We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Called in on the way home from 2 days in the dales , for evening meal . Being a Saturday and glorious weather as to be expected the place was busy and a wedding was in process . However the staff were very helpful and found us a table , the main meals and desert we had were as good as any top class london restaurant but half the cost . The only down side is my wife insists I take her there to stay next time as she enjoyed it so much .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2008joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves on your 1st visit and hope you will enjoy your 2nd just as much.
Many thanks
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    201
    97
    55
    47
See reviews for
107
463
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

As locals, we visit the Red Lion at Burnsall on a frequent basis. We take a pleasant walk along the river and then call for Sunday lunch and a beer. We've noticed on recent visits that some of the bar staff can be quite abrupt and appear to try be-little customers, ourselves included. Some of the comments came from both old and young members of staff. Quite honestly, we were looking at The Red Lion, as a potential reception venue for our wedding. Following our recent visits we will be taking our custom elsewhere, I would not want any of my guests to be subjected to rudeness.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mrhappy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
firstly thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very sorry if you felt our staff were anything other than courteous with you, we can assure you that nobody is trying to belittle you. We have spoken to all staff in regards to this matter.
Many thanks
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came to Burnsall for a Magna Carta gig in the village hall, so we were delighted to find such a gorgeous place five minutes' walk from the venue. The Red Lion is in the most glorious location right by the River Wharfe in the heart of this Dales village which is a great centre for walking and cycling if you are into those activities.

The Red Lion is a comfortable hotel - we had Room 1 on the first floor in the annexe which was large with antique furniture and a big modern bathroom en-suite. The floor boards were very creaky, so we were glad not to be in the room underneath. Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant and was extremely good with a range of cooked dishes to choose from plus a buffet for fruit and cereals. Toast is from proper loaves, not pre-sliced!

The Red Lion is also a pub and restaurant. We ate in the bar our first night and were very impressed with the quality of the cooking. In addition to the bar menu which has the usual pub grub, there is a blackboard with daily specials which are also on offer in the restaurant. First-class food at very reasonable prices. Good beer, too.

This is a family-run place and it shows. The staff are absolutely charming and nothing fazes them, not even a bunch of musicians demanding a late evening dinner after rehearsals. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairweathersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. It was great to have so many Magna Carta fans in the hotel / pub that night, it made for a great atmosphere !
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and food, we have passed on all your lovely comments to everyone involved, its great to know we are getting it right !
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the old police house but although a good size it was shabby and mucky. The cooker was filthy and the kitchen floor sticky. The furniture was dirty and worn in the living room and the bedrooms sparsely furnished eg no chair in the double room and only one bedside table. This was a shame as the hotel and food was really good. No real excuse for a holiday let in such a nice location. Yuk!

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinky049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are really sorry to hear that you found the Old Police House was shabby and mucky. We take great pride in keeping all our property's very clean and up to date, you stayed with us for 3 nights and at any point had you wanted us to come round and give it another clean then we would have happily done so. On check out I asked if everything was ok ? you mentioned about the oven and chest of draws, I tried to chat with you but you put your key down and walked off, so very difficult for us to have spoken about your issues. We can do very little when people complain on trip advisor and not actually face to face !
We gave the oven a thorough clean on check out as you suggested.
Glad you enjoyed our location and hospitality at the hotel.
kind regards
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We held our wedding here on 17th April and could not have been happier with how it went. Huge thanks to Sarah & Joel who were amazing throughout the whole booking/organising process.
We stayed two nights at the Lion, the room (12) was large and had an amazing bathroom, breakfast on both mornings was lovely, plenty of choice and delicious! The food on our wedding day was perfect, fish & chip canapés were a firm favourite with everyone and the main 3 course meal was delicious (especially the sticky toffee pudding!).
Every staff member we came into contact with on the day was friendly, approachable & helpful.
We could not have wished for a more perfect location for our perfect day. We will certainly be back very soon as will lots of our family members who fell in love with Burnsall.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 12 is large with great views of the village & river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, so pleased we were able to give you such a memorable day, We look forward to seeing you again
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May for a wedding.

Check in for the cottage was simple and straight forward, the chap behind the desk quickly showed us to the cottage.

The cottage was moments away from the main hotel, and in an ideal location directly next to the river.

The cottage is in an upside down style, bedrooms on the ground floor and living space/kitchen up stairs. This works out really well, with lovely views out of the windows as you have breakfast!

It's all spotless, and the rooms well maintained with everything you could need for a short break.

We were self catering, however took a bar meal one evening, and the catering at the wedding the following day. The food was excellent on each occasion, with good quality ingredients and ample portions.

All the staff at the hotel that we spoke with were all friendly, even when it got really busy and the pressure was on!

The wedding was very well organised, and was really enjoyable.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time there, and would go back when we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, the cottages are great as you have that bit more space and they are in an enviable position, really pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon hull
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

a warm welcome by staff shown to room which was spotless and clean ,and very nice., a lot of good walks from the hotel the meal we had in the restaurant was first class with a good menu the hotel is set in a quiet dales village

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing