We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent breakfast but room for improvement in accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast but room for improvement in accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding at the Devonshire fell at the weekend. The location is perfect, right on the river in the beautiful village of Burnsall. It looks lovely from outside. The breakfast was excellent and was served in a nice bright and spacious room.

Areas I feel could be improved are as follows:

The manor house - obviously its an old and characterful building but we do think it would benefit from a new mattress and new carpets. Clearly the rooms have had a budget refurbishment at some point in the past but a small additional investment would make them feel fresher and nicer and justify the £100 per night price tag.

The entrance to the manor house has a room with a random assortment of sofas. This area feels like it lacks purpose and I'm not sure if anyone has actually sat in these seats before. I would clear this room out and make it a nice modern welcoming entrance, perhaps with Yorkshire memorabilia or something in keeping with the Yorkshire dales location. Just a thought.

Check in - it was great that we were allowed to check in early. I do think that the manor house is a bit of a trek across the car park and up some stairs. It would have been nice for someone to mention this fact and offer to help with our bags. We would have declined but sometimes it's nice just to be asked.

We did enjoy our stay though and the breakfast was the highlight of the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rosey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, we do value your comments, with regards to your check in experience we do apologise, all our staff are instructed to explain where the rooms are and to ask if help is needed with luggage.
The Manor House is our cheaper accommodation and also the accommodation we use if late access is needed, your comments on the décor is down to personal taste and we do always have a works schedule for maintenance and redecoration. We feel that the walk through lounge is a useful congregation area for guests and is used regularly. Mattresses are regularly upgraded and all carpets within the rooms themselves are new, however if you found your mattress to be uncomfortable then we will of course look into this.
We do hope that you will return to us in the near future.
Kind Regards, Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    201
    97
    55
    47
See reviews for
107
463
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Burnsall having spent a night celebrating my birthday. It proved to be a wonderful stay in a most comfortable and welcoming hotel. I had previously had a meal there a couple of years ago whilst en route to the Lake District via The Dales Way, remembered the meal as most enjoyable on that occasion and decided to return for an overnight stay. It would be difficult to improve on the hotel's location overlooking the village green and the wide expanse of the beautiful River Wharfe. The interior of the hotel is well maintained and retains a historic feel; there are photographs from yesteryear of fell running champions and village characters; the bar is attractive, well staffed and the restaurant has a bright companionable aura with an almost French feel to it. Our evening meal was superb; my wife said it was the best meal she has ever had and particularly enjoyed the sea bass and the fruit and chocolate crumble. For me the local estate grouse and the tarte au citron were both exquisitely flavoured and attractively served. Our room - Room 6 - had a picture book view over the village green with the hills behind; the bed was comfortable; the en-suite bathroom was scrupulously clean with Molton -Brown toiletries and bath robes provided. The small ironing board and iron proved to be most useful accessories. The breakfast was as memorable as the previous evening's meal with a wide choice of continental and English fare. I particularly enjoyed the haddock and the local honey, unpretentiously served in its original glass jar. The long established family run nature of The Red Lion has enabled it to build up a well deserved reputation over the years. We shall certainly return for a longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you, we must be doing something right, we really hope to see you again.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great rooms in a beautiful location. Made us feel very welcome. Very dog friendly and allowed us to eat breakfast in the pub part next day with our dogs there. Staff all very helpful and polite nothing too much trouble, excellent food and ambience. Good facilities for parking stress free break great countryside pub too in a fantastic part of the Yorks Dales will return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reedy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your great review, we have some great dog walking country around us and so do try to accommodate dogs as best we can, after all dog owners need a good break too!!
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and had a relaxing time.
Hope to see you again soon
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Decided we needed a couple of days away with peace and quite and nice scenery and had the Red Lion recommended. We booked a room in the Manor House, just across the car park from the main building. The room was on the second floor, a decent sized room with a bath and shower. The decor is in fitting with a Manor House, not modern but I liked it. Everything was very clean, lovely white fluffy towels, good quality toiletries, jars of tea and hot chocolate not the normal silly little sachets, milk was provided in the "long life" pots but when we checked in the lady said to ask in the bar for a jug of "proper" milk to take to the room, what a great idea! There were also biscuits and sweets in the room plus a fan for very hot weather. The bed was really comfy and the pillows very good, ( I hate those enormous pillows you get in some hotels, they may look good but are far too deep for comfort!). The Manor House was so very quite, perfect! I cannot comment on the rooms in the main Hotel building but would imagine there could be some noise from the very busy bar and dining areas. Breakfast was exceptionally good, with a good choice of both cold and hot food, the fresh cooked to order pastries were a treat and all served by polite and helpful staff. We had booked a table for dinner on both nights in the bar. On the first night we were allocated a table in the "snug" area, it was lovely, we imagined we would have had the same table reserved for the following evening, but we were told we had a table in the actual bar area, this would not have been a problem if the table had not been surrounded by tables of families with very noisy children. I explained to the staff that we did not want to eat our meal (the food is delicious and well worth the money but not cheap as bar meals go) in this atmosphere, they were very understanding and offered us a table in the dining room which at this time was quite, however by the time we had finished eating a family with 2 small children and a baby in a pram were shown in, the faces of the other diners said it all! This is the only small moan we had, perhaps it would be possible to make at least the dining room child free after a certain time, there are many mature people who would appreciate this. That said we will be back again. The staff were exceptional in all areas and most helpful with advice for walking, (we arrived on the 12th August and it was grouse shooting so some of the walks were closed) Looking forward to going again soon.

Room Tip: For peace and quite the Manor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruton8179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so pleased you had a good stay with us and yes on the whole we have a lovely quiet location, we are very popular for dining and try to accommodate everyone who wishes to eat with us, most parties with children do tend to eat early, however the busier we get the later people have to eat.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
435 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just came here for lunch with a friend who lives close by.Lovely location, with wonderful views.The place was very busy, but we managed to get a table and were served ok. We only had sandwiches & a ploughmans, bit pricey for what we got but was well presented, and nice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased you enjoyed your lunch and our scenery, we do feel our prices are inline with the quality of food that we serve.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our fourth stay at The Red Lion.
We called on the off chance to see if they had a room available and the lady on the reception offered a Double Room with Bed & Breakfast at a reasonable rate. She then offered us a larger room with lovely views at the same price, which was very kind!
This place is very relaxing. All staff are pleasant.
The location is amazing - positioned next to the river and bridge with views of the hills and village at the front.
I must add that the food in the evening was superb. I was pleasantly surpised how good it was and the service was very good too.
All in all, a very enjoyable end to our trip to Yorkshire and we look forward to visiting again in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
many thanks for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay, the rooms on the front of the hotel all look over the river, village green and fell, it is an amazing view.
Hope to see you soon.
regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were staying in the village so made a booking for dinner at the the Red Lion. Food was very nice and some interesting dishes. We liked it so much that we made a repeat booking the following evening.

Decent portions, good choice, pleasant service. reasonable prices - and all within walking distance of the cottage!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we love that you enjoyed your meals with us, we always try to keep our menus interesting.
Kind regards
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing