We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great return to the Red Lion”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great return to the Red Lion”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Red Lion is somewhere we always go back to, even if it's not as often as we'd like. I could waste your time by writing a detailed analysis of everything that's right or wrong with the place, but if you want a traditional country hotel in a great location, full of Yorkshire charm, then this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased you like us and keep coming back, we hope you continue to do so!
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    209
    97
    56
    47
See reviews for
110
480
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights, in their manor house rooms, when at a friend's wedding.

The beds were comfortable, and the facilities and amenities were good.

No lift in the building, which was a short walk from where breakfast is served, so might make it difficult for some.

Room did tend to get a little warm, as small windows hardly opened.

Breakfast was very good.

I would possibly stay there again, and, if in the area, suggest that you might, particularly if you walk or ride a bike.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the manor house are quieter than at the front, or than in the inn itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, pleased you liked our location, food and service. The Manor House only has 11 rooms and hardly qualifies for a lift, however we are always more than happy to carry bags over for any guests and if anyone who is no too nimble on their pins lets us know we always allocate the most appropriate room.
We do hope to see you again
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
needham market
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Red lion is a well run establishment, we had a great room with a bath and a walk in shower, plus a settee.The restaurant is well run and and the food is very good indeed.The breakfast is first class with a big choice all served by excellent staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackermean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your time in writing the review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

just returned from a two night B&B stay, and we too were upgraded to a cottage, which had all the comforts of home. Very comfortable and spacious.
We had some gorgeous views over the River Wharfe and there is some nice walks both up and down stream. The staff were very polite and very helpful.
The breakfast was very, very nice and the black pudding, which to my surprise was french, was probably the best i've tasted.
The Pub had a lovely country feel to it, and the beer garden with the views over the river, made a pint of good cask ale taste excellent.
A big thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, we cant find anything to rival the black pudding, it is one of the very few things that isn't locally made, but we dare anyone to try to find better!
The cottages are right on the river and great if you are staying for a few nights as they give you more space.
Glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely hotel, we were upgraded to a cottage which was brilliant lovely and spacious. Excellent food and the breakfast was amazing best black pudding ever. There are some nice river walks and the scenery is stunning, would highly recommend the hotel. Hoping to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesjames186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your visit, the cottages are great for a few nights they just give you a little more space and we always upgrade if we can!
Hope to see you again
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have often travelled past the Red Lion but never stopped until today as we were not sure about parking, however there is adequate parking for patrons at the rear, outside covered tables and a pleasant river walk. Very nice waitress, good food and nice ambience. I think some one should look at the neglected plants or have them changed, but I am a keen gardener so notice these things. Strangely our napkins were damp but she quickly changed them for us. Overall I am very pleased we stopped for lunch and would certainly call here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us, it just sounds like one of the housekeepers was a little over zealous in emptying the tumble dryer that day, sorry!
Hope to see you again
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Called in on the way home from 2 days in the dales , for evening meal . Being a Saturday and glorious weather as to be expected the place was busy and a wedding was in process . However the staff were very helpful and found us a table , the main meals and desert we had were as good as any top class london restaurant but half the cost . The only down side is my wife insists I take her there to stay next time as she enjoyed it so much .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2008joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves on your 1st visit and hope you will enjoy your 2nd just as much.
Many thanks
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing