We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading signage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had already stopped at one nearby pub at around 2 p.m to be told they were not serving food when we pulled into the car park of the Old Hall at around 2.15 as signs said "Open for the best food in the Dales" or similar.
Having got to the bar and being bombarded with blackboards and notices about all kinds of delicious sounding meals and noticed finished plates of food on other tables we thought our luck was in.
I ordered a drink for my wife and I and then asked my wife across the bar if she had decided what she wanted for lunch. The barman then informed us they had stopped serving food. No afternoon or reduced menu, just no food.
If you are not serving it, don't advertise it!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank TudorHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

A few years since we last visited but after seeing on 4 in a bed on TV, thought we would give it a try but quite honestly wish we hadn't bothered.
Cigarrete butts on the doorstep on the way in and not much cleaner on the inside.
Asked if we were ok bringing in a small well behaved dog and told by the friendy barman it was fine as long as we did not go in the carpeted area. To be frank looking at the carpet I would not let the dog sit on it!
Asked if there was a menu, as did a lot of other people coming in, but told all the food was on the blackboards. Where to start? So many boards dotted around the wall, would have been easier to at least have some on a table menu. One customer with 2 elderly ladies seated in a side room had a very difficult task walking back and forwards relaying choices to her two friends from the massive array of boards.
Food was ok but nothing special and overpriced for what was presented.
The House Special Burger came on a wooden board which was warped, well used and would have questioned its hygiene. Put to better use burnt on the openfire in the range.Tomato sauce was served in a small breakfast marmalade/jam jar which still had adhesive stuck on it from the peeled label.
The bread the burger was in was dry and crumbly as if stale and brought out of the freezer.
On the other hand, my wife enjoyed the barbecued spatchcock chicken.
Although the barman had the gift of the gab and was welcoming and entertaining with the customers, the landlady gave the impression she clearly did not want to be there, neither speaking or acknowledging any customers.
Perhaps her time would have been better spent cleaning the place.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Lovely cottage with an amazing wood burner and fab cosy couch. Bed amazingly comfy and bathroom etc all met our needs.
However, we've been here 5 days and although the privacy is great we've no information on whether we get any housekeeping service e.g. Fresh towels etc while we're here and haven't had any. It's amazing to be able to get meals delivered to the door from the pub but again no info on getting the dishes back.
Having the dogs here is great but with no vacuum cleaner (and no housekeeping) it's looking a bit grubby; I'd have been happy to vacuum.
The staff are amazing though and I'm sure if we asked they'd do anything, but I don't feel we should have to ask :-(

A suggestion would be to use the information folder more as it tells you very little about the actual cottage, the services offered etc.

Overall though, great place and I'll recommend to all, especially my dog owning friends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Old Hall Inn at Threshfield
Called in for lunch. Very pleasant attentive staff. Fresh food beautifully cooked and artistically presented, very good wide wine choice. The menu was mainly fish based and we were delighted with that but there were 'specials' as well such as beef, venison, steak etc. Really enjoyed our first visit here on a damp cold day the eating area was warm and welcoming as were the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Called in today for what we hoped would be a welcome Sunday lunch to brighten up a miserably cold wet and windy day in the dales. The non-too-welcoming (and overflowing from Saturday night revellers) cigarette/litter bin on the entrance step would have put many off if it weren't for the disparate need to get out of the foul weather and into the welcoming warmth of a dales pub. Warmth however was the one item missing from today's menu. Having ordered drinks we were offered tables away from the one open fire in the bar area as those adjacent to the hot coals were reserved. We ordered the fish and chips which were excellent, arriving only after we had mistakenly been presented with the meals for the couple on our next table. As other diners gradually arrived they too were shown to our end of the pub. A further seating area was then opened up with the words 'it's a little cool in here but we have just put some heating on' subsequently creating a further draught for those already starved of the open fire which was proving popular with the locals and bar staff stood around that end of the bar. We chose not to have a sweet, paid and couldn't help noticing the still unoccupied reserved seats as we closed the door carefully avoiding the tab end tub. Overall impression, food choice and quality : very good, first impressions and atmosphere : could do a lot better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have to write my review now as I can't see anything else wrong with the place after my first day.

Firstly, we were a little early but no problem. Shown to the cottage which was super warm and left to our own devices. I have no problem with that but others might as you may need to know how to turn the heating down or how to operate the shower etc if you aren't that way inclined. But that doesn't matter.

The place is super cozy and open. You'll be blown away with the quaintness and how much bigger it looks on the inside. There is a great little side room for left over luggage and bric a brac behind the kitchen area. Which also contains the central heating boiler.

The kitchen is very well equipped with fridge and freezer and the normal amenities. We had lots of home cooked dinners as well as local nights out at the pubs. Hot water on tap just like that.

The bathroom has an electric shower with multi spray head and bath too. We used them all. Plenty of room in there for all your bits. Great soft water area if you want a bubbly bath. There's a shaver socket in the bathroom mirror light and a fan heater.

The bedroom is as the pictures. Simple and cozy too but........if you like your windows open upstairs then there aren't any that open. There is only one. Which I imagine could be from the listed building status. But if you have the heating on all day then you'll find it stuffy during the night (autumn/winter) That is the only thing that I would find a problem.

The living room has a super soft and cozy L shaped sofa to snuggle into. Fell asleep a few times after a long days exploring or eating out. The TV is great for the basic channels for a bit of evening viewing if you're in. The wood burner is great to with logs prepared to set fire too. And a honesty box for the extra wood that you can use.

Basically the cottage was awesome. No complaints at all.

The area around Threshfield is far to massive to explain. But if you're a walker then I don't need to tell you anything. Grassington is a fabulous place to visit to. No need for the car to get about as you can walk every where. If you here to go clubbing forget it. It's an area for exploring and relaxing. The Inn is fab and friendly. There are a few villages all with a pub or two to visit and eat at. Prices vary but that isn't a problem. You just have to discover it yourself.

It's a spectacular place to visit and stay

And of course dogs are welcome everywhere and so are muddy boots.

Hope all this helps

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Wainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked 5 days over the New Year in Monks cottage after seeing Old Hall Inn on "Four In a Bed" . We absolutely loved loved loved it ! Andy the owner and his staff prepared a massive banquet for New Years Eve. It was like something that you would imagine on Henry 8ths table. It was the most amazing feast ever! We ate in the restaurant most nights and the food was truely amazing. The best we have ever eaten. (thank you Dan for my huge fillet steak cooked to perfection) The welcome was the best you could imagine. Roaring fire, warm friendly pub , staff couldnt do enough for us. Andy the owner is an amazing chef and puts his heart and soul into everything he cooks. It was a long drive from our home in Devon but we definitely intend returning and would recommend it. Grassington viillage is just amazing, like something out of Dickens , cobbled streets and pretty shops. Rosies is the best Indian restaurant ever, tiny , only has 15 covers but also does take away.

Room Tip: Self contained Monks Cottage, is quiet, lovely good quality bed, open fire, central heating and ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
139 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
824 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Hall Inn
The Old Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Grassington
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms Inn
Devonshire Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cracoe
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn & Cottages

Address: B6265, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub in the Heart of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Hall Inn & Cottages Threshfield, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing