We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hellyEast...
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adorable little cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday in this beautiful cottage.
We found everyone very helpful and have nothing to complain about.
Perfect enclosed garden that our puppy had great fun running around in.
Ok the kitchen fan does blow into the garden but the owners have tried their best to mask it off with trees, it wouldn't put me off returning!
The wifi problem to me just meant we returned to an old fashioned way of communicating lol, it did work in a certain area of the pub.
We ate one night in the pub and had fish and chip takeaway from them another night, fab piece of fish!
Can highly recommend the Indian restaurant in grassington, we had takeaway but it was one of the best I've ever had.
Great holiday, we didn't want to leave.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humberside
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful
2 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 1 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brendan F
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“spoiled honeymoon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage itself is rather lovely and affords a degree of privacy with its own garden near the pub - so its perfect for a pet - at first glance. The flowers are wonderful and the garden is well maintained. The bed is very comfortable, as is the seating arrangements downstairs. Overall the décor was at a very high standard - except in the bathroom where it was peeling from the ceiling.

HOWEVER
1) The electric shower broke down and we were told we must be mistaken (?!) - it ran scalding hot OR freezing cold. It was a definite health & safety risk. Dangerous.
2) During the hottest week of July the water ran a very dark brown - everywhere - we had to run it through for hours and it took a day to run clear again. IT was unsuitable to drink or cook with - thus rendering the self catering aspect of the cottage redundant. The toilet did not look very nice either! Photo attached.
3) the fans from the pub's kitchen blow directly into the cottage's front door - which had to stay open as it was so hot ! The smell was quite annoying but the fan even interrupted the noise from the TV !
4) no WI FI
This was utterly unacceptable also, as it is one of the search criteria we required when selecting our place. We were told we could get it in the pub... but this wasn't agreed.. and in the end it didn't work anyway, even though we had the password.. and the latest iPhone.

We were largely fobbed off by the owners... in a very polite but irritating way.

We therefore complained to the owner's agent about the situation - and they were extremely nice and understanding about the whole thing. SYKES Cottages. They were appalled to hear our tale of woe and went about seeking some sort of refund on our behalf. They were excellent throughout it has to be said.

There was no point trying to reason with the people at the pub. They didn't want to accept that the shower was broken, that the water was their fault.. etc etc in a way some of it really wasn't their fault. BUT when the agent came back to us we found out they'd been told ..... a different version of events to the ones we'd experienced. This is what irritated us and was the final straw.
They told the agent that ....
a) we were given 3 x 3L bottles of water (not true, we had to buy our own)
b) we'd been running hot water whilst having a shower.. this was untrue - we'd even invited someone in to trial it. We'd told them we hadn't categorically and yet they claimed that we had to their agent, Sykes Cottages.
c) they claimed that we could have got wi fi in the pub . . we couldn't - and in any case, we'd rented the cottage believing we would have it there.
d) no where did it state that the fans from the kitchen would be so loud.... it was disappointing that we couldn't sit in the lovely garden

We asked for a refund and were initially offered 1/5th after the agent got back to us.
We then heard what the owners had to say and because we disputed it (above), we asked the agents to go back to them... this they did.. and secured a 2/5th refund.
To be honest we should have got more and we shouldn't have had to complain. The circumstances were too obvious and yet they were prepared to argue the toss at every turn. To avoid continued telephone tennis with the agent (Sykes Cottages) and ourselves, we settled on the 2/5th deposit.

I'm glad they had an agent who looked out for the consumer
Otherwise we'd have been less happy with the whole situation.
Thank you Sykes Cottages!!!!

IF you think I've been too severe here, I am prepared to water it down a bit - but I do believe that I've been quite level headed

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: tastefully renovated old cottage
Liked least: being messed about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucestershire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roy W
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb property, excellent location, shame about the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Situated next to The Old Hall Inn and one mile from the honey pot village of Grassington. Lovely Grade II listed, stone built cottage, providing excellent facilities and comfort. Unfortunately despite being located in one of the most scenically beautiful parts of the Dales, you are unable to enjoy the views directly from the cottage, or its little garden area, although it was possible to start a number of walks directly from the front door. The arrangement or the bedroom in the beamed ceiling of the cottage might present difficulty for people with mobility problems. Other than that the property would receive full marks and we would be happy to return. One significant bonus of being next to the inn was being able to sample its excellent food, hospitality and real ales - indeed it also provides cooked breakfasts.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Wonderful location for touring the Dales
Liked least: Being unable to see the countryside from the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing