We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our fourth stay at The Red Lion.
We called on the off chance to see if they had a room available and the lady on the reception offered a Double Room with Bed & Breakfast at a reasonable rate. She then offered us a larger room with lovely views at the same price, which was very kind!
This place is very relaxing. All staff are pleasant.
The location is amazing - positioned next to the river and bridge with views of the hills and village at the front.
I must add that the food in the evening was superb. I was pleasantly surpised how good it was and the service was very good too.
All in all, a very enjoyable end to our trip to Yorkshire and we look forward to visiting again in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have superb views
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 150Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

many thanks for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay, the rooms on the front of the hotel all look over the river, village green and fell, it is an amazing view.
Hope to see you soon.
regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were staying in the village so made a booking for dinner at the the Red Lion. Food was very nice and some interesting dishes. We liked it so much that we made a repeat booking the following evening.

Decent portions, good choice, pleasant service. reasonable prices - and all within walking distance of the cottage!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we love that you enjoyed your meals with us, we always try to keep our menus interesting.
Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were driving through Yorkshire and this was the one night we had nowhere booked in advance. A local pub gave me a list of a handfull of B&Bs in local towns, and by sheer luck they had room for us here. The two-level place right on the river was AMAZING. The river and medieval bridge are right there. The food is great, the people are friendly, and you can take a nice walk along a Viking-era path that follows the river, with fluffy white sheep and beautiful trees. It was a dream, really. I wish we could have stayed an additional day to explore some more.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the splurge, go for one of the split-level places overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank envprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments, I think you stayed in one of the cottages on the river, they do have great views. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I visited with a group of "girls" for a dinner then overnight stay. The dinner was excellent with a good choice for each course; everyone enjoyed what they had chosen, but we felt that the wines were quite expensive for the quality. Breakfast was also excellent & my choice of smoked salmon & scrambled egg was delicious. The staff were all pleasant & efficient. The whole place is full of character, the stairs so old & uneven we had the feeling we were over the limit before touching a drop ! The bedrooms were well equipped & comfortable.
I would certainly recommend a stay here for anyone looking for somewhere a bit out of the ordinary in beautiful countryside; I would be very happy to return for just a meal or a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedateskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Many thanks for reviewing us, we are pleased you liked our establishment but sorry that you didn't feel the wines were suitably priced, we do have both a restaurant wine list and bar wine list offering a more affordable option, I do hope you were shown both!
We hope you will pay us a visit in the near future.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stopped by a few weeks ago around seven on a Sunday and it was the best meal I have had this year. The staff were great, drinks were great and the food even better! The menu offered good choices, there was something for everyone and the specials were extremely well thought out. I can't recommend it enough!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GReviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We decided to visit the Red Lion for Sunday Lunch and checked the reviews on Tripadvisor, which mainly seemed to be favourable, but alas we found it to be well below the standard we expected.

Prices

2 Glasses of wine and a pint of bitter almost £15 Excessive
Roast Beef, Yorkshire Pudding and a couple of roast potato £14.95
Food was OK but not exceptional but it is a simple dish and is about £5 more than any other pub in the area would charge.

Bar Area

Chaotic. When we arrived the bottom area of the bar was covered with 40 or 50 dirty glasses and they were still there when we left. No one made any effort to move them but simply added to them. It looked as if no one cared.

Staff

I ordered 2 wine with soda and a beer. There was no option as to whether I wanted small medium or large, just a large wine in a glass which left little room for the soda. I asked if we could have larger glasses and the barman brought out 2 pint glasses and started to pour the wine into them. When I asked him if he thought 2 ladies would want to drink wine from a pint mug, his reply was..its all we've got do you want it or not. Had I been on my own I would have walked out at this point.

On paying the bill the bar manager made no conversation nor did he ask if everything was OK. With a look on his face that seemed to say..I don't want to be here, he simply took the money and moved on to the next person again with a look of boredom.

Next time we visit Burnsall we'll bring a picnic as we won't return to this overrated establishment

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review us, I will address each issue you have raised,
the 2 glasses of wine were large glasses and this is roughly 1/3 of a bottle, we do not think we charge excessively for this or our beer @ £3.40, the prices are all on a price list hung on the wall at the bar, you were free to peruse this prior to ordering. A roast dinner at £14.95 is not out of keeping with any local or indeed national dining establishment, the only place we know of locally where you can get a roast dinner for under £10 is Weatherspoons in Skipton, (not of the same quality as we serve).
The bar in fact all the village on a sunny Sunday afternoon is packed, we do get VERY busy, the glasses at the end of the bar are never ending, the bar staff would have been constantly washing them, but as quickly as they are washed we have more, we would never leave glasses unwashed all afternoon!
With regards to being offered a pint glass for your wine and soda this is the only larger glass we would have after a large wine glass, therefore the barman could not offer anything else !
On paying your bill you should have been asked if everything was ok. all our staff know to ask this and we apologise if this was not the case, we will address this problem and speak to the staff involved. When we are busy we do try to serve as many people as quickly as possible so again we apologise if he moved onto the next customer too soon.
Finally Burnsall is a lovely village to come for a picnic!
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a fine evening meal here. Service was excellent with friendly and attentive staff. Only four stars though as our food was slow to appear. In mitigation they came and apologised and were obviously extremely busy. When it arrived it was excellent. Well above the standard I expect for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for your review, great to hear you enjoyed your meal, we are very popular and do get really busy, apologies if you had to wait longer than normal. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
214 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing