We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
Review of Fox and Hounds Inn

Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a family meal out, food was well presented and absolutely delicious. I ordered the warm chicken and bacon salad for starter which was very nice, and as soon as our starter plates were removed, our mains arrived of which I had the chicken breast with a cheese and white wine sauce, which came with sides of vegetables and potatoes. The atmosphere is very friendly and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. Over all lovely meal out.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    21
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge this book by its cover!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This restaurant may not be a looker (not my taste in decor or presentation) but that doesn't matter. The food and service were impeccable. I don't need to say any more.
Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LansonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic - But Don't Tell Everyone !”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a gorgeous meal at the Fox and Hounds for our anniversary, food cooked to perfection, excellent value, attentive and friendly staff, superb. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedgwood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great food, great beer and wine, great staff. You can even take home home jams , chutneys and sweets so the experience keeps on being great!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food at the Fox and Hounds”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful genuine welcome, great care with drinks and a super menu.
Curry was excellent, best I've had for a long time. All food and side dishes fresh and of good quality.
Must visit again especially as I've just read/about the home made ice cream!
Visit this wonderful pub very soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing