We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a charming stay, views breathtaking, a twist on tradition.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonshire Fell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This was a charming stay, views breathtaking, a twist on tradition.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

From arriving, greeted by stephan the manager who always appeared pleasant and helpful. we were here for a wedding for 2 nights, this place just managed everything required and was a setting that suited a beautiful summer wedding.
All staff were more than helpful and professional.
Food was of highest standard , small things like served on warmed plates and presented well.
This setting is wonderful lots within reach, breathtaking, i have always visited the Lake district but will certainly be spending more time in this area. You also have use of spa at deavonshire arms and carparks at other locations

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    138
    62
    16
    4
See reviews for
84
306
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We got married at this hotel earlier this year, and had an amazing day. We went for exclusive use of the hotel which is a good idea as it is quite small. The wedding planner, manager and all of the staff made all of our guests feel very welcome, and were very helpful with dealing with special menu requests for the wedding breakfast. The food was delicious, all of the bedrooms were lovely, and the ceremony/wedding breakfast room was beautifully decorated.
The situation of the hotel is fantastic, with lovely views over the hills. I would certainly recommend it as a wedding venue or as a place to stay for a break in the Dales.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hd21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Devonshire Fell in Burnsall on 16 May 09. It was the most amazing day which was due in part to the fantastic service and amazing food we received from the Devonshire Fell.

Stephane is a fantastic host and has exactly the right attitude to ensure that everything is done appropriately and without fuss. His team is small but did an amazing job in serving our 80 guests in quite a cramped Dalzell Room.

The food was fantastic, 20 of us ate in the hotel the evening before the wedding and were delighted with the food we were served in the gorgeous conservatory which is a great place for a group dinner. We watched a fantastic thunderstorm over the village from our comfy seats at the table. We requested a bespoke dinner of beef wellington which was not a choice on the standard menu but was well worth the extra cost and we also had a friend liaise with the Celler Master at the Devonshire Arms to pair a different wine with each course of our wedding breakfast.

On the Sunday after the wedding we had another reception at the Fell with a Pimms reception and canapes which went down very well too. All topped off with yet another meal on Sunday night which, again, was thoroughly delicious.

The rooms in the hotel are great and I love the themes and colours, there are one or two areas that could do with a little bit of refurbishment and, having discussed it with Stephane, I think that he is also keen to make these changes.

We wanted a very personal wedding that reflected the things that we find important in a celebration - not too much fuss, great food, great wine and excellent company, and the Devonshire Fell definitely delivered on all of that.

Our photographs were taken by Olivia Brabbs who is based in Yorkshire and is fantastic - www.oliviabrabbs.co.uk and we had music from Emley Brass band and a Blues Brothers Tribute band and the staff at the hotel were all very accommodating to our entertainment, managing to fit in the 16 brass band members!!!

My sister was my florist and Stephane was happy to let her use the summer house in the garden to get everything ready.

It really was an amazing day and I am so pleased that we chose to hold our wedding there. Our friends have all commented how wonderful the wedding was and how lovely the food was. Many saying it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding.

Truly the best day of our lives.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

My daughters wedding on June 27th this year could not have been more perfect if we had tried !! The sun shone and the Devonshire Fell played the perfect host for our party of 90. Stephane the General Manager was that exact mix of quite confidence in his team who helped make our day so good and controlled but not too intrusive into the proceedings. The venue did itself proud, overlooking the river and Burnsall while drinking Pimms on an English Summers day felt us all feel as if we were starring in a Merchant Ivory Film. Friends have commented that it was the best wedding they have been to in a long time due to the Fell itself, the staff, Stephane, the service, the food - which was excellent and the 'Englishness' of the occasion. As we had 'exclusive' use of the Fell - this includes the bedrooms - great value for money in these troubled economic times, the whole day felt like a big house party, like i said - Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

food was well cooked and presented but dinner had very small portions and no extras, nothing like olives or nibbles, felt that it had been stretched too far. £32 poor value for a hotel.
breakfast had no continental buffet, no rolls or yoghurt etc, packets of cereals and juice, and cooked breakfast was the only choice.. We asked why and were told that when they are busy they have no time to put on choice of buffet.
No positive response from management about this or lack of evening water for shower ( not their fault) , nothing to make you feel better,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

A bit disappointed with this hotel. Holes in curtains and some things looking a bit tired.The bar and bistro were very good for eveing meal but breakfast not very good at all.I emailed the hotel to point out how we felt about our stay but had no response.Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
225 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed at the devonshire fell for one night in Feb. The reasons we booked it were that they offer DBB, they have the use of a spa and unlike some hotels you can book for just one weekend night. At £195 for DBB for 2 i think it was fairly good value for money, all i would say is that the bedroom was nice but nothing particluarly special and unlike the rest of the hotel, especillay the communal areas, i think they would spend a little time making the bedrooms more luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniepankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
19.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Fell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Fell Hotel

Property: The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Address: Burnsall Village | Skipton, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Fell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pretty village of Burnsall, The Devonshire Fell Hotel lies in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled among rolling hills, country lanes and dry stone walls. The property has free WiFi and there is free parking. There are 16 bedrooms at the Devonshire Fell, each boasting their own individual character, with many affording breathtaking views of Yorkshire countryside. The reception area and bar is vibrant and cosy, with colourful armchairs where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can relax in the 1 AA Rosette restaurant and soak up the striking views as they dine on mouth-watering dishes made using locally sourced produce. The local area is a paradise for walkers and their dogs, which are equally welcomed and stay for free. Many ancient castles, country houses and UNESCO World Heritage Sites are within a 30-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Devonshire Fell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Fell Hotel
The Devonshire Fell Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing