We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything perfect”
Review of Elmfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmfield House
Ranked #2 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were so impressed with our stay at Elmfield House last year that we decided on another 4 night break this year. We were not disappointed. Everything was absolutely perfect as usual.Excellent accommodation with lovely people in beautiful peaceful countryside. Thank you Astra and Ian for making us so welcome. We are hoping to return next year. Beryl and Alan, Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your second stay with us. We are delighted that you found a return visit as good as your first and really hope that there is a third in the not too distant future.
We do aim to keep our high standards consistent so that guests know that they will get the same level of attention and care on each visit. When guests return it does feel like greeting old friends and that is such a rewarding part of our work. This summer we have been lucky to have experienced a really high rate of return guests which has been fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Elmfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Yet another wonderful weekend at this exceptional guesthouse. The welcome was warm and friendly as always and the advice on places to visit invaluable. The location is beautiful and so quiet, ideal for a relaxing stay. Having stayed twice before we were looking forward to the delicious breakfast and were certainly not disappointed, there is so much choice and everything is perfectly cooked and presented. After cereal, toast and homemade marmalade/jam, a full English cooked breakfast and fruit we hardly needed anything else for the rest of the day! Ian and Astra are such delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Between ourselves and our friends we have stayed in 4 of the rooms and each one has been perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we are really delighted that you have been happy on each of your stays here. We do aim to keep our standards high and consistent and our returning guests are a good measure of how well we are doing this. We look forward to seeing this reviewer for another future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Elmfield House is in a lovely peaceful rural position and offers excellent accommodation and a comfortable bed.
Ian & Astra are very welcoming.
Breakfast and the packed lunch are excellent.
We would be pleased to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David-Lavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here - we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We are delighted that you found a warm welcome, good food and a comfy bed - it is what we aim to achieve for our visitors. We hope to see you these guests on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Brilliant weekend in the Yorkshire dales for the Tour De France. Accommodation and hospitality matched fantastic events and weather. Very good location, extremely comfortable and great hosts. Would recommend to anyone and so convenient for huge area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

The weekend of the Tour de France was perfect and it was a delight to see happy and excited guests here. The reviewer is correct about our geographical location - very central to so much of what North Yorkshire has to offer and easily accessible. The Tour de France has made us even more keen to see cyclists here and bikes can be safely stored in our garage when you guests are not out on the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ian and Astra are very welcoming hosts. Lovely room with a very comfortable bed..
An exceptional breakfast, including fresh fruit salad and a beautifully cooked and presented full english breakfast to follow.
Stayed 2 nights and felt it was a very convenient location and very good value. Sue and Jim

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beesbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

As a B&B owner to see a guest review that shows we have comfy beds, lovely rooms, exceptional breakfasts with beautifully cooked and presented cooked items, great location and offer good value for money. It is a great reflection on what we aspire to offer our guests. We appreciate all guests who take the time to review their stay here - it really does help us to deliver the best service and accommodation we can. We always hope to see all guests return to us for further visits and look forward to seeing this reviewer again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife had stayed at The Elmfield a couple of years ago and had found the hospitality excellent, it was for this reason we visited and were no disappointed.
There are three things to experience in a guest house, hospitality, food and environment and The Elmfield is excellent in all these areas. Ian and Astra are both friendly and helpful, they give advice on the area where it's needed and will chew the fat with you regardless of being busy with their duties.
The guest house is well situated for visiting The Dales and, thatks to the good weather, we had a wonderful break.
GO AND STAY!!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thanks to this guest for their generous review of their second stay with us. We work hard to deliver consistent service to our visitors and this review tells us we are doing so. We enjoy talking to our guests and it is a highlight of our job so we are glad to hear so many guests also enjoy it. We hope to see these guests again for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Sadly husband and I had only booked in for one night. We wish it had been more. This place is so peaceful and welcoming yet so conveniently placed for visiting Bedale Leyburn and Middleham. Astra and Ian greeted us as though we were family. After unpacking we were invited to refreshments in the very spacious conservatory (large glasses of wine for us) for tea or coffee. Astra kindly arranged an evening meal booking for us in a nearby village which was excellent. We were booked into the Rowan room with the gorgeous 4 poster bed and views over the countryside to die for. This is a lovely comfortable room with a settee and large well equipped shower/ bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and excellently cooked by Ian. Nothing could have been better so thank you again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boovyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walksfar91, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a helpful and generous review. We are glad you felt at home even on a short stay - we do our best to make sure our guests are well informed and always help to sort out reservations for dinner. We hope to see you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
133 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
139 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
86 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#8 of 14 in Bedale
90 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#4 of 14 in Bedale
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmfield House

Address: Bedale DL8 1NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range: £85 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run, country guesthouse set in 24 peaceful acres offering generous Yorkshire bed and breakfast. Ideally located for the Yorkshire Dales and Moors and set well away from roads we enjoy a tranquil position, lovely views and safe parking. All rooms en-suite and one room on the ground floor. Comfortable beds for a good sleep followed by hearty, locally sourced Yorkshire breakfast. "Bring your own" wine encouraged. Good local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elmfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmfield House Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing