you asked !
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just back from another fantastic night away at the red lion . Stephanie and I have been a few times now and love it every time . We stayed in the manor house this time as a wedding was on and room 31 was the only one left . Although a bit small it was still very nice as usual , we would certainly stay in it again . The area is absolutely stunning and after a couple of pints in the lion we took the bus to grassington , an absolute bargain at £2 each return ! After a couple oaf hours in grassington including a walk down by Linton falls where I proposed to Stephanie , and she accepted we caught the bus back to burnsall . We then walked to our favourite pub in appletreewick in the pouring rain , absolutely beautiful walk by river to the craven arms before walking back to the red lion for a lovely meal . I had scampi and Stephanie had swordfish both of which were excellent . As always the staff were friendly and helpful , this will always be one of our favourite places for many reasons , we will hopefully return many times . Just a point about some of the reviews about the manor house , it's obviously better it stay in the red lion but don't let some reviews put you off staying in the manor house . We found it to be perfectly ok and you would be denying yourself a visit to a wonderful place .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Firstly congratulations on your engagement, lovely news.
You are right in the fact that people shouldn't be put off with previous reviews re The Manor House, they are brilliant BB rooms, immaculately presented, amazing location and fantastic value for money ! If people want something a little more so then we have bigger more luxurious rooms in The Lion.
We are in a great location for walking and right from our doorstop ! We have a selection of maps in our office and we also all have a wealth of knowledge of local walks !
Glad you enjoyed your meal and that you were well looked after.
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trawden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a table in the bar area on a Saturday night and on arrival loved the hustle and bustle of the place.
We were shown to our table and the service was excellent all night. My partner had the Scallops, Chicken and Leek pie and Sticky Toffee Pudding and I had Ham Hock, Whole Plaice and Bread and Butter Pudding. All the meals were top quality with special mention going to the Ham Hock starter which was truly divine and the Bread and Butter Pudding which even my girlfriend tried and loved.
I had a pint of Wainwrights and two large glasses of Shiraz and my partner had two glasses of lime and soda water (she was driving), our bill came to £72 which we found very reasonable.
Oh and the bread and jug of water that came before our meals was a nice touch.
Looking forward to our next visit where a walk in the Dales will hopefully build up a nice appetite to quench in your lovely Inn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank djcoops54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, so pleased you enjoyed our service and your food, hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing