We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find”
Review of Elmfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmfield House
Ranked #2 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights this week. We chose it from an AA guide book. On arrival we were greeted by home made scones with jam and cream and a pot of tea. You certainly don't get that kind of service in a five star hotel unless you request it. We also opted to have a home cooked evening meal on our first night. This was excellent and thoroughly recommended. The breakfasts were also exceptionally good - fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cereals, fantastic bacon and sausages with all the usual trimmings and home made bread for the toast which is crisp and not soggy like the usual fare one gets in hotels. We opted for a room with a four poster bed and this was extremely comfortable as was the pillows. I can't remember the last time I actually managed to get a decent nights sleep in any bed but at home. The room which was very large was tastefully decorated, tv, free wifi and tea and coffee. Although the B&B is not licensed they are happy for you to bring your own and to use the fridge in the dining area to keep wine cold should you so wish. All in all I do hope others find Elmfield on their travels to Yorkshire. It is truly a little gem in a beautiful part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

It is fantastic that you have taken time to write such a detailed review. We are particularly delighted to hear that you had a great nights sleep - a comment we often hear from our guests. We hope to see you again when you travel to Yorkshire in the future.
Kindest regards from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights at Elmfield House. Ian and Astra looked after us very well. The room was very comfortable with all the facilities you need. Breakfast was one of the best we have had. We had dinner on two of our three nights and this was extremely good also. We definitely recommend here as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here.
We enjoy providing Yorkshire hospitality, comfort and great food in clean and relaxed surroundings. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.
Kind regards, Astra and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

By far the best Bed and Breakfast that we have ever stayed in Friendly Clean Tidy and Lovely Food would recomend anyone to stay here.Perfect location and views amazed us, Dont think I can think of anything that could have made our weekend better.

Room Tip: Four poster bed was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

It is very rewarding for us when guests take the time to review their stay here so a thank you for this lovely review.
We are lucky to have a peaceful location, well removed from traffic noise, and enjoy making sure guests are comfortable and well looked after. It was a joy to offer a well deserve break to these guests and look forward to having the opportunity to look after them again in the (near) future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from this tucked away haven of peace and tranquility. Fantastic hosts Ian and Astra who made us feel so welcome, the rooms were warm, large and clean with modern facilities.
Such a great place to stay for a weekend away from hustle and bustle or for touring the Dales.
Well worth a visit and the vreakfast is fab, we will visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank altasscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
It is great to hear that you were able to relax and recouperate during your stay. We really do enjoy a peaceful and tranquil location which helps our guests to unwind.
It was a delight to welcome you here and hope that we will see you again so we can look after you while you take a well deserved break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our Lincolnshire MGF/TF Register Club booked into Elmfield House for our Wonderful Wensleydale Weekend in September and what a fabulous time we had! Taking over the whole place meant that Ian and Astra had to cater for all of us all at the same time but this just wasn't a problem. A superb afternoon tea on arrival (with amazing sausage rolls), two hearty breakfasts over the weekend and a Saturday night dinner with all the trimmings - all of the highest standard and served piping hot. Some of us struggled to get into our little sports cars at the end of the weekend! It was a brilliant base for our outings to Hawes and Goathland and Ian devised a route that allowed us to enjoy the Yorkshire scenery at its best. If you are a member of a car club and are looking for a great base for a trip away then Elmfield House really fits the bill with plenty of secure parking (always an important consideration for our four wheeled treasures!), lovely surroundings, excellent food and most importantly great hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGMGMG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
It was so much fun having your group and cars staying with us and it was a joy to look after you. We are glad to see that the sausage roll experiments were so well received - I have been practising a variety of flavours. Next time you come we will offer a selection, including a really good pork and black pudding roll which is nearly addictive!
We enjoy group bookings and it was lovely to see you all enjoy the area so much - the house was certainly ringing with laughter which was really good to hear.
We hope that we will be able to host another weekend for you and Ian will sort out another route for you to take in some more of the fantastic countryside in North Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed at Elmfield House a number of times - and no matter what the season, it has been relaxing, comfortable and always a joy. The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms immaculate and the breakfasts wonderful. As a vegetarian it can be a little tricky at times but no, Ian and
Astra are always happy to cook up their local eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms and their home-made bread is a revelation. So what if it has been cold and rainy? Can't wait to visit again in the spring!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs twin - my all-time favourite. Sunny and light and with a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us in January. We are delighted you found Elmfield House to be as good on a repeat visit as you have previously and that the warmth of your welcome compensated for the weather.
We are committed to making sure our vegetarian guests get a good breakfast and have plenty of variety on offer. We are happy to cater for dietary needs and if guests have an unusual dietary requirement we will do our best to get the right foods in for them - you only have to talk to us ahead of your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

this was our 2nd stay at elmfield house as both my sons past out at catterick garrison well what can I say Ian and Astra make you feel so welcome they greet you with a coffee or tea and a slice of home made cake the rooms are wonderful the bed is so comfy had a great nights sleep after our drive up from east sussex the evening meal was brilliant and as for breakfast what a choice will we go back even for a wk o yes we will astra and ian thank you from Marianne and ian

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne_cordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that your second visit was as good as your first. You had a long journey behind you and a busy, active day ahead so it was lovely to be able to help you relax and give you great food with a great nights sleep.
We do hope you will make the trip to Yorkshire again and we would be delighted to see you for a third time.
Regards, Astra and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedale hotels
6.4 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#7 of 14 in Bedale
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Carthorpe
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
134 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
88 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 14 in Bedale
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmfield House

Address: Bedale DL8 1NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range: £88 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run, country guesthouse set in 24 peaceful acres offering generous Yorkshire bed and breakfast. Ideally located for the Yorkshire Dales and Moors and set well away from roads we enjoy a tranquil position, lovely views and safe parking. All rooms en-suite and one room on the ground floor. Comfortable beds for a good sleep followed by hearty, locally sourced Yorkshire breakfast. "Bring your own" wine encouraged. Good local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elmfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmfield House Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing