We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
US$107
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
US$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$432
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot House(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
321
162
69
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
162
69
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabolton abbeysister hotelservice chargethe riverlovely hotelspa facilitieswedding venuetasting menustunning viewscourse dinnerexclusive useamazing weddingtop floordevonshire fellwedding breakfastno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

THE hotel location is great ,overlooking the pretty village of Burnsall.There was a little confusion with our booking but it was quickly sorted and we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with 2 bathrooms and a sitting room The room was tastefully decorated with lots of Hockney prints and good quality teas,coffee and waters available.The public areas are well decorated with posters,photos and a small art exhibition in the dining room.the dinner menu is quite small but enough my starter of cornish crab with avocado,mango,radish and fennel ice cream delicious.All staff were attentive and friendly.The super fell breakfast set us up for the day

Room Tip: look for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for one night with friends for a night on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. We booked two of the cheaper rooms but they exceeded our expectations. The only drawback was climbing the stairs to the second floor but once you were there both the rooms were bright and airy and the view was great. There were a number of small but welcome touches; cake, popcorn, plenty of varieties of water and even a Mars bar. The weather was not good but we relaxed in the conservatory and enjoyed the views.
The evening meal was good the menu is not colossal but there was enough choice and the quality was good. Breakfast was also first class.
The staff were a small local team and they provided a warm welcome and worked hard to ensure that we enjoyed our break.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest rooms they are all good
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank td2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

called in for a light lunch in terrible weather
first impression was how cozy and comfortable this place is very welcoming staff
had a super table overlooking the beautiful village of burnsall
food was tasty/ service first class will definitely return and may stay overnight when the weather gets better its a fabulous spot to enjoy a summer night away in
highly recommended
straw bear

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the village are the best
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Devonshire Fell for 1 night in early March. The location is fantastic looking over Burnsall.We had a lovely room overlooking the fells. The room was a good size. We had a dog crate with us and there was plenty of room for it in the room. Our room was modern, clean and warm. There were some nice touches with small jars of popcorn, sweets and cakes as well as a range of warm and cold drinks. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was good quality but portions were on the smaller size. We were fine as we had starter, main and shared a cheeseboard, but some people may find the portions on the small size. The atmosphere is relaxed and we really enjoyed just sitting by the open fire with a drink and been able to talk over dinner without too much noise in background.Breakfast was really good. Excellent quality and plenty of choice whether you wanted full English or continental. We didn't use the spa at the Devonshire arms as we had the dog and went for a lovely walk up the river to Grassington. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We ate here on a Monday lunch time with 4 adults and 4 children. We had phoned ahead and they had set a table of 8 in the conservatory section of the restaurant with lovely views down to Burnsall and the Wharfe.
Nice restaurant, nice tables and cutlery and tableware with good attention to little details that raise it above other establishments in the area.
The children had fish and chips, which is a half price version of the adults menu. We also had an adult’s portion of fish and chips. All was really good, with decent sized fish, cod, in a light and tasty batter. These were served on wooden chopping boards with mush peas and Jenga chips
The beef baguette with reduced gravy, chips and salad is excellent and very good value for money.
Unfortunately the beef sandwich was the low point, the bread was served with the crusts cut off, which appeared to be Hovis style 50/50 bread,( making for a very small sandwich), with a salad garnish, and some restaurant made crisps, (as opposed to homemade - as why would any restaurant make their food at home), which whilst nice were a little greasy. As long as you eat beef better to skip the sandwiches and go for the beef baguette for a mere £1 more and a whole lot better value.
Decent house white wine and well served Copper Dragon beers from Skipton makes for an excellent lunchtime spot.

Room Tip: This is a restaurant review.........so needs the form changing to allow for restaurant reviews
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BurleyBoy-XLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews