We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Hidden Away Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little Hidden Away Gem”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had the delight of staying here on Sunday night with my Mum on a Travelzoo deal including taster menu, it was super. The village itself is beautiful with the river running through it great for walks and the village tea shop. The Hotel is decorated to a super standard and the rooms are delightful. The taster menu was to a high standard and service was very good.

Would recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmottley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    141
    63
    16
    4
See reviews for
84
313
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Location was fantastic for the recent Tour De France's visit to Yorkshire as we were able to see the riders on both days in Yorkshire. Room was lovely and well equipped, with nice decor and good tea and coffee plus some delicious juices and popcorn to nibble on - a nice touch. Dinner was delicious, though a tad expensive for the size of the portions, and it was great to be able to eat and relax whilst looking down on the picturesque village of Burnsall.

One thing to note was that we had taken the cycle hire option but we found on arrival that the bikes were located at the Devonshire Arms, which, whilst only 6 miles away, was not made clear at the time of booking. As we did not have a bike rack to bring them back to the hotel we did not make use of them and could have saved some money on our booking as we had paid extra. The staff at the hotel tried to help but as we arrived after 6pm there was no answer at the hotel or spa on any of the numbers they gave us - that was a bit of a shame for us and I feel this could and should have been made clearer at the outset and could even be mentioned on the 'Tour De Moor' part on the website. We did not feel like getting up even earlier to collect the bikes and add an extra 6 miles to our intended cycle journey, we did wonder about heading down that evening but as there was noone answering the phone we did not know if if we would even be able to collect them then.

Breakfast was very nice, but did not start serving until 8am, which when so many people where there for the tour it did mean we were rushing to leave, I think it would have been good to offer the option for an earlier breakfast considering the event taking place nearby, I think the poor lady who served the breakfast was inundated with orders!

Everyone we met who worked at the hotel was kind, friendly and trying their best to give us what we wanted. I must mark the stay as average though - because despite their efforts - there were some elements - like breakfast timing and bike hire - which prevented us from having a fabulous stay and considering the price, this is a shame.

Burnsall itself is beautiful - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crooked_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just spent a lovely weekend staying at The Devonshire Fell where we attended a wedding reception. The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly the waitresses, the food at the reception was very good, as was the breakfast. The bedrooms were lovely although very warm (despite being provided with a fan which was too noisy to leave on for any length of time). The room had tea and coffee (for percolator), a selection of fruit drinks, water, popcorn and very tasty cakes. The rooms were very comfortable and have lovely views mainly over the countryside or garden. It is only a short walk to the village and a 10 minute drive to Bolton Abbey and the location is good for touring North Yorkshire.

Room Tip: As there was no lift anyone with mobility problems should request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a two night DB&B stay in this stunning Dales location and couldn't fault the room apart from the heat which was somewhat uncomfortable. The breakfasts were good, but the evening meals were well below the standard expected in a 4* hotel and whilst the staff were trying their best the service lacked the finesse to reflect this standard of hotel. The portions were miniscule and the chef substituted various ingredients at will without telling the staff who were left to improvise when asked about the change. At these prices the hotel needs to have someone at front of house to improve the overall operation and the practise of adding discretionary sevice charge to the bill (even for the room) is to be deplored. The management needs to be improved to make this hotel worthy of its four star rating!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a 2 night stay and for the entire time got impression that staff just felt guests were unwelcome distraction although breakfast waitress was excellent.This hotel has no warmth or welcome and the manager was charmless. Also at end of stay they add a 2.5% service charge on your room rate and 12.5% on any food and drink -again although discretionary it sucks as just plain greedy PAY STAFF PROPERLY AND STOP THIS GRUBBY SYSTEM.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zuluYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night (just after the Tour de France had been through the area) and got a fantastic deal via Travelzoo. The package included DB&B accommodation for two, a cream tea on arrival, a five-course tasting menu dinner and a late (12 noon) checkout.

We have stayed at the posher and more expensive Devonshire Arms a couple of times, so we were interested to see what was on offer just six miles up the road.

The staff we met throughout our stay were wonderful, particularly the staff in the restaurant both in the evening and in the morning, super-friendly.

The room (No 7) was on the small side but perfectly kitted out, with a selection of snacks and soft drinks, and a superbly appointed bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Fixtures and fittings are just as good as the Devonshire Arms, as far as I can see.

The food was a highlight - the tasting menu was terrific, with some of my favourites on there, including wonderful scallops. Breakfast the following morning was as good as the Devonshire Arms, with a perfectly cooked eggs benedict brought to the table.

My only criticism - I was woken from my deep slumber twice before my alarm clock finally went off; once by a very noisy wagon/delivery beneath our first floor window and secondly by the (otherwise lovely) cleaning ladies who store their gear opposite Room 7. When you are on a leisure break in the middle of the countryside, these dawn choruses are not very welcome, so perhaps seek out a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

Best of all was the location - the Devonshire Fell is in an elevated position just overlooking the lovely village of Burnsall and the River Wharfe, just five minutes walk from the front door. In short, I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 7 (on the right hand side of the building) was noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were on a Travelzoo deal which included a tasting menu, and the food was the highlight of our stay. Not to mention the fabulous views, with the exception of our bedroom.
On arrival, the receptionist reminded us of the receptionist at our medical practice, with an air of efficiency, but not in the least friendly or welcoming.
We were allocated, not shown to, what turned out was a "village" room, with a view of the car park, not a "garden" room as promised in the Travelzoo offer. We were settled in the room before we realised this and didn't make an issue of this. But on reflection we should have, as this was just the first of several shortcomings.
We ordered wine with our meal, a 2011 Viognier. The wine was fine, though I did notice that the year was 2012. The following night I ordered a 2009 Montepulciano d'Abruzzo. A 2012, opened, was brought to the table by our wine waitress for the night, who was also the receptionist. I pointed out the discrepancy, and the significance of providing the correct year. My comments were barely acknowledged, other than to offer another wine.
The wine list is obviously out of date, and in its current form is essentially mis-selling the wines on the list.
There was no hair dryer in the room, and none was available on the first morning. The manager's excuse was that it was the guests that stole them, which may occasionally be the case, but it was inappropriate to effectively blame a guest for no hair dryer.
The Travelzoo offer included a tasting menu.
This was exceptional, and just about makes up for the other shortcomings. But not so good that we wanted the same menu 2 nights in a row. This was communicated to the waitress, but obviously not to the chef, as the same menu was presented the next night. To his credit, the chef came up with another menu which was also excellent.
So, 5 stars to the chef. The rest of the staff have a bit of work to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam o' Shanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
381 reviews
19.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Fell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Fell Hotel

Property: The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Address: Burnsall Village | Skipton, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Fell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pretty village of Burnsall, The Devonshire Fell Hotel lies in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled among rolling hills, country lanes and dry stone walls. The property has free WiFi and there is free parking. There are 16 bedrooms at the Devonshire Fell, each boasting their own individual character, with many affording breathtaking views of Yorkshire countryside. The reception area and bar is vibrant and cosy, with colourful armchairs where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can relax in the 1 AA Rosette restaurant and soak up the striking views as they dine on mouth-watering dishes made using locally sourced produce. The local area is a paradise for walkers and their dogs, which are equally welcomed and stay for free. Many ancient castles, country houses and UNESCO World Heritage Sites are within a 30-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Devonshire Fell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Fell Hotel
The Devonshire Fell Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing