We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Autumn Break”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Second time we have stayed in The Old Hall Inn at Threshfield, just a few minutes walk from Grassington & Wharfedale.
The Old Hall has friendly locals & staff, comfortable rooms, a good selection of real ales & exellent food with typical Yorkshire sized poritons, all this from a Lancastrian must be one of the ems of the Dales.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter but to be honest there is very little trafiic in the evening anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    50
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
30
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We arrived for a meal on a very wet and windy Saturday, we had walked from Grassington and we were soaked! The blazing open fire was a very pleasing sight! We decided to eat next to the fire and dry out, the food was lovely, after a couple more beers, we were just about to set off walking back to Wharfedale caravan club site when the very kind young man behind the bar offered us a lift! Which far exceeded any customer service we've experienced before. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived late but we had confirmed we were coming, the day was forecast gales!
We were shown to our room it was very very cold no heating, we were then informed the heating would be turned on and would take 20 min or so to start warming up? Why they knew we were coming, they knew the weather.
The room was OK but there were too many cobwebs.
At 3am the TV alarm went off was a bit like having a police car in our room.
Breakfast was very good!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at The Old Hall Inn last weekend. It was a most enjoyable experience from the minute we arrived to the time we left. The reception on arrival was friendly and helpful. The room was a little small but otherwise well equipped for our needs. The food in the evening was well cooked and, although the choice was a little limited the quality is good and neither of us struggled to find something that met our needs. Breakfast has everything you'd expect and is very good, especially the porridge!

The thing that makes The Old Hall stand out is the friendliness of the staff. Everybody goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, and involve you in conversation.

We'll certainly be back in 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 555Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

One of the reasons that we stayed at this pub was that they allowed dogs, unlike some other premises in the area. We stayed for two nights in the summer and had a very nice stay, the room we had was compact but quite comfortable, the only disappointment was the size of the bathroom, I think the terms swinging a mouse should be said for this!! I have never seen such a small sink.. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was good pub food with an extensive menu at sensible prices.

If I was in the area again I would return to this pub.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ptw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Good standard very cosy hotel. All staff are helpful and rooms are clean. Good selection of real ales on offer. Food was a mix of ala carte and pub grub. Breakfasts were of very good quality. The landlord came in on his day off to cook for a group of 10 of us. All were served quickly and plenty on the plates, and loads of tea and coffee. Bar has real log fire, makes the whole place cosy. All staff were helpful and took the time to ensure we enjoyed our stay. This is the best one in the grassington area and a lot cleaner than some in the town. Will return again for some proper Yorkshire hospitality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew this was the perfect place to stay. Lovely welcome and shown to our room number 2 which was a beautiful room. We then had a meal in the restaurant and the fish and chips are the best we have ever had. Followed this with treacle sponge and custard, OMG and mmmmm is all I need to say. Again the staff so friendly. The person whom said staff rude n food not good here a reality check is needed as this place is top notch. The same night there was a Take That tribute act, and they where fabulous. All in all a brilliant stay thanks to all we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
129 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Hall Inn
The Old Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Grassington
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
272 reviews
6.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 1 in Cracoe
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Address: B6265, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub in the Heart of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Hall Inn & Cottages Threshfield, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing