We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing break away in the countryside, the Castle Arms in Snape is perfect. We loved every minute of our stay, from the moment we walked through the door to a warm welcome from Ian, Lisa and all the locals to the moment we had to leave. Sitting in front of a log fire, eating good food,with a nice glass of wine it didn't take us long to unwind, it truly is lovely here, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive comments. We are making every effort to make The Castle Arms Inn a really special place to visit and stay and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    54
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
193
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We went to the castle arms on mothers day with my inlaws. The pub is extremely welcoming and everything you could want from a country pub. Ian and lisa have done a fab job and are a lovely couple. The food was amazing and as it was mothers day me and my mother in law received a little gift and they offered a free photo to remember the day. Such a small thing to offer but means alot. Will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cathudson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and positive feedback. It was our first Mothers Day at The Castle Arms and we were really pleased at how well the day went and how much everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Hopefully we will see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My Wife and I visited The Castle Arms Inn at Snape on the 29th March 2014, we turned up out of the blue and asked if there was a room available. We were greeted by superb hosts Ian & Lisa, nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel so welcome.
The whole experience was so pleasant from start to finish. The room, exceptional food, the great atmosphere created by Ian & Lisa to all their guests and the locals too.
We wish them every success & we will definitely be back very soon.

Graham & Elaine, Baildon, West Yorkshire

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review and the positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teeside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Given a really warm welcome from Ian & Lisa. we took a short break for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. A lovely quaint place to stay. Both evening meal and breakfast were exceptional and the young ladies who waited on us were very courteous and professional. I hope Ian and Lisa are successful in this venture as this is a great place and I would recommend to friends to stay here for a nice break. The village of Snape is quiet and locals are very friendly. Thank You for a lovely time. Rob & Gill stayed here 29th March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyhanger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review and positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed celebrating your first wedding anniversary here at The Castle Arms Inn and look forward to seeing you for your second!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a great weekend with Ian & Lisa who were the perfect hosts. Our room was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed, breakfast was excellent with locally sourced ingredients and superbly cooked poached eggs. The food overall was to a very high standard and good value for money.The bar was well stocked and featured a great open fire which creates a very cosy atmosphere. We have booked a return week in May and can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherries12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forwards to seeing you again in May by which time we hope to have introduced a number of additional improvements. Ian, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

New landlord Ian deserves every success with the Castle Arms if the welcome and level of service we experienced is anything to go by.
The Castle Arms had been, by all accounts, much unloved by its previous landlord and consequently the locals. Ian is trying to turn that around.
The Castle Arms is a traditional country pub with a blazing log fire in the bar, where you can eat, and a small more formal dining area. It has a range of hand pulled beers, the usual lagers and a pretty good selection of wines. It's dog friendly in the bar and Ian is so accommodating that if you had a pet giraffe he'd try to squeeze it in for you.
The food was perfectly adequate pub food off a varied menu with specials - certainly tasty and nothing to complain about. Ian has plans for a new menu, with a couple of signature dishes, serving local ingredients all prepared by a new chef who, if all goes according to plan, will be in the kitchen from April.
The rooms, which have been cleverly converted from old outbuildings are in the courtyard garden which has plenty of tables scattered around for those balmy evenings. There's limitless dog walking just through the gate. We were in room six which was a good size with plenty of storage space, tea and coffee making equipment and a Freeview TV. The room, although tired, was spotless and the beds were comfy. The bathroom had a bath with an excellent, powerful, hot shower over. Ian has plans to make over the rooms.
Service throughout was faultless. Ian is tireless and always smiling and chatty, the waitresses efficient and polite, the locals friendly and the beer good. Oh, and the full Yorkshire breakfast, cooked by Ian's own hand, is superb.
What's not to like?
Good luck Ian. You deserve every success. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldkerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Than you so much for your review and the positive comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear that your are planning a return visit. No giraffes yet but we are gradually introducing the improvements we want to make to the rooms, the pub itself and our menu whilst retaining everything that is good about The Castle Arms Inn. See you again soon we hope. Ian, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

new owners very welcoming this traditional country pub deserves to succeed but I think some improvements need to be made
1-starters a salmon fish cake very nice with a lovely sauce but far too expensive
would have been nice to have some fresh bread and butter put on the table
2-main courses nothing special my wifes beefburger was just about ok but served with a very poor salad
overall the food had NO WOW FACTOR the pub is split between the bar area and a lovely small cozy dining area with white tablecloths candles in bottles but no heat on owner told me the boiler was broken but then put the stove on which warmed the room up quickly small point but the stove should have been on in anticipation of the diners coming not as the result of me having to ask
the bill was just the same as we paid in leafy surrey in earlier on this year for a far better meal the young lady who served us was very nice and sociable
my comments are being seriously constructive as this type of independent needs to succeed especially for the local people too many have gone by the wayside
but in the current climate no business will succeed unless they take on board the type of comments I have made
straw bear

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review and your feedback which we are happy to accept in the spirit in which it was given. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your visit but have plans to address many of the points you have made. In particular we are about to introduce a new menu with the emphasis on really good value for money pub food which we believe is what our customers want. We hope you will visit us again in the future and see the improvements for yourself. Ian, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
3.2 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#5 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Arms Inn

Property: The Castle Arms Inn
Address: Snape, Bedale DL8 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Arms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century character inn located in the picturesque vilage of Snape, near Bedale, North Yorkshire. Nine stylish, high quality, self-contained en-suite rooms situated in a converted barn across a cobbled courtyard at the rear of the pub. Cosy, traditional bar and tap room area with real open fires, flagged floors and beams serving a range of real ales and extensive wine list. Intimate, candle-lit restaurant serving a mixture of high quality food ranging from pub classics to more contemporary dishes. Extensive outside areas including secluded and secure courtyard area. A warm welcome awaits all our guests, including the four-legged variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Castle Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Arms Inn Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing