We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful homecooked food”
Review of Wharfe View

Wharfe View
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Burnsall
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful homecooked food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have been going here for the last 16 years .the food is excellent homecooked always hot and plentiful. It is reasonably priced there is an extensive menu we would highly recommend the steak and potato pie always excellent .the staff have become our friends .beautiful views of the river wharf love the place highly recmem

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hewitt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    12
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reviving”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Dropped in on a walk on Saturday 11th Jan. Lots of sausage butties and tea ordered. It all came quickly and was good and hot. 3 sausages to a bread roll. No complaints though the rolls were somewhat squashed. Good value and friendly cafe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frick291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Been here loads, always a warm welcome staff very attentive (waitresses running around like a blur) and good and fresh wholesome food. Would highly recommend to all, pity not open on Fridays ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GJack734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lemon drizzle cake - best ever”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited this cafe after a walk, prior to which we had eaten at the Red Lion. Well, we wish we had just gone to the cafe instead, the welcome was wonderful and Sophie the waitress is a future star. OK, we promised her we'd say that, but actually the three ladies running the show were all really charming, funny and super. Good views, relaxed and loads of photos of Olympic athletes whoi stop here for cake when cycling past, which ones? You'll have to go and find out. It was lovely. PS The Red Lion is a different type of thing but I paid 12.95 there for sausage and mash and here it's a fiver.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonelyplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in this pretty village. Despite the weather being terrible, gale force winds and heavy rain, we received a warm welcome in this very popular little cafe. It is in a beautiful spot and must be even better in good weather as the views are lovely.
We were lucky to get a table as the place was full with walkers, cyclists and tourists sheltering from the rain, but judging by the quality of the food, I would imagine it is always busy, especially at weekends.
We had afternoon tea, pot of tea or coffee, choice of sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and a cake all for 6.99 each! Everything is homemade and very tasty, the choice of cakes on the trolley is great and you will be spoilt for choice. We will definitely return again when next in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharfe View also viewed

Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Wharfe View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing